We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric location”
Review of Silverback Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silverback Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you want to visit the mountain gorillas in the Bwindi rain forest there's no better location to use as a base. This comfortable lodge offers fantastic views over the rain forest in any weather (lets face it is a rain forest). The main open lounge area affords uniterupted views and at night seated around a roaring log fire there's no better way to finish your day.
My first meal there was a revelation, 'someone has been to chief school' I thought and for the next two days we enjoyed excellent meals. My room was comfortable and clean, the hot water bottle, though not neccessary was a lovely touch. The staff were friendly and efficient. Staying here is well worth the journey.

Room Tip: All rooms face the rain forest
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Silverback Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

It's no easy feat to get here, but worth it once you arrive. We drove in from Kigali, Rwanda, a hard seven hours, especially the last three. But the remoteness is a big part of the attraction, so you know what you're in for when you book a trip like this. You're coming here to see gorillas, but the immediate payoff at Silverback is to climb out of the truck after the bone-jarring drive to be greeted by friendly staff and a cold beer on the veranda. Because Silverback sits higher than any other Bwindi lodge, the view of the surrounding mountains is spectacular. It's now among my top places to sit and do nothing but soak in the atmosphere.
The rooms are very nice. Not huge, but then again you aren't here to hang out in your room. The food was very good, especially when you consider the amount of effort it takes to prepare meals in such a remote setting.
Nice rooms and good food can be found in a lot of places. But what makes travel special, for me, is the service. There's nothing better than arriving at a place and being made to feel you're the one guest they've been waiting for, or that you're being welcomed back, even if it's your first visit. And at Silverback it's not a fawning kind of service, it's just warm, friendly and very comfortable. The GM, Mudkayo, will arrange whatever you need, drive you to the village himself, share his knowledge of the area and make recommendations on what to see and do and generally make you feel like you're visiting the home of friends.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms are farther away from the main lodge and maybe quieter. But with so few rooms...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ewebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

WeI realy loved this lodge. It was beautiful and stylish, and yet completely fit the natural surroundings. The lodge we stayed (number 12) was very comfy. The staff was warm and friendly. We were delighted with the treatment received by Miss Ketra Orisingura, she was always very attentive to us and was a great help the two days we were in this lodge
.
The food was delicious, service in the restaurant was way above what we expected. After dinner a fire is lit and one can enjoy the last night cap under the night sky. Due to the slightly higher location above Buhoma village. During turn down service a hot water bottle is placed into your bed.

The lodge will leave a stick for trekking of gorillas.

We highly recommended this lodde

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martadolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Recently, I had the pleasure of staying at Silverback lodge for 2 weeks. The gardens and views from the lodge are magnificent.
I found the rooms lovely and there was always plenty of hot water. The food is really good and there is plenty of it.
Like other reviews I found the staff excellent. They were helpful, friendly and made such an effort to make you feel at home.
Thank you to Mudkayo and all the staff at Silverback for a really memorable stay. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trickysalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the Silverback Lodge and truly enjoyed it. The gardens are beautiful and its hilltop location provided a beautiful view of Bwindi. It is just a five minute drive to the park entrance for trekking the gorillas. Food was good and plentiful. Showers were hot!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This lodge has incredible views of the surrounding mountains. The staff was quite nice and food was also very good. The rooms were rather small, but clean. Because they run on a generator, there isn't power at all times and the hot water was intermittent. I never did have a hot shower, but the weather was hot, so it didn't really matter. There are a lot of mosquitos, and they seemed to find their way inside the netting, so keep your windows shut.

This lodge is convenient to the gorilla trekking. It's up on a top of a hill, so need to drive to the little village and trekking starting point. Otherwise, a long walk uphill back to the lodge.

I would recommend this lodge as the staff was so nice and the food quite good. We really didn't spend that much time in the room. The lobby area was a great place to sit and have a drink, discuss the day, and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lfthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Rooms are completely average, but the staff makes this place great! They were so warm and friendly that we immediately felt right at home. Food was sufficient and plentiful in buffet layout with served hot breakfast items.

Rooms are all the same and face the mountainside -- beautiful view! And there are two dedicated singles at the end of the walk on the "lower level". Funny enough, the singles seem to have larger bathrooms than the shared/doubles. We had a group of 15, and were all equally happy with the property.

An evening fire was a great way to end the day at this very peaceful lodge.

Gorilla "gate" is only about five minutes away. Road up to the property could be a challenge for non-4-wheel drive vehicles, once you get off the main street.

Note: I'm in the travel industry but am committed to honest reviews of all properties, whether they like it or not!

Room Tip: low number rooms closest to lodge but there didn't appear to be any extra noise disturbances.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
93 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
194 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverback Lodge

Address: Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: £224 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverback Lodge is perched on high, atop the valley overlooking Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. The view is absolutely stunning and the best place to enjoy après-tracking cocktails. Bird watching and sometimes primate viewing is possible right from the front door of your room. With 12 rooms, we are the largest lodge in the area and will remain one of the best value properties in the region, whilst keeping the Marasa Africa standards of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Silverback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverback Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing