We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views and great location”
Review of Mount View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount View Hotel
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Dharamsala
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel..

Positives:
Great location - just off the main part of town, but still with the great views
Views - We got a hillside view and it was amazing to wake up to in the morning
Service was very efficient and staff friendly.
Actual Hot water - not occasional!

Negatives:

Quality of shower varied day by day - generally low power.
Power sockets could be a health hazard - wires hanging out so not great if you want to charge your electrical items
Was a little pricey in comparison to some of its peers (we paid £26 a night for ours)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJyoungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

stayed here for 3 weeks in June @ RS500 per night in a spacious room. Hotel is clean and well maintained, staff friendly and helpful. Location is good as not too far down and not down mountains of steps either.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shineysheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We had one of the most expensive rooms at the hotel. Fantastic views from the room and balcony over the valley. We paid 1600 for the room they had asked for 2000 which would have been far too much. Although the views are great the bedroom itself was ok, very spacious with windows on 3 sides and a TV. However the bathroom was really a disappointment. Old, a bit grubby with a leaky toilet and really could do with an update.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaverman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

When we arrived the hotel was almost booked up so we got a room at a discounted rate as the hotel manager was reluctant to let it as he thought it was a bit musty. The next day he offered to shift us but we didn't find it so bad and the view was fantastic so we stayed there. The bathroom was very clean which is refeshing to see in India. The hotel is close to central McLeod Ganj and it's easy walking to Baghsu, Dalai Lama's temple, shops and restaurants.
There are lovely sitting areas with big windows and a roof top "garden", where you will view panoramas of McLeod Ganj. It was interesting watching children passing by the entrance on their way to the nearby school, as well as monks, cows and Tibetan women.
Staff can arrange tours, bus tickets etc for you and have a phone and handy internet room near the entrance. There is also a cheap laundry service.
The manager was very friendly and nothing seemed to be a problem for him.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExSplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

This hotel is priced above average for McLeod Ganj backpacker guesthouses (at 500 rp per night for a double room) but is well worth it.
Most rooms have wonderful balcony views out over Dharamsala or over to Bagsu. We stayed in a room overlooking Dharamsala the first night but it was noisy as it was adjacent to another guesthouses rooftop terrace.
We moved to the otherside of the hotel the next day, where the balcony looking out over a small wooded valley, full of bird life, was beautiful and incredibly peaceful.
The rooms were clean but cold at night.
We stayed at the hotel for two weeks, partly as we were overcoming Delhi belly but mainly because the balcony was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank originalname3740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

I had been staying at Oak View Hotel in Bagsu, which was fine (and cheaper) but a hike to get to McLeod Ganj, which is where everything for visitors seems to go on, and to get to the Dalai Lama's residence and temple, until I heard about this place from other travelers around town. I paid 500rupees per night (off peak season) for a great, big room with an awesome view from the balcony (price split between two people). The location is maybe a 10 minute walk from the Dalai Lama's temple and there were plenty of good restaurants and attractions nearby! I will definitely stay here when I go back for similar trips! There was a lock-out curfew, but several of staying there regularly came in after that time and they never hassled us about it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaxRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank 137andr_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
715 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Snow Crest Inn Private Limited
0.9 mi away
Pong View Hotel
Pong View Hotel
#25 of 81 in Dharamsala
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 27 in McLeod Ganj
153 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#24 of 81 in Dharamsala
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Surbhi Guest House
Surbhi Guest House
#37 of 81 in Dharamsala
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel

Address: On Jogiwara Road Near Post Office Mcleodganj Dharamshala, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most beautiful views of snow capped Himalayas. Friendly staff. Homely comforts. The friendliest address in McLeod Gan j. It is our pleasure to make you feel at home. Feel at home with us! Well known and experienced, we provide beautiful rooms with balconies and magnificent views to the Dhauladhar range. All rooms are en suite with hot showers and TV all for reasonable prices. On our roof you can enjoy beautiful sunrises and sunsets. We also offer Indian, Chinese and continental food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing