We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay near the Bwindi impenetrable NP”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bakiga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bakiga Lodge
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
“A wonderful stay near the Bwindi impenetrable NP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My significant other and I found Bakiga Lodge to be a welcoming respite after our 10 hour drive from Kampala. We were greeted by the very courteous manager, George. He explained about the background of the Bakiga and what to expect during our stay. The 4 rooms were each stand alone structures made partly out of military type tent and partly of rock/concrete. The rock masonry of the shower was very cool. The room was comfortable and we were given nice cozy hot water bottles to sleep. The views were stunning.

The lodge is a NGO and is making very positive contributions to the community it is located in. The NGO has helped the community to develop rainwater catchment systems such that the community has access to a fresh water source. Though this access may seem status-quo to westerners, it is not to many Ugandans. Personally, I gained satisfaction by both the quality of my stay here and by giving back to this worthwhile NGO. I would definitely stay at Bakiga Lodge again if I return to Uganda.

We opted to go on a guided community walk and it was well worth the time. Our community guide, Olson, was very knowledgable about the community and took us to meet numerous community contributors. We met people who grew food for the lodge, the community medicine man, the aging blacksmith and his grandson as well as others. It was quite disarming to venture from our lodge on-foot versus in a land cruiser. We were able to interact with the community on a far more intimate level than simply driving to and through the community. Be aware, a tip will be asked for and is customary. Given the quality of our tour, it was well worth a tip. Additionally, this community can definitely use the funds contributed to it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
21
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed at Bakiga Lodge for 12 nights, and was impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. Everything was clean and tidy, the food was good, staff attentive to individual requests. They were also very helpful and accommodating in assisting me with arranging excursions around Ruhija, including into the Bwindi National Park and further afield, with local guides and drivers. I spent a good deal of time walking around the village roads and tracks and met only friendliness from the villagers. The views from the Lodge and the tents are excellent. All in all, I had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoying stay, and really appreciated the safe and clean environment created at the Lodge.

Keith, Northern Ireland

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aegithalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent service wonderful meals and all proceeds go to thecommunity. Emmy the manager was very helpful and nice to talk to we stayed jan. after our trip had tobe rescheduled due to elite safari leaving us stranded not picking us up after we had prepaid our trip enjoyed our twonites. there

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I only got to stay at Bakiga for one night, but I wish I could have stayed for more. It was the night before we went gorilla trekking and it was hands down the best place I stayed at in Uganda. We arrived late at night and within half an hour of arriving were told there was dinner waiting for us in the restaurant area. The staff at the lodge were so lovely and friendly and helpful and generous with us, it was amazing. We were the only guests in the entire lodge and got star service, but they were such nice people that no doubt you would get the same fabulous treatment had it been full. We stayed in a permanent tent - it was large and spacious and had proper beds and reading chairs. It was attached to a gorgeous bathroom made of stone with a thatched roof that was just beautiful. It was very cold the night we stayed but the staff brought us hot water bottles and extra blankets so we had no problems sleeping. And we woke up to a stunning view of Bwindi Impenetrable NP.

I cannot recommend Bakiga enough. It was so beautiful. It felt like home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sturner92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here with the intention of course of tracking the Gorilla's the following day. The location of the Lodge could not have been better, not just for the spectacular outlook and view but it was just 5 minutes from the meeting point where we would be briefed the next day about the Gorilla's.
The lodge itself is basic and exactly what we wanted. It had charm and romanticism and was honestly so simple that it was simply perfect. If I had to complain then there was insufficient water for the shower; but there was hot water albeit on request! The food was delicious and again more than we expected. There is a lovely fireplace in the centre of the reception/dining area which we sat around at the end of the day. Wyclef, the Manager, not only met us on arrival but ensured we were taken care of during our short stay but also entertained us around the fire in the evening. Wyclef is an enchanting individual who will absolutely captivate you with his knowledge of life in general and his impressions of the country and the government! He will tell you too about the Community projects they run in the area which are well worth listening to about. I could waffle on but quite simply if you travel to this part of the world go with open eyes and be considerate to your surroundings but Bakiga Lodge is an ideal place to stay for the experience of complete escape and unspoilt beauty.

Room Tip: There are just Two tents both with Outstanding views and very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed in the lodge whilst working in the health clinic, A simply blessed place to be a part of Gods wonderful creation, Woke up each morning to photo the mist rising up in the adjoining mountains... Service was great (George even bought our lunch down to the medical clinic when we were to busy to come back to the lodge) Spent a few wonderful late evenings lounging around the central fireplace in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Furlong, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed one night in September with my two sons and trekked the Ruhija Family the next day. I agree with all the positive comments that have been said about this lodge and our host Wyclef. What made this the best experience what almost became a disaster. After a long drive from Kampala, our driver got lost during a torrential rain storm.We found Bakiga lodge late at night, by accident ; Wyclef informed us that we were 50 Km from our destination. I was shivering from the cold and rain . The staff started a fire and gave me hot tea, a meal and room for my party. Wyclef and one of sons drove in the rain and arranged for us to see the Gorilla family the next day. This is what good experience and people are about.

RS

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b0bart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
7.3 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
11.8 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
10.6 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
11.7 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakiga Lodge

Property: Bakiga Lodge
Address: Ruhija, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tented camp in the heart of beautiful Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. 10 minutes from the Ruhija Gorilla Tracking meeting point. Facilities include restaurant, lounge and bar. Charging available. Two spacious twin tents and Two luxury cabins, all with wonderful views from private balconies. All rooms have ensuite bathrooms with hot showers. All profits fund NGO water development in South West Uganda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Bakiga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakiga Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing