We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staple Hospitality in Himachal !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dhauladhar View
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Dharamsala
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Being a government organisation they do a splendid job ! rooms need to be upgraded , better heating would be welcome ,as would the advice of a competent interior designer , times have changed ,up-gradation is the crying need of the hour . Food is unimaginative but of robust quality and dependable, quality
The staff do a commendable job given the culture that is endemic .
Location is convenient ,view is great above the rusted roofs past the cell phone tower.!

Room Tip: Suites are spacious otherwise the rooms on the first floor or above at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great facility offered by Dhauladhar Hotel belonging to HPTDC .I was there in Dharamshala on 28th December with my family and booked the Kangra Suite in the 2nd Floor. Difficult to find such a lavish room in such a reasonable rate. God view from the Balcony, good ambience, enough space and courteous staff. Location was good, bang in the centre of Dharamshala with close proximity to Mcleodganj. Food was deliious though a tad expensive given its a government property. Would suggest book in advance and go for the Kangra Suite.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiradeepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We took the Kangra suite at this hotel and it was a very pleasant surprise indeed. Spacious wouldn't even begin to describe it. There's this reasonably sized living room with a sitting arrangement, dining arrangement and fridge. After that you go through a door into the bedroom which is also fair sized and well furnished.There's also a dressing area with dressing table and wardrobe and a bathroom that leaves you open mouthed with its size. The crowning glory is the balcony that stretches along the entire breadth of the suite and looks out over the rolling hillside.
Another great thing about this place is the restaurant. The cooking is good and the quantity per plate enough to be sufficient and more for two.
The place is also very reasonably priced in view of its location and service. It's a very good choice for budget travellers I'd say.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Roopkatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in triund suite which twin room very big for family of four very well maintain good wash room bed room with sitting room dinning table sofa etc etc food is also good at their resturant with great views little bit expensive overall nice

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SK_1535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed for one night in Hotel Dauladhar, Dharamsala. The rooms were much better than other HPTDC hotels. The best part was a big balcony with a panoramic view of the mountains. Room service etc was good. Food was OK. The bad part was that there is nothing to do in Dharamsala. All the action is in McleodGanj. So I would recommend staying in McleodGanj if you have come for a vacation. If you must stay in Dharamsala then Dhauladhar is definitely a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunjangupat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Location: Awesome! Just like any other HPTDC hotel, located at the best of the locations in their respective cities and towns I have visited till now, this one as well is right in the middle of the market; walking distance from the main bus stand, and the taxi operators office.

View: On one side of the hotel is the beautiful Dhaulagiri ranges, the other side overlooks the valley. Trust me, there is no obstruction in both the views.

Rooms: Even though we booked for the Standard Room, it was quite spacious, with a small balcony attached. You can sit and look at the breathtaking view of the mountains, while watching your child play the swings. The bathroom could be cleaner though. We looked at the higher category also; the room size is same, except that they are carpeted (which I do not like), and open into the lawn from the other side.

Food: It is over-priced as compared to the market rates, but is good, and worth the view you get from the open-air restaurant. The staff was helpful enough to assist me with the kind of food I wanted for my child.

Service and Staff: Slow, but personalized. You can't expect better in a state-run hotel.

Parking: Ample space, options of covered and open.

The hotel is in serious need of maintenance and overall upkeep. But overall, a great stay!

Room Tip: Depends upon your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_Goel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

A government owned hotel with better room space wise and a decent staff with good vegetarian food, and on top of it, very reasonable prices. Here are a few parameters to relate to my opinion:
Hotel Room: We booked Cedar suite and allocated Triund suite. We compared both suites and found no difference except names ;) Room size was good, had working room heater, good room service (I personally feel if you are nice with the staff first time, you will surely get good service within minutes). Extra quilts and blankets were available in the room. (We did a very early check in @6.30AM and as discussed earlier with manager, they allocated room as it was available at that time). Nice market view from the backside terrace of room.
Staff: Was very good, be it reception, restaurant or room service... everyone was decent.. timely room cleaning and change of towels, cleaning of bathroom done on time. We ordered food from our room and it was delivered within 5-10 minutes, fresh and tasty.
Food: Very reasonable rates and I found it tasty in comparison to other food items tasted outside the hotel. Restaurant of this hotel is USP of it. I must admit, the open air sitting arrangement is serene. A bar is located just downstairs with open air sitting arrangement there too. Just love spending time at open area outside restaurant, inhaling fresh air from the valley.
Location: Mid town location is the plus point, and you will get Railway reservation centre just in the premises of hotel, along with HPTDC office for further help on Himachal Tours. Bus stand is just near the hotel at walking distance. Our Volvo bus dropped us just outside the hotel (since it was terminating at Macleodganj. And you need to inform driver to stop at Kotwali Bazar near Dhauladhar hotel), A very good sweet shop and confectionary store was located just outside the hotel.
Parking: They have their own parking as well as paid parking was also there. Parking seems a problematic area in whole Dharamshala area while this hotel has ample parking space for your vehicle.
Tip: To roam around the area near Dharamshala, you can also book a cab from the hotel reception, though these were not from hotel/ government side, but from the Taxi union, having fixed rates for tours in and around places, however you can always bargain from taxi drivers for rates
Almost all leading bank ATM were located in close proximity (With 200 Mtrs radius). Hotel accepts Credit Card Payment.
We booked hotel through online booking portal of HP Tourism and when final bill was settled, we got a 25% discount on total bill (I was totally unaware of any discount while the time of booking) So it was pleasant surprise.
Overall I rate this hotel as very good.

Room Tip: Ask for suites as there is not much difference between the prices but surely with room sizes :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShyamKantDubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Victoriya Palace
Hotel Victoriya Palace
#54 of 83 in Dharamsala
65 reviews
2.4 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 29 in McLeod Ganj
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#9 of 83 in Dharamsala
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pong View Hotel
Pong View Hotel
#27 of 83 in Dharamsala
122 reviews
2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Indraprastha Resort and Spa
3.1 mi away
Sterling Dharamshala
Sterling Dharamshala
#13 of 83 in Dharamsala
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dhauladhar View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dhauladhar View

Address: Kotwali Bazar, Dharamsala 176215, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range: £17 - £716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Dhauladhar View Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing