We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average property”
Review of Dhauladhar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dhauladhar Hotel
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“An average property”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

All the action is in Mcleodganj, This is a basic yet clean and well maintained HPDC Property which is situated in main bazar of dharamshala. I recommend it for an overnite stay, if you going to be in mcleodganj all day !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajatmaheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

it was a good Govt hotel with valley view and located a right place in D'Shala. Rooms were clean, staff was nice and hotel has provided all amenities except the tea kettle which seems to be must. Restaurant was nice with good food and has beautiful natural view. The suite in which we stayed was quite big and had a wonderful experience. The property is very well maintained. I am planning to come again and stay here.

SRACHNA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachna_sapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We, 4 of us, went to Dharamsala and stayed for 4 days in the month of May 2014.

The Hotel is located in a good spot in Dharamsala and is maintained quite well bt the Himachal Pradesh Tourism. We stayed in a suite and in a deluxe room. The rooms were neat and clean. The suite in which I stayed was very roomy. If I were to visit Dharamsala Inwould stay in this Hotel again.

The food served was very good, especially the breakfast. It was neither spicy nor bland and well made. Everyone with whom we dealt were courteous and polite without exception.

Room Tip: Go for suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natarajan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Located in Dharamshala and not in Macleod Kanj. Very clean hotel with a good view of the valley. It is located on the main road. Rooms are big and clean. Clean towels and linen were provided. Good restaurant.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank drcheranb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Would like to start with by mentioning that i never expected a Govt hotel to have such good service with clean and decent rooms at an amazing price.Hope HPTDC maintains their standards similarly for all hotels.Lets start with the hotel review. Its situated right in the middle of a Bazaar as the address suggest and a small road going up for 50meters brings you to the hotel.Its located near the main bazaar but you wont hear or get to know any hustle bustle of the bazaar at all as you might be assuming. Parking space is plenty if you are traveling with your own vehicle. Rooms are well furnished with basic amenities and i think the hotel was recently repainted therefore looks good,for the rooms try and book the rooms with the Dhauladhar range views they are simply fantastic. Food served in the restaurant is cheap and good and you wont find much better in Dharamshala. For those traveling to Mcleodganj with their own vehicle would suggest book this hotel and travel up and come back the same evening as parking and road space is a nightmare, Roads are broken and in terrible shape and too dusty.Overall the hotel property was good and would recommend it to anyone visiting Dharamshala/Mcleodganj.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jay1832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Being a government organisation they do a splendid job ! rooms need to be upgraded , better heating would be welcome ,as would the advice of a competent interior designer , times have changed ,up-gradation is the crying need of the hour . Food is unimaginative but of robust quality and dependable, quality
The staff do a commendable job given the culture that is endemic .
Location is convenient ,view is great above the rusted roofs past the cell phone tower.!

Room Tip: Suites are spacious otherwise the rooms on the first floor or above at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AB_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great facility offered by Dhauladhar Hotel belonging to HPTDC .I was there in Dharamshala on 28th December with my family and booked the Kangra Suite in the 2nd Floor. Difficult to find such a lavish room in such a reasonable rate. God view from the Balcony, good ambience, enough space and courteous staff. Location was good, bang in the centre of Dharamshala with close proximity to Mcleodganj. Food was deliious though a tad expensive given its a government property. Would suggest book in advance and go for the Kangra Suite.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiradeepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#26 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anand Palace
Hotel Anand Palace
#46 of 69 in Dharamsala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#17 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#14 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.3 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhauladhar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhauladhar Hotel

Property: Dhauladhar Hotel
Address: Katwali Bazar, Dharamsala 176215, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Dhauladhar Hotel Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing