We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful lodge”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The lodge is situated in a beautiful environment a place to stay when you going to visit the gorilla's.
The road to the lodge is very nice, but you need to walk a very steep way downside to get there.
People are friendly and accomodation/restaurant was fine.
It's build in a mysterious place, the land of the gorilla's.. In the morning the area is covered in mist.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    34
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
33
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I was slightly apprehensive about staying at Gorilla Safari Lodge after reading some earlier unfavorable reviews, but I was honestly more than impressed by both the accommodations and service! A hot breakfast could be ordered even in the early hours eliminating the need for a boxed breakfast (something we had to request at other hotels). Rooms were clean, showers were hot, and surrounding were beautiful. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Seeing the gorillas was an amazing experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank una60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The low lands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The spot is ideal, no doubt about that. The trek starts just down the road.
the lodge looks nice and so are the common rooms.
the food was mediocre and not up to the standard they pretend.
amenities for drivers and personnel are below standard! One toilet for more than 30, and noisy rooms for staff/drivers/guides.
our own room was nice, but under one roof with another room. The neighbour was snoring as if he was lying next to me in bed.
an absolute plus: our boots were cleaned after the forest trek.
a minus: af 10 pm on New Year's Eve the wine was finished.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansBrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If gorilla tracking it’s very near to the starting briefing point and saves you valuable time and energy in the morning so you can avoid a stupidly early start. The hotel has breath taking views of the mountains. It’s hard to believe you will be entering what you can see from your private room balcony if tracking. The rooms are very comfortable considering how high up in the mountains you are. They also have hot running water but if you find it’s cold don’t suffer in silence, speak to staff who can flip a switch to turn it back on. The rooms can get cold but the staff give you more blankets when they turndown. Dinner is nice and the packed lunches suffice for tracking which include a sandwich, fruit and cold meat or bullied eggs. Staff are helpful and service is great.

Room Tip: Get one at the top of the stairs, after tracking it's tough to walk down to the bottom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsloads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Myself and three girl friends stayed three nights at Gorilla Safari Lodge. This is an excellent place to stay if you are planning a gorilla trek. The lodge is within five minute drive to the Impenetrable National Park. This hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very attentive, working very hard to make us comfortable and prepared for our hike. When we returned from our hike the staff provided hot towels and drinks. They cleaned our boots and gaiters after each hike. This is a local owned hotel. Richard, the owner, helps out the local community. He has provided a home to many orphan children and make sure they attend school.

Room Tip: All rooms are a cabin style. Two rooms per cabin. Each room has it own bathroom. There is a porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The staff at this lodge were friendly and most helpful making our stay memorable. The food was delicious and the fruit and vegetables sourced locally so wonderfully fresh. We particularly liked the soup served on our first night so, although not on the menu the next night, the chef made it specially for us again. Nothing seemed too much trouble. It gets cold at night so the fire in the restaurant/bar area and hot water bottles in our beds were appreciated - and again thoughtful touches.

The rooms were nicely decorated and furnished with comfy chairs on the verandah. This was a delightful place to sit and recover from our long gorilla trek - watching the sunbirds on the garden flowers, further away the mist over the forest and listening to the drumming at the church in the local village. Part of the village is below the lodge so we felt more in the community than in most lodges and we were reminded of the differences in our circumstances (eg we had electricity and running water and their houses didn't).

It's only a short way to the gorilla registration for the Nshongi and other south Bwindi gorilla groups so nice not to have a long drive before the day even started. This lodge seemed a comfortable, eco-friendly, enriching, place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights from 26th June 2012 to track Nkuringo Gorilla family. The base to track that family was an hour drive.

+ Food was excellent and very tasty.. I am a vegetarian, and they had awesome veggie curry one night, grilled veggie s/w for packed lunch and veggie pizza the other night. A nice spanish omelet for breakfast. They did have non-veg options for my hubby.
+ The lodge itself is in a very beautiful setting.
+ The view was great... green, green and green mountains..
+ The room has wooden bed, sofa, seating, cupboard, etc and everything is very nice with colorful touch.

- didn't get hot water the day we reached. we asked them repeatedly and they kept saying wait for some time and you will get hot water, but we didn't get any..! It was cold up there and bath was absolutely needed after a dusty ride to the lodge. (got hot water the next day after trekking though)
- no body wash, shampoo, conditioner, body cream (had a soap though)
- It has ups and downs, so anybody having problems with that, stay away (but if you are going for gorilla tracking, you need to do lots of that anyway).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuparnaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
11.6 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
103 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
397 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
11.4 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorilla Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorilla Safari Lodge

Property: Gorilla Safari Lodge
Address: | Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 25641, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gorilla Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorilla Safari Lodge is an up market facility tucked away at the boundary line of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest - home of the endangered mountain gorilla. It is the ideal base from which to trek Gorillas as it just a few meters away from the starting point. The lodge offers accommodation in 13, en suite spacious luxurious units with individual verandahs allowing excellent views towards the pristine tropical rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Gorilla Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorilla Safari Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing