We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and sererne”
Review of Hotel Dev Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Dev Cottage
Ranked #26 of 148 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Dev cottages is located 2 kms away from the hustle and noise from McLeodganj. The cottage faces the amazing snow capped mountains which is a treat as all the rooms face it. It is surrounded by the deodar trees which gives it a very cooling effect.
The food and service is good here.The rooms are quite huge and can accomodate atleast 4 people on asking extra beds.
Since we went during the off season didnt find it to be expensive.
This is a good place to start for the Triund trek and the staff at Dev cottage are more than ready to help you plan the trek.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_198585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dev Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

I visited McLeodganj recently which was on my destination list from quite a long time. The concept was to spend some quality time with my family and I am happy that I chose Dev Cottages for place to stay. It is away from the busy streets of the McLeodganj in the middle of pine trees. The staff was courteous and helpful in making our stay comfortable. They transferred us into their cottages, which has the most beautiful scenic beauty. I could see a hill top filled with snow patches from my rooms window. The rooms were big enough with availability of hot water round the clock. The breakfast served by hotel was delicious and tasty. The hotel owner was kind enough to suggest us all the main attractions in McLeodganj. Our original plan was to stay in Mcleadganj only for a day and then to move towards Dalhousie, but due to the hospitality of Hotel we stayed there one day extra. I highly recommend this property if your objective is to rejuvenate.

Room Tip: First Floor of the Villa
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vipin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Location:
Hotel Dev Cottage is situated in Dharamkot which is approximately 2.5 - 3 km (10-15 mins drive) away from McleodGanj. A taxi will charge not more than Rs. 100 from Mcleod Ganj bus stand. Dev Cottage is surrounded by dense deodhar trees with scenic backdrop of mountains. It is nestled in an extremely peaceful and quiet place away from the horns & honks of the city. It is at a walkable distance to Bhagsunag waterfall and mcleodganj market.

Accommodation:
Dev Cottages are not actually cottages but very cleverly built and designed multi-storey rooms. We stayed in Deluxe Room on the first floor. The rooms were clean and neatly kept. Bathroom toiletries (2 towels, soap, geyser, wiper), tea/coffee maker, emergency light, television, telephone, dressing table, wardrobe, sofa, fan, centre table were available in the room. Room service was very fast, staff was very courteous and helpful. The rooms had tiled flooring, curtains, large windows which could opened.

Food:
The menu is not very wide, mostly paneer items are available. Most of the items in the menu were not available. Once we ordered veg biryani for dinner and were disappointed, though paranthas and bread toast served in breakfast were good.

Overall a good stay :) Recommended for all...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaliniMassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the hotel last month only. The hotel staff is efficient and warm. the are very helpfull and the hotel's services are good. The hotel is located in dharamkot; just 5 minutes walk from Mcleodganj, which is a noisy town. The location is good as dharamkot is quieter than Mcleodganj. The hotel has a huge garden full of pure green grass. The owner Dr. Kumar is extremely warm, welcoming, hospitable, polite and decent. Any problem or you want any other help, he is the one to be consulted. The rooms have woodern flooring which make the room warm. The other parts are clean.
I would like to suggest this hotel to all those who want to relax in between the mountains away from noise.
Know more.....By atleast once visiting the hotel.

Room Tip: I you want the normal deluxe rooms..the ask for a room in any of the 4 cottages next to the receptio...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GauravKhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Its simply the best . Situated 10 mins drive above Mcleodgang , its a paradise . covered with pine trees, over looking the mountains. The cottages r awesum. we booked the whole suite floor, these 2 rooms were inter connected as we were a big family with old parents and infant kid.. for every1 it proved to be a ideal place for vacation. The Owner Dr Kumar is one of the finest person in hospitality business. Service is with smile and food is excellent. no need to take the car to mcleodgang if u wana visit the market, simply take a taxi , they charge nominal 100 bucks . Strongly recommend ne 1 who wants to stay in dharamshala, mcleodgang area to stay at Dev cottage ....

Room Tip: Choose rooms at higher height
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Varunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Been there last week only. This hotel is situated very beautifully among the deodar trees of Dhauladhar range of mountains. Has well connectivity by foot/by vehicle to all the places. Staff is extremely courteous and polite. The manager, Mr. Kumar, is very suave and knowledgeable and polite and helpful. We even saw him helping his staff in the kitchen. The rooms were adequately furnished and neat. Had a lovely stay there with the kids and everyone on the trip unanimously agreed that this was the best trip we have had so far. Kudos and all the best for the future.

Kavita Mansukhani

Room Tip: go for the ones above Rs.2000/- or if you can afford, get the ones prices more than that as they are...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaviom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Nestled in the hills above McLeod Ganj, the place is a good option to stay. Just a couple of kilometres from the craziness of McLeod Ganj, it is a good place to find even more peace and quiet. Although the road up to Dharamkot, where the hotel is located, is steep, the autos going up and down make it very bearable.

Positives:
Decent sized rooms, except for the ones on second floor which are really small.
Clean toilets with hot water
Big bed enough for two adults and a child
Clean room and linens.
Big open grounds with an amazing view. Quiet and relaxing.
Decent and friendly staff.

Negatives:
Restaurant food is very poor quality. Even the breakfast served was cold and awful.
Room service (for food) is very slow. They take an hour for everything.
Our friend's room on the second floor was very small (same price as ours)
Road down to the hotel from the main road is narrow with dangerous curves.

On the whole,a decent place to stay if you are not averse to going down to the city to eat often.

Room Tip: Take the cottages only. Avoid the the rooms on the second floor of the main building or the basement...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sameer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dharamsala
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gagan Resorts
Gagan Resorts
#56 of 78 in Dharamsala
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#9 of 78 in Dharamsala
154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Holiday Hill
Hotel Holiday Hill
#2 of 50 in McLeod Ganj
183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dharamkot Inn
Dharamkot Inn
#1 of 4 in Dharamkot
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dev Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dev Cottage

Address: Dharamkot | Near Macleodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range: £26 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Dev Cottage Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing