We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this lodge most”
Review of Mahogany Springs

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mahogany Springs
Certificate of Excellence
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
381 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“I loved this lodge most”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a really great stay for 2 nights in a beautiful location. We enjoyed the Presidential Suite with another couple we were traveling with. It was comprised of 2 bedrooms and 2 full baths separated by a large living area and a large deck. The food was great, the staff was wonderful and the surroundings were beautifully landscaped. Off of the back deck you could watch the locals taking care of their cows at the base of the mountain. A small river runs alongside the back of the property and we were told that the gorillas frequent this river on occasion and bathe in the waterfall.
One of our party was sick when we arrived and the staff took great care to call a doctor to check on him. The doctor came back the next day to make sure our friend was okay and charged just a small fee for his services. The staff also made special meals for our sick buddy until he could get back on his feet.
From Bwindi, which is just a few minutes drive, we did our first gorilla trek to see the Rushegura Group. We started off at 830a.m. and didn't get home til close to 5:30p.m. We all agreed that it was the hardest and most physically demanding activity we have ever done. Hire the porters to push and pull you especially if the gorillas have moved further away. I don't think anyone took into account when assigning us this group that we were all 60 - 72 years old and of course, you never know where the gorillas will be either. At least we can say we pushed ourselves and survived and most of all we had a fabulous time with the gorillas. Returning to the hotel, the staff really seemed interested in our trek and how we felt. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    48
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
148
43
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a two day stay at Mahogany Springs (april 9 and 10 2014). It is a beautifull lodge with good food and excellent service. They cleaned our shoes after the gorilla trekking. They were like new. Fantastic view on the mountain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellers365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Mahogany Springs for two nights at the end of February 2014. I thought I'd wait a while before sending in a review to make sure it wasn't distorted by the glow of the trip to see the gorillas and all the other wonderful encounters on our trip around Uganda. With over a month having now passed since we got back I can honestly say that Mahogany Springs remains the highlight of our safari accommodation. The location is beautiful, overlooking the valley towards some farmed areas and the forest. The main lodge is is well designed, with great picture windows overlooking the valley. There is a veranda outside with comfy chairs, which makes a lovely area to relax with a drink. The staff were incredibly attentive, friendly and courteous. The food we had was excellent, which we enjoyed with a good bottle of wine. Bearing in mind the remoteness of the area and the poor infrastructure links the lodge does a brilliant job in looking after its guests while facing what must be very challenging logistics. Our accommodation lodge was a short walk from the main lodge. It was very spacious, clean, comfortable and everything worked. There was plenty of hot water and the rooms had mains power so my wife was able to use her hair drier and camera batteries could be readily re-charged. The grounds to the lodge were well kept, very lush, with lots of interesting plants. You can stroll down to the river and you are likely to see a quite a few of the numerous types of bird found in Uganda. The lodge is very conveniently located for the gorilla trekking. All in all we could not fault Mahogany Springs and I would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Bwindi. Needless to say, the gorillas were the highlight of our visit to Uganda and staying somewhere as comfortable and friendly as Mahogany Springs simply sealed the memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Mahogany Springs for four nights on a gorilla trekking trip to Bwindi. There is a main lodge with restaurant and lounge (with a lovely quiet balcony), plus separate guest lodges which feel very private and allow you to rest and do your own thing. Our lodge was lovely - very comfortable, spacious and with a great sunny deck with comfortable chairs. The food was very good and varied, and the staff absolutely could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Mahogany Springs is very close to the main meeting point for trekking, and you can also go for walks into the little village (local traders' shops etc.), or along the river next to the hotel site. Pretty much every inch of the grounds is used for growing something either edible or beautiful, and we were treated to an amazing tour by the extremely knowledgeable gardener Vian. We loved every minute and were very sad to leave. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Mahogany Springs is a solid choice for those who want to trek the mountain gorilla in Uganda. It is located about 90 minutes (via a rough road) from Kihihi airfield. Mahogany is relatively moderately priced but is not inexpensive. It has a superb setting in a valley surrounded by lush hills / mountains and is only a short drive from Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Three gorilla families or "groups" are accessible from Mahogany Springs. These are the "M" , "R", and "H" groups. The "H" group requires an hours drive out to the trekking point while the other two families are trekked directly from the entrance to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest which is only a 5 minute drive from Mahogany Springs. Rooms at Mahogany are nice; nothing special but clean and all have great views of the mountains and valley. The Bwindi Forest line of trees can clearly be seen from the lodge and the "R" group of gorillas occasionally visits Mahogany. Lodges are self-contained and all have a small patio which overlook a small, rapid river. All lodges take the form of thatched-roof rondavels with a type of brown stucco on the exterior. A generator powers the electricity at Mahogany. It is on from 6:00 AM - about noon and then again in the early evening hours. WiFi is available in the camp's main building when the generator is going. Mahogany is remote and perhaps because of this offered a limited menu. Food was pretty good but not excellent. Drinks are available upon demand and are included in the price of room. Those that have alcohol will run you extra. If you are around in the late afternoon, Gad or Abraham will serve you some tasty popcorn. There is a small fireplace to help warm up the chilly evenings. Trekking gorillas is the main reason to stay at Mahogany Springs. There are other activities which can be booked there. These include a community village walk. This begins from Mahogany and lasts for about 3 hours. The walk will take you past and through banana, tea, and coffee plantations; to a traditional healer; to the Batwa Pygmies, and lastly to the town of Buhoma (stop at Evelyn's Ride for a Woman in Buhoma if you want to support the locals). It's a nice way to spend an afternoon. Another activity is a walk through villages to a hilltop for great views of the Congo, Virunga Mountains in Rwanda, and the Rwenzori Mountains). This one takes about 2 1/2 hours and is very difficult with some steep climbs. Other walks inside Bwindi Forest can be booked inside the park for considerably more $$. Shopping (wooden gorillas masks, baskets, other wooden carvings) is available near the park entrance which is a 15 minute walk from Mahogany Springs. We stayed both in the Presidential Suite (great views and 2 bedrooms - good for a family) and in the Elizabeth rondavel. Both were nice but the Presidential has more space and a more private setting.

Room Tip: The Victoria rondavel overlooks the river and is a nice choice. Families may want to stay in the Pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had initially booked to stay at the Gorilla Forest Camp for 3 nights, but due to the U.S. Ambassador to Uganda visiting the area, we were re-booked our third night to Mahogany Springs.
What a pleasant surprise...this lodge offers everything GFC has for less $$! The staff were aware of our situation and worked extra hard to make sure everything was up to our expectations. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Presidential Suite and it was perfect! I highly recommend this lodge and if we had it to do all over again, we actually might pick this lodge for the full 3 nights instead of spending the extra $$ for Gorilla Forest Camp. Cleaning my hiking boots after the gorilla trek was a special treat! The food service was a buffet for breakfast and dinner...we don't usually like eating from buffets, but this one was good. I don't think they always serve food this way though since there were menus, we just couldn't use them during our stay.

Room Tip: The presidential suite is great for 2 couples traveling together. It offers a main living room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was the best place we have stayed in on our trip to east Africa! First of all this place is very exclusive! There are only very few bungalows, and so this place will never be too crowded! Second of all, the personnel is so extremely nice and attentive to your needs! Thirdly, the place is set in such a beautiful location! It is on the slope of a mountain with an amazing view of the Bwindi forest which is located on a mountain! Each room has this picture perfect view as well as the main dining room. Rooms are very clean and have a nice shower with hot water. They clean your room twice a day and have lots of services free of charge! For example we took a free walk with one of the workers, his name was Moses. He was great! He showed us around, took us on a walk to the other side of the mountain, and then took us into town. His English was very good and he told us so much information and really showed us the local side of living which you wouldn't get on a regular excursion! Another thing they have in the hotel, the free shoe cleaning! And trust me, you'll need it after Gorilla tracking. If you are into great food, the food provided in the hotel is simply amazing! You have some choice and they change the menu daily as well. We also got the opportunity to meet the general manager of the hotel who ended up chatting with us at the bar. He was extremely nice and welcoming! We'll never forget our stay at Mahogany Springs and if we are ever back to that area, it will be an obvious choice for us!

Room Tip: Any room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timeless_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.9 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahogany Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahogany Springs

Property: Mahogany Springs
Address: Kanungu, Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 17, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahogany Springs has been built with comfort and class throughout. The perfect base for birdwatchers and Gorilla trackers, set on beautiful land with panoramic and breathtaking views of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Providing the highest levels of service Mahogany Springs aim is to ensure your trip is a once in a lifetime experience. The Gorillas themselves have been visiting very close to the lodge every couple of weeks and within view from the terraces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mahogany Springs Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing