We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't say enough good things about Grace Cottage!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I can't say enough good things about Grace Cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was one of my favorite places to stay on a recent trip to India. My girlfriend and I stayed her for four nights, and we both loved everything about Grace Cottage. First of all, it's just a beautiful property, with rich history, and a great deal of character. The room we stayed in was the "Prime Minister of Kashmir" room, and the other rooms have similar designations, depending upon which former dignitary stayed there. Rooms vary from Lord Elgin, the last English viceroy, to the large Mahatma Gandhi suite downstairs, where Gandhi stayed when he passed through the area. It feels like everything you see in this place is either a piece of history or art (or both). There are beautiful Kangra paintings adorning the halls alongside photos and copies of letters from Mahatma Gandhi.

The location is great as well, as it's not set directly in the chaos of McLeod Ganj, while remaining close enough. It's about a 20 - 30 minute drive up to McLeod Ganj from the hotel, so you're close enough that you can get up there during the day, then return to some peace and serenity at night. What's more is that the property is within walking distance to Kotwali Bazaar (about 2 blocks away), the Kangra Art Musuem (a 5-10 minute walk), and some beautiful mountain views. There's also a small, but beautiful temple about 10 minutes away.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We had some wonderful, and plentiful meals here! The included breakfasts were a mix of an egg dish prepared to order, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, juice, and tea. The lunches and dinners featured several different Indian dishes, all of them delicious, and way more than the two of us could finish.

There was always someone from the attentive staff around, ready to lend a hand if needed, whether for a light snack, or assistance with getting to a nearby location.

We happened to also be around while the owner of the property, Yogi Mahajan, was staying there. He was kind enough to join us for some wonderful discussions, and teach us some new meditation techniques. He also gave us some great advice on some things to do in the area that would fit our tastes.

As for the basic amenities, the room was very tidy, and more than ample for two, including a small living room space, and another area in the back for luggage. They brought in an air conditioning unit, as we stayed during the summer months, but we only needed it on one night. The ceiling fan sufficed for the rest of the time. The balcony outside of room gave us a lovely view of the valley. The wi-fi service in this hotel works exceptionally well, though I can't imagine wanting to spend much time on the internet when you're here, surrounding by so much natural beauty and history.

I can't recommend this place enough. If you have any specific questions about our stay, feel free to contact me. I'd be happy to answer them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimesArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    38
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
35
36
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good first impression .....heritage exterior and interiors. As u move around the cozy spaces you know it is an ancestral home converted for commercial use. Interiors are a little in the face but do a good job of projecting family and property legacy. We were booked for 6 nights and were given a room on ground level....didn't like it at all ......very small with an oversized bed.....and a low wall balcony that seemed like a hazard with my 4 year kid around. However were shown a better spacious room on first floor that we liked.....a private balcony with a coffee table was the best part. We visited in June and were disappointed to not have A/C and minibars in the room.
Service ...the less i speak the better. Ancestral home comes with staff that is more like loyal servants converted to serve guests. Forget professionalism even politeness and couteousness comes at a price...you tip them they'll be good else.....get second grade treatment. For the first 4 days dinner tables dont have napkins or other standard condiments and suddenly on 5th day the layout changes to include all these. Was this to impress some VIP in house or what? Aren't there any basic service standards. Welcomgroup better have control over the staff and their compensation/selection and appoint a few supervisors who can bring professionalism and standard to the service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashishsethi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Grace Cottage hotel for one night during our recent Himachal trip. The hotel is an ancestral home and is about 200 years old. The hotel is located in Old Chari road and is quite difficult to locate. The approach road to this property is a tiny lane and we were wondering if any hotel could ever exist on such a road.

Pros:
1. The legacy and the history associated with the ancestral home. My wife and I are those kinda people who love to read and revisit history. We were thrilled to see the memorabilia and souvenir on display. Letter dating way back in early 19th century and photographs of prominent Indian leaders kept us busy throughout the stay
2. The staff were very courteous and were very helpful. We reached around 3 in the afternoon and were pretty hungry. The staff made us fresh vegetables and rotis.
3. Food is pretty cheap.
4. The rooms are pretty big and are designed in an artistic way. The room that we stayed was named as Lord Mountbatten. Each room carried a theme.
5. The bed was comfortable and clean. There were a geyser fixed in the bathroom which provided hot water (Even though we were visiting Dharamshala during summer, the nights/early mornings are pretty cold. one would need a hot shower)

Unfortunately, there ends the pros for this hotel.

Cons:
1. The access road ... the lesser told the better.. we were looking for old Chari road all conveniently overlooked this tiny road 3 times. My wife, I and our driver just did not look into that direction because the road was so narrow that it would have been tough to even navigate a bike let alone a car through that road. After 10-15 mins of hunt, we did saw a small board on the road which read "Grace cottage hotel" . For a moment we were taken aback as to what kinda hotel we would find on this road. Thankfully it did not turn out to be that bad..
2. The rooms need a face lift. Even though they are elegantly designed, the rugs and the furniture look worn out. Just by adding loads of Gold paint one cannot replicate royalty.
3. Bathrooms are way too basic.. no showers, bath tub
4. Credit cards are not accepted. Thankfully I had read this on Tripadvisor and had cash. Else would have had to run around at the time of check out
5. The hotel is a bit quirky. The lighting in the entire hotel was a bit dull for our liking.

May be our expectations were pretty high when we had booked a Welcome Heritage hotel. This was supposed to be one of the best hotels during our entire trip, but turned out to well below our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Planet_trekker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

On first seeing this hotel it looks like fairy tale hotel in a fairy tale setting. It is all of that until you get closer acquainted  with it, the setting is great with fabulous views of the mountains but and it is a big but, cleanliness does not feature high up on their agenda. Stayed two days and couldn't face the shower. The food in the evening was adequate but not great and real choice, beer can now be ordered with the food. Breakfast ids also adequate and the choice is limited to "How would you like your egg Cooked ? " the web site claims that room safes are fitted but there wasn't one in our room. Plus point was free wifi with a reasonable service. If you are a light sleeper the feral dogs barking at night may be a problem. It was a quirky stay which I enjoyed on some levels, would I stay again, no , because I have done it. I would recommend it  to certain friends who could cope with the above caveats.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The hotel is beautiful located. Has polite and courteous staff. The food is excellent and is freshly prepared. If there is not much rush in the hotel you do get a lot of personal attention.
The rooms are neat and clean with clean bathrooms. The wifi is free but wasnt working when we stayed so cant comment on it. Good well maintained hotel. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AchalMachal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We only had one night here but would have been happy to stay longer,comfortable clean interesting room , friendly staff, bonus of free wi fi (take note most of the more expensive hotels in India!) not huge choice of food but freshly cooked and the staff kindly brought in a couple of bottles of beer , and didn't overcharge us for them!
photos of the hotel make it look like its further from other properties than it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our travel agents advised that this was a quaint hotel if a little unloved.. Well that was an understatement....it was a very grubby place all round. However it has the potential to be really nice and there are not that many around Dharamshala...the bed was ok, the sheets were clean, I think, but the duvet cover had not been washed for a while. It did have an ensuite but I declined to use the shower. Other that that once you removed the Mozzies from the sink in the morning, it was a good washroom. The rooms are large and have two fans which are effective, and the staff are amiable. Food is hit and miss, and moderately priced but don't expect a choice. And try and eat at the same time as other guests...it helps them. Overall it reflects the price and the staff try hard to please. They do now serve beer and will take plastic. It's a bit like the old school report .....tries, but could do better. Excellent point is access to free wifi at any time..

Room Tip: The rooms are all large and unique, just need TLC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melody110808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 69 in Dharamsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#17 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rakkh Resort
Rakkh Resort
#6 of 69 in Dharamsala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Indraprastha Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel

Property: WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel
Address: 558 Old Chari Road | Kotwali Bazaar, Kangra District, Dharamsala 176215, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 69 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WelcomHeritage Grace Hotel is built in traditional hill architecture, the hotel is a 200 year old country manor and a statement of elegance & courtliness against the backdrop of the richly forested Dhauladhar range. Grace Hotel belonged to Late Mehr Chand Mahajan, the first Chief Justice of India and prior to that Prime Minister of Kashmir during the reign of Maharaja Hari Singh. His son, Yogeshwar Mahajan restored his ancestral home and has adapted it to a WelcomHeritage hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WelcomHeritage Grace Cottage Hotel Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing