We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bwindi Lodge: Paradise Found!”
Review of Bwindi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bwindi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This 'bucket list' adventure far exceeded our hopes and expectations. Our recent trip to Uganda was truly life changing. We met some of the most incredible and inspiring people on our trip and saw some of the best sights of our lives visiting our ‘distant relatives’ the mountain gorillas of Uganda’s Impenetrable Forest. We stayed at the Bwindi Safari Lodge in pure paradise bliss looking out at the beautiful birds and dense forest complete with black and white colobus monkeys. The staff at the lodge treated us with the highest level of service. It was pure bliss and heaven on earth.

Staying at the Bwindi Lodge is a MUST DO if you can make it happen!!!

Room Tip: Any banda is amazing there! There are only 8.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Bwindi Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

Beautiful place
Amazing views of the Bwindi forest from the lounge and room balconies.
The food was amazing - the chef was fantastic
After a hard day out tracking the gorillas - complimentary massages to end the day, followed by a quiet drink overlooking the forest.
Bungalows are comfortable with king-size beds and guaranteed hot water showers. Morning wake-up call with some hot tea/coffee.
The service was impeccable. The lodge staff ever smiling and always at hand
We had an fantastic time at Bwindi

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepa003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We decided to end our African honeymoon gorilla trekking in Uganda. That didn't exactly sound relaxing or romantic but definitely felt it during our four day stay at Bwindi Lodge. Our bungalow was incredible, nestled above a dense forest. It had a contemporary design, with a big king-size bed, outdoor seating area, his&her bathroom sinks and a big shower. We ate four-course delicious meals every night and were given a packed lunch each day of our trekking that was the envy of the other walkers. We spent two days trekking and would return in the afternoon and just unwind.. the complimentary massage I received helped! Above all else, the local staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome... offering a friendly chat or smile, helping us exchange our money, even surprising us with a hot water bottle in our beds each night. On our final night they made a special "honeymoon" cake just for us which nearly made me cry. Along with the incredible experience of seeing gorillas in the wild.. this place really was the icing on the cake of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Just come back from there... the Staff were fantastic and would do anything to help. The location is great overlooking a wild gorge with a river at the bottom. The food was good (the chef would ask us at lunchtime what we wanted in the evening) Massages on the house!
Would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Unforgetable -What a beautiful place, and so peaceful. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Comfortable, excellent service, beautiful surroundings - all in all a truly wonderful experience, topped off with an amazing gorilla trek into the forest.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I can't say enough about the Bwindi Lodge. The setting is stunning and the lodge itself is beautiful, simple, elegant and perfectly in keeping with its surroundings. We heard and saw the Rushegura gorilla family from the moment of our arrival and then frequently for our too short stay. We did the gorilla trek in the park only to have the gorillas back at the lodge even before we arrived back ourselves! The food, the staff and everything about this lodge was magnificent. It is one of those places that can't be described in a way that does justice to the experience. Even pictures miss the beauty of this place. I can't recommend the place highly enough. You will not regret choosing the Bwindi Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

You will feel like you are in Africa because they use local products and styles to build their cabanas but you'll feel as comfortable as at home. We loved the service, the staff and the location. The view was to die for. Take advantage of the complimentary massage and walk up to the little village to shop Both add flavor to the experience. We had good WI-fi from the lodge and were able to send home photos. The bathrooms are spacious and luxurious and the front decks are a lovely place to relax after your gorilla trek, which fortunately, were not as tough as I had anticipated. The chef makes a wide variety of items and they are all good (even the beef, which is unusual in many isolated locations). Our only regret- that we didn't stay longer. This is one for the memory book.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Betty-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
110 reviews
11.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
93 reviews
7.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
227 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwindi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwindi Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the primeval Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Volcanoes Bwindi Lodge is the finest luxury lodge at Bwindi. With dramatic intense views of the forest canopy across a serene stream, it is one of Africa’s unique properties. The gorillas frequently come to relax in the verdant bush around the lodge! The lodge is perfectly located for a Uganda jungle gorilla tracking experience. The lodge boasts eight large bandas facing the forest. Each of the guest bandas has a sitting area, a terrace and an en-suite luxury shower room. The main living area has a central fireplace which acts as a focal point for guests to relax and discuss their gorilla tracking experience. A large terrace overlooking the forest is a great place to spot the monkeys and birds hidden in the foliage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bwindi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Bwindi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing