We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$36
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$465
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bakiga Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$160
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gorilla Conservation Camp(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$60
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buhoma Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$560
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$1,265
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$1,175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (413)
Filter reviews
413 results
Traveller rating
340
57
11
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
57
11
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitegorilla trekmain buildingtwo nightsbwindi impenetrable forestdietary requirementslarge verandashort driveboot cleaningsmall riverdelightful lodgefood was fantasticperfect basethe general manageran amazing jobpassion fruitbeautiful setting
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 413 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second visit to see the gorillas of Bwindi and Mahogany Springs Lodge was far superior to the place I stayed on my first visit. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable, the food was terrific, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The lodge sits a short walk to local sites and the starting point for trekking to see the gorillas. A+ and highly recommended! Visited with three other couples and all felt the same way.

Room Tip: King Henry was great
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled to this property as part of a group of 6 people, Uganda was just an add on at the end to see the Gorillas.
We flew over from Nairobi and caught a flight at Entebbe to an air field somewhere near Mahogany Springs. When we landed they were waiting for us with cold face towels and well needed cold bottles of water.

Upon arrival at Mahogany Springs you turn down a small track and admittedly do start thinking ‘ what is this place?’, as soon as your turn the corner you are left stunned! It is sitting on a small hill facing the forest with beautiful gardens and a river. Around the gardens we found fresh fruit and vegetables growing everywhere from avocados, pumpkins and our room had a pineapple garden. The lodge chef kindly let us choose our own fruit and vegetables on one of the evenings. It is a great feeling knowing that you are eating 100% organic food at all times, it is worth mentioning that the lodge soups and salads were very tasty and all home grown.

We had 3 rooms between the 6 of us, 4 of us shared the Presidential or family suite, this had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a private lounge with terrace so it was very handy for the 6 of us to relax here in the afternoon. The other couple had the River Room which they could not stop raving about. Our showers were hot and powerful enough (which was a first on the trip!).

It is the location of this property that makes it unique as it open and airy with the most spectacular views I have ever seen. I would love to return here by myself for a week and just do nothing!

All the staff were excellent and confident which was sometimes an issue at other places we visited in Africa.

The WIFI was surprisingly fast and we were able to facetime our family at home.

The Gorilla tracking was a little harder than we expected mainly because it poured down heavily for the first 25 minutes which made the inclines a little slippy! We all made it to the Gorillas and that was truly an indescribable feeling. We actually bought the Trekking Kits from the lodge when we arrived as were a little under prepared so this did save the day a little!

Mahogany Springs we will never forget everything you did for our group and we will do our best to spread the word on this amazing place.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mishypoo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first time in Africa and before our trip we were very apprehensive to say the least in regards to the standard of accommodations. As soon as we arrived at this wonderful lodge all our apprehension disappeared and my wife even got teary with the huge relief that came over her.

The bedroom was luxurious with 2 very comfortable beds and stunning views of the forest and river. The room was cleaned twice a day with a turn down service at night whilst we were at dinner. Loads of little touches at this place really enhanced the overall experience and made us feel special from poems on the beds, hot water bottles under the cover, fresh bottled water in the room everyday, tasty fresh fruit juices throughout our stay and a lot more. Best sleep I’ve had in months!

The main building was spacious and had plenty of room for everyone to sit either outside and admire the views or inside by the fire.

The best thing about Mahogany Springs is undoubtedly the staff and the food! Can I have 2 best things? The food portions were a little on the large side but we are not complaining about that. The staff can’t do enough and made sure we always had a drink or nibbles in our hand!

It took us less than 5 minutes to get to the Gorilla trekking and this was of course the highlight of our adventure. We will never forget the day we met the Gorillas.

On our 3rd day the lodge took us to a community project which helps widowed women support their families and then we went to see the school that Mahogany Springs supports and one of their staff members setup.

Thank you to everyone who arranged our trip and for this lodge for making sure we had a truly life changing, eye opening experience.

Room Tip: ALL rooms would have stunning views
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnietobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this lodge for 2 nights recently to be able to do the trekking with the gorillas. The lodge has a wonderful staff, very friendly and attentive. The food is average, and there was little provisions for Gluten-free diet. The rooms and dining area was a bit worn down. Other lodges we have stayed at has had a manager/ owner that has been present and made contact and given information about the local area. This was not the case here. Staff forgot to inform us about the glass of wine that was included with the dinner, but made up for this at the end by taking some off our bar bill.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ingunn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mahogany Springs Lodge is a great launchpad to experience Mountain Gorilla trekking in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest of Uganda. I know there is more to do in this area, but this trip only allowed for a 2 night stay (chance for a return visit).

Ten cottages with beautiful views make for a very quiet and restful setting. A small river is only a few minute walk away. The staff is wonderful. Everyone is knowledgeable, warm, polite and attentive to all your needs and wants. If you want, they will set up a table by the river for lunch or dinner just for you!

The food is excellent. It’s like having a personal chef. In the late afternoon you can choose your dinner selection and time. When you arrive for dinner, your meal is being prepared and served hot. The food is all locally grown, nothing is imported. Wind down with cocktails ( and freshly popped popcorn) on the patio before dinner and enjoy the view. The smell of wood burning in the fireplace adds to the charm.

You won’t be disappointed with the Mahogany Springs Lodge. Asante sana.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank c6h12o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews