We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'An experience of a lifetime!!'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'An experience of a lifetime!!'”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Seeing the Gorillas has always been on my list of things to do. My 'bucket list' if you like.From the initial inquiry to booking via Sarah, to the welcome from our driver Roger, Jackson and Nicholas at the camp, the care and attention we were given was superb. A beautiful location in a beautiful Country. A dream come true!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 301SueN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely review!!

We are delighted that you have now ticked the gorillas off your bucket list; we have to agree it is definitely an experience of a lifetime!

Sarah, Roger, Jackson, Nicholas and the rest of the team loved your review!!

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully one day soon.

Until then it would be great if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
101
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is in a lovely setting, the staff couldn't be more friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, good food, comfortable accommodation, many thoughtful touches and our 'tent' had the best view at the top of the camp. From the very beginning - from correspondence with Sarah in the South Africa office through to our final day at the camp - we could not have had better care and attention, making the whole experience one of the best I have ever had. Too many people to list here but a very big thank you goes to all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review!

We are thrilled that you had such an amazing experience with us and thank you for all your kind comments, we shared this with the rest of the team, Sarah was especially pleased!

Was indeed an honour to host you and we do hope to welcome you back one day..

Would love if you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our first safari to Africa. Obviously the Gorillas were a highlight and everyone should do this at least once. Coming back to the camp after a long day of trekking was such a relief though. Great staff and service and the baths in each room were superb! First class spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.

We have to agree the gorillas are definitely an amazing experience!

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day..

Please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overton, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had a fantastic 3 night stay here. I was impressed with the quality and attention to detail. The food was wonderful, laundry services were expedient and meticulous and we appreciated the clean hiking boots! Soft lamb skin rugs along the bed were so warm and cozy. Luxurious candlelit tub with private view of forest, abundance of hot water, fresh flowers adorning the room........ The staff were so attentive, personable and genuinely cared about us. They were a great source of information about the gorillas, the community and Bwindi. I would highly recommend this camp.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Kathleen,

What an awesome review thank you!!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, the staff absolutely loved your feedback.

Thank you so much for the recommendation, much appreciated!! We hope to welcome you back one day..

Please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are traveling in Central Africa for safari and gorilla treking start at the Sanctuary. The entire staff is committed to a wonderful stay - Ian and Jackson were always there to answer questions and assure we had everything we needed - including great porters. (Read the other reviews for great detail as to the level of service at the lodge.) So why start here? Because if you put this at the end of your experience in Africa you may not be as "in shape" as when you left home and wish you were as you trek into the forest to see the gorillas. My personal experience, after sitting in four wheel drives for two plus weeks on safari and then returning to camps/lodges for wonderful food and no exercise (no jogging while on safari) I was becoming out of shape. The forest is appropriately named 'Impenetrable' and some treks take hours each way. To be able to thoroughly enjoy the experience put this wonderful lodge and your gorilla treks at the beginning of your trip and make sure you hire the porters that the staff suggests - you never know when you may need "a push or a pull." The staff at this lodge wants its guests to love Bwindi, and it is infectious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Musingsretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review!!

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us, Ian and Jackson were especially pleased with you review.

We would love to welcome you back again one day..

Would be great if you could keep up to date with our latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter ( @SanctuaryRet ) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Ian, Jackson and the team for a wonderful stay in an incredible location. The service is attentive and detailed without ever being intrusive. All the staff were amazing and a credit to the franchise - special thanks though to
Ben who is passionate and knowledgeable about his country, Michael for the laundry and the hot water bottles, John for table service with a smile and the chef and kitchen staff for fantastic meals every day.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very glad you had a wonderful stay with us at Gorilla Forest Camp. We have passed on to the camp your Thanks, Ian, Jackson, Ben, Michael and John were especially please with your feedback.

We hope to see you at one of our other properties soon, until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights - gorilla trekking obviously. This camp is hardly a 'camp' - beautiful location, comfy beds, hot, hot water including a bathtub. And the staff are amazing - it's the little things that count - ginger tea when I wasn't feeling well, coffee delivered every morning for my husband, hot water bottles in our bed. And the gorillas - wow! Thank you for a wonderful time - you live and work in a very special and amazingly beautiful part of the world.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Susan,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much!

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely comments. We’re so sorry to hear you were feeling unwell during your stay, but very glad that our team could be of assistance. You’ve summed it up perfectly – the gorillas are simply WOW and certainly an experience that everyone should have at least once in their lifetime.

Please keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Gorilla Forest Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
107 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
90 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
191 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#12 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp

Property: Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Address: Gorilla Territory, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only concessionaire luxury camp within Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp is the perfect base from which to track the park's most famous resident - the mountain gorilla. The main area features a comfortable lounge and bar area as well as the main dining area while the mini spa offers a wide selection of treatments. Located within the National Park, Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp offers guests an unrivalled location, including the best bird and wildlife viewing in the Bwindi area. In fact Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp often receives regular visits from the gorillas themselves. For the lucky guests in camp at those times, they may have the chance for a gorilla encounter without even leaving Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp. The eight tents at Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp are stylish and spacious, each featuring two queen sized beds. In addition to the comfortable warm beds, each tent has a huge bathtub that looks straight into the jungle canopy ideal for soaking tired muscles after a day spent observing and meeting gorillas. Observe rare forest species while soaking in the tub, followed by a cocktail on the private viewing deck served by your personal attendant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, South African Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing