We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable View”
Review of Silverback Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silverback Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Zionsville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbelievable View”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent two nights at Silverback to do the Gorilla trek in Bwindi Park. All of the staff was incredibly helpful and kind. The room was small but very clean and attractive. The beds were very comfortable.The bathroom was very large and the water for the shower is heated with a wood fire, not the sun. In theory this should've provided a hot shower but we had no luck in that department. Because the view was so amazing from our little front porch or the main verandah, we didn't even care. We heard there are plans to raze these rooms and build a more modern resort with a pool. I kind of hope not. Although small and slightly dated, the lodge just seems to "fit" here. Chef Patrick came out each night to ask how we liked our dinner. The food was attractive and tasty. The staff packed thermoses of tea for us when we had to leave very early for our gorilla trek. Quaint is a good word to describe this lodge.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and they all have the same lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWK59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    37
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
51
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect and the views are incredible. For the price however, and the standard they are trying to meet, it's disappointing. We are able to compare it to a neighbouring lodge in the same price range, which we stayed in the previous night. It is in a different league!

The main outside areas of the hotel are attractive with lots of comfy seats on the balcony overlooking the forest. They build a small fire in the evenings which created a lovely atmosphere. The bar and the dining room however were plain and dark and could do with some work.

Each room has its own balcony with chairs and a private entrance. The rooms are very dated, musty and a little damp. They need brightened up, with bigger windows and better light. The double bed was two singles with wooden frames pushed together, so if you roll over in the night, you lie on a hard wooden frame! The lights are so dim it's hard to see anything in the rooms. The shower was lovely and hot though.

The food was terrible. Sorry, very disappointed. Should do a lot better, people are paying a lot of money. On the day of the trek we had to wait until almost 9 to be fed despite being told it would be at seven, and placing our orders around 650pm.

I cannot fault the staff however, who were all very friendly. The touch of a hot water bottle in the bed is lovely, shame it was there at 7 though!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in September 2013. We stayed here as part of an 8 day package booked through Churchill Safaris.
This was a tiny lodge with just 8 rooms I believe. You feel like you're staying in someone's house. On the downside: the decor in the rooms is very dated, and has a slight musky smell. At night time the lights are very dim, especially in the bathroom. The bathroom was spacious with an excellent shower, and the room itself was adequate and fairly comfortable. The food in the hotel was good, but one dish wasn't. The best thing about this place is the views. One could sit on the veranda and gaze for hours. The staff do their utmost to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Enjoyed a two-nite stay at the Silverback Lodge as part of September safari to Uganda. Although not there for gorilla trekking, the location was excellent for accessing the Buhoma area. Less than a 10 minute drive to the gate (and the gorilla trek briefing point). The view of the forested hillside across the valley “shouted” birds to us and we were not disappointed. A few minute walk to the little village including gift shops.

Ketrah, our hostess, took excellent care of us and was always available to answer questions. I had laundry (shirt 4,000 ug shillings, trousers 5,000, and underwear 3,000) done and was very pleased with the service.

Food was as good as any we had in Uganda. One dinner was vegetable salad with slices of apples, a very nice portion of chicken, rosemary potatoes, beans/carrots, rolls and tea/coffee. Soda was 3,000 and a Bell beer was 6,000. The breakfast buffet of pastry, juices, fruit, tea, coffee also included eggs to order and bacon/sausage.

Our room was spacious, clean, had mosquito netting, inroom battery charging and a nice clean bathroom w/plenty of hot water. Two comfy arm chairs, a luggage rack, a shelving unit/hanging bar, and little table made for a comfy stay. Lighting could have been a bit better for reading in the evening however. During the dinner hour staff turned down the bed, prepared the netting and placed hot water bottles accordingly. The porch had 2 chairs and provided a great setting for enjoying “down time” in camp. Various sunbirds, weavers, firefinches, lesser striped swallows, robin-chats, wagtails, and others were seen often right at the edge of our porch.

Bushes, trees, a thick hedge, grassy areas, a local garden and closeness to a brushy field provide habitat for various birds easily seen from the porch, outdoor lounge or walkways.

We felt very comfortable here and would stay at the Silverback Lodge again.

Room Tip: Hard to imagine a bad or less-desired room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wegoustay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

If you want to visit the mountain gorillas in the Bwindi rain forest there's no better location to use as a base. This comfortable lodge offers fantastic views over the rain forest in any weather (lets face it is a rain forest). The main open lounge area affords uniterupted views and at night seated around a roaring log fire there's no better way to finish your day.
My first meal there was a revelation, 'someone has been to chief school' I thought and for the next two days we enjoyed excellent meals. My room was comfortable and clean, the hot water bottle, though not neccessary was a lovely touch. The staff were friendly and efficient. Staying here is well worth the journey.

Room Tip: All rooms face the rain forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

It's no easy feat to get here, but worth it once you arrive. We drove in from Kigali, Rwanda, a hard seven hours, especially the last three. But the remoteness is a big part of the attraction, so you know what you're in for when you book a trip like this. You're coming here to see gorillas, but the immediate payoff at Silverback is to climb out of the truck after the bone-jarring drive to be greeted by friendly staff and a cold beer on the veranda. Because Silverback sits higher than any other Bwindi lodge, the view of the surrounding mountains is spectacular. It's now among my top places to sit and do nothing but soak in the atmosphere.
The rooms are very nice. Not huge, but then again you aren't here to hang out in your room. The food was very good, especially when you consider the amount of effort it takes to prepare meals in such a remote setting.
Nice rooms and good food can be found in a lot of places. But what makes travel special, for me, is the service. There's nothing better than arriving at a place and being made to feel you're the one guest they've been waiting for, or that you're being welcomed back, even if it's your first visit. And at Silverback it's not a fawning kind of service, it's just warm, friendly and very comfortable. The GM, Mudkayo, will arrange whatever you need, drive you to the village himself, share his knowledge of the area and make recommendations on what to see and do and generally make you feel like you're visiting the home of friends.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms are farther away from the main lodge and maybe quieter. But with so few rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ewebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, España
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

WeI realy loved this lodge. It was beautiful and stylish, and yet completely fit the natural surroundings. The lodge we stayed (number 12) was very comfy. The staff was warm and friendly. We were delighted with the treatment received by Miss Ketra Orisingura, she was always very attentive to us and was a great help the two days we were in this lodge
.
The food was delicious, service in the restaurant was way above what we expected. After dinner a fire is lit and one can enjoy the last night cap under the night sky. Due to the slightly higher location above Buhoma village. During turn down service a hot water bottle is placed into your bed.

The lodge will leave a stick for trekking of gorillas.

We highly recommended this lodde

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martadolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
88 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
191 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#14 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverback Lodge

Property: Silverback Lodge
Address: Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silverback Lodge is perched on high, atop the valley overlooking Bwindi Impenetrable National Park. The view is absolutely stunning and the best place to enjoy après-tracking cocktails. Bird watching and sometimes primate viewing is possible right from the front door of your room. With 12 rooms, we are the largest lodge in the area and will remain one of the best value properties in the region, whilst keeping the Marasa Africa standards of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Silverback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverback Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing