We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very close to the park gates so depending which troop you go to see this is great , getting up at 7 rather than 5 .The final track up to the lodge is 27km on a single track mud road clinging to the mountain , best done by daylight I would say .
The room no 9 we stayed in was amazing , views straight into the forest .Great quality linen , full bath and the legendary hot water bottle . No power outlet in the room .
Every member of your party will need a torch to walk to the room at night .The paths are uneven and poorly lit .
The manager Jude was very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble .
The food really let this place down .So much fresh great produce in this farming area , but they did not do it any justice .
The second night they had a little light music on and lit the fire ( at our request ) this really improved the atmosphere .
Everyone saw gorillas , some people walked for half an hour others for 5 hours to see them .You will long trousers , you really are crawling through the vegetation .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inverkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    34
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
33
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston,ma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent a fantastic 3 nights with family of 5 (kids ages 21, 17,15). Arrived late and the owner rushed out to greet us warmly with hot towels and then quickly arranged dinner for us and our driver. Lodges were spacious and clean. No electrical outlets in the individual lodges but there was solar powered electricity and gadgets could be charged in the main lodge. A nice treat was hot water bottles in the beds or hot coals in the fireplace. Beds extremely comfortable, great bedding. Felt very safe and well cared for by the entire staff. Food has gotten mixed reviews but we found it perfectly fine, soups particularly delicious, accommodating to vegetarian needs. We loved the camaraderie in the main lodge around mealtime. If you want to walk to the entrance to Bwindi (from some places you will need to set out at 4am), and you want a great atmosphere, this is where you must stay!!!

Room Tip: Family sized room is actually 2 lodges connecting. 3 young adult children had 4 double beds and 2 fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The lodge is situated close to the Gorilla Trekking Station in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, so it is very convenient. It is right next to the forest, so the views are quite mystical and beautiful. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable and spacious and we had hot water in the evenings. The hot water bottles provided by the lodge in the evenings are a nice touch. The food is good, but if you want good wine, you may need to bring your own. The local beer provided by their bar is good and cold, especially after a long hike. You can get some mobile phone reception in the restaurant area, and you can charge camera's, phones etc in the office in the main restaurant area. I booked this Lodge based on Trip Advisor reports and I would stay there again and recommend friends to stay there.

Room Tip: We were in a room close to the main reception area, but still felt like we were on our own with a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms and food were ok. The staff were pleasant and friendly. We stayed 2 nights and only had hot water on one evening (we had to ask in order for this to happen). We slept very well the first night, but the Sunday night after our trek, the lodge was so noisy, I hardly slept. It appears the noise came from the nearby village, and yet it sounded like it was just outside our door.

Seeing the gorillas was the highlight of this trip.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The lodge is about 300 meters from the entrance to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Tours are available to visit the school, orphanage, pygmy village and weaving/basket making center. Staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. Food was average, not exceptional but good. The rooms were fairly bland except for the very nice touch of adding a hot water bottle to your bed before retiring. At altitude, when the night cools things off a very nice touch. The lodge is showing some signs of needing some TLC as railings, steps, baseboards and other items were in a state of disrepair,,,,,Also the entry and exit from the main lodge/dining area had a step that needed adjustment. We witnessed at least 4 people in 2 days trip over this hazard. So Beware. If you want a short distance to travel to start your journey to visit with gorillas then this is the place.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin or banda close to the lodge. Everything is very steep here and you will get enough cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The lodge is situated in a beautiful environment a place to stay when you going to visit the gorilla's.
The road to the lodge is very nice, but you need to walk a very steep way downside to get there.
People are friendly and accomodation/restaurant was fine.
It's build in a mysterious place, the land of the gorilla's.. In the morning the area is covered in mist.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I was slightly apprehensive about staying at Gorilla Safari Lodge after reading some earlier unfavorable reviews, but I was honestly more than impressed by both the accommodations and service! A hot breakfast could be ordered even in the early hours eliminating the need for a boxed breakfast (something we had to request at other hotels). Rooms were clean, showers were hot, and surrounding were beautiful. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Seeing the gorillas was an amazing experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank una60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
11.6 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
24.3 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
221 reviews
11.4 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
184 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorilla Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorilla Safari Lodge

Property: Gorilla Safari Lodge
Address: | Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 25641, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gorilla Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorilla Safari Lodge is an up market facility tucked away at the boundary line of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest - home of the endangered mountain gorilla. It is the ideal base from which to trek Gorillas as it just a few meters away from the starting point. The lodge offers accommodation in 13, en suite spacious luxurious units with individual verandahs allowing excellent views towards the pristine tropical rain forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Gorilla Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorilla Safari Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing