We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, Awesome views, Good food”
Review of Pong View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pong View Hotel
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Dharamsala
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here in mid june for 2 nights. It is located a little ahead of dharamsala city on the way to Mcleodganj, 10 kms in a quiet place. It makes it quite convenient if you want to go to dharamsala market - kotwali bazaar, chamunda devi temple, mata kunal pathri temple, tea gardens which are all towards dharamsala and at the same time upwards to Mcleodganj and Naddi (last point by road). So we spent days at crowded, noisy tourist spots during the day but still could get a sound sleep at this nice hotel at night. Saves you also from the traffic of mcleodganj. We booked the rooms online, though there is no online mode of payment but they provide you with their account number and you can transfer half the amount. We were little apprehensive about that but turned out to be reliable. They do provide room service for food, dnt have a restaurant but watever they provide tastes good. Also, there are 2-3 restaurants nearby as well. City heart restaurant in kotwali bazaar is nice. Food at Dharamasala & Mcleodganj is little cheaper than in Delhi and around. The hotel has a valley view and mountain view, both are amazing as mountain view gives u snow peaked mountains right outside your window. We took the premium rooms with AC, though we didnt use AC but they are new I believe so very neat and clean, very spacious rooms and washrooms. Just do not leave anything expensive behind, coz the hotel staff didnt even lock the doors to the rooms after cleaning :| and when we told them they just said, oh is it? And they do provide hot water in the bathroom at all times, but of course you should take bath around 8am if you want to leave early for sightseeing coz if ppl in all rooms start using hot water at the same time, it becomes a prob. Though rest everything was quite good including the parking space, ambience, staff. Overall I will recommend this hotel strongly and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Valley view has nice view to the valley, mountain view is towards parking space and road but still g...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray_Of_Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Pong View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had a very nice experience staying in hotel pong view. Seriously speaking we never thought that we ll get such a pleasant view from it's rooms. They have two sections : One on the main road and one a lil downstairs/downhill. We stayed in downhill one. The interiors were wooden and were brand new and guess what- Only at price 1100, so it was unbeatable price for such a nice hotel. Food experience awesome, esp the staff ppl were so helping and courteous that you ll feel like they r ur frnds. we went there at the peak time of christmas and believe me out of the whole 4 days himachal trip, pong views was our best experience! Hats off to you ppl srsly for such a budgest hotel and full facilities. My strong recommendation to all ppl srsly!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dest_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Housekeeping staff will not attend to your room unless you call for them,, so no new sheets/towels etc unless you ask for it,, Food was average,, dnt fall for pong view as the pong dam is 70 km away,, and you might bbe very lucky if you are able to get a glimpse of it...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikas1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its wonderful location and a great view from the balcony of the Super delux rooms.The view of the Pong Dam is breathtaking..

The service is sloppy and the room service could be much better.A surprise visit of a large spider made things worse.

Nothing much to say about the food.

Parking available.

Stay here for the view..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Partha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

one of the best places to stay in Dharamshalla. I have dharmshala 5 times inlast 6 years. Generally i prefer to stay in Mcleodganj but pong view is good option on the way from dharmshala.the hotel staff is very professional and courteous which is rare in relatively small stations like dharmshala. the rooms are neat, clean and offers a great view of the valley and pong dam. The balcony space is wide enough to have breaffast or evening tea with amazing view if the valley. The prices are also geniune for food and other services, I have stayed there twice in last 4 years and have seen renovation of rooms and interiors.Further its located in cant area on the way to Mcleodganj.

Room Tip: Room No 602 adjacent to reception area is spacious with big balcony and grt view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tejinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

When I went to the reception desk to book a room for me I was not sure of the stay but once i saw the room I was amazed to see the high standard.I wasted no time in giving the reception an advance.I stayed in the hotel for six days and the experience was of home away from home.The staff was courteous and helpful.The waiter responsible for my room went out of the way to serve us without expecting a tip unlike some hotels where the staff works for tip only.Overall I would suggest just go for it.

Room Tip: choose rooms where you can get a view of the beautiful pong dam.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukesh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience human waste waterfall hotel pong view is the ideal place. Please fellow travellers flush the toilet before you check in for any leaks. They say apparently the small leak from the toilet is normal. Don't go for rooms in the ground level or neither the cottages. The sheets are dirty with stains. And they say it is just the tea stain on the sheet. Moreover, I recommend nobody to fall for the website. It is completely false. Also they take an hour to deliver a single cup of coffee
If u order 5 coffees u get only 3 but u get billed for 5.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.9 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
695 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bob's n Barley
Bob's n Barley
#23 of 78 in Dharamsala
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#22 of 78 in Dharamsala
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#34 of 78 in Dharamsala
66 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Snow Crest Inn Private Limited
0.6 mi away
Hotel Wood Castle
Hotel Wood Castle
#14 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pong View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pong View Hotel

Address: Cantt. Road, Dharamsala 176215, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range: £17 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pong View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pong View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pong View Hotel Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing