We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Meghavan Holiday Resort
Ranked #62 of 150 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

good hotel, good staff , good budget three star hotel, nice place good location, Rooms in this hotel was very good, interior of the room was fantastic. It was spacious as well, so that any guest will not feel congested

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank 245bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Kumars07, Guest Relations Manager at Meghavan Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we take immense pride in the fact that we work to make our guests feel at home. Feedback like this motivate the entire team to preform even better and more efficiently.
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hotel is situated near Bhagsunag Mandir and Bhagsunag Waterfall. It is bit upper than main place of Dharamshala i.e Mcloedganj. Rooms in this hotel was very good, interior of the room was fantastic. It was spacious as well, so that any guest will not feel congested. We did not tried the food for many time, but the breakfast was awesome. Hotel has small garden as well, that was very much near to our room as our room was on ground floor. People were good and understandable. Overall a very nice and value for money hotel.!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANISH_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Kumars07, Guest Relations Manager at Meghavan Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking out time to share you experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we take immense pride in the fact that we work to make our guests feel at home. Feedback like this motivate the entire team to preform even better and more efficiently. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at Meghavan for two nights.

First things first - Meghavan is not in Dharamsala; neither in McLoedganj. It's in a small place called Bhagsunag (where the Bhagsu waterfall is located), which is about 2 kms further up from McLoedganj.

Around April onward, this area (Bhagsunag) turns into a hub for Israelis. Indians will find themselves outnumbered by Israelis around that time. Also, that is the time when there is a lot of life in the area (bakeries, massage parlors etc).

Back to Meghavan now. Meghavan is on a steep climb of about half a minute on foot and easily accessible from the road.

It's easy to spot, too.

Remember on thing - you don't have many great hotels in the area. And this one would be a 'decent' one. I am not sure of the star rating, but it's a hotel where you can take your family to. You just have to be a little careful about many things though.

Good things:
- They have a decent car park that can accommodate about 5 to 10 cars easily. This is a BIG plus for that area.
- You can do a lot of negotiation on the rates. So, don't book on phone (and don't pay advance) if you're not going in peak season. Just head to the reception and talk to them.
- I personally believe the rates were not that high compared to the value you'd get. And yes, do negotiate.
- The local wine shop, pool room, Bhagsu temple are all nearby. The location (even in the small Bhagsu village is pretty decent).
- They have an excellent garden and sitting area next to the parking. You can spend a lot of quality time there. You can even manage some beers there if you don't make a lot of noise.
- Nice, wooden flooring.
- Decent room size. By no standard would you call it small (we stayed in a classic room).

Bad things:
- The cold drinks in their mini bar were all expired. Be careful.
- If you don't want the bill, they won't tax you. This may be good for some people... but eventually, it's a bad thing, right?
- Don't go by the room categories and corresponding prices basis their words. The reception guys are a little deceitful. Check for yourself the different categories of rooms first. They may show a smaller category of room and call it the 'classic' one. Just be a little careful.
- The lighting in rooms is a bit poor.
- There are many wash room issues. Check the wash room before booking the room.
- Hotel staff stares at you. Not the friendliest of staff I'd say.
- Ground, first, and second floor... no lift.
- Curtains are not good. It is tough to cover all windows angles.
- No sound proofing. You can easily hear what's going on outside.
- Tissue rolls provided by them are pretty small. And strangely, they told me they won't give two of them at a time. Only one at a time.
- You have to keep the tap running for quite some time to get hot water. This results in a lot of wastage.
- There are no views as such. But of course, you can see the mountains.

Note: I did not try hotel food, so can't comment.

Overall: There are many negatives and few positives of this place. However, personally, I think some people will find good value for money here... but you need to be careful. And yes, it's a place you can stay with your family.

Room Tip: Check the rooms of different categories (and corresponding wash rooms). I liked the Classic room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kshitij K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Kumars07, Guest Relations Manager at Meghavan Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we take immense pride in the fact that we work to make our guests feel at home. Feedback like this motivate the entire team to preform even better and more efficiently. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is located in Mc leodganj,which is quite good.
The view from the room is just ok.The room is quite clean and spacious.
Though they have a solar heater,you get good hot water.
Food is average.But we tried in a nearby restaurant called RASOI,which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel-the food in rasoi is very good and affordable.
For the rent they charge and the location in Mcleodganj and the clean room,the stay here
Value for money.
Mcleodganj has too much traffic jam and parking is a problem.But luckily this hotel has a
Parking space and is close to the Tibetan monastery(2.5 km)

Room Tip: choose a room which has a reasonably good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Its a very good hotel or rather holiday resort. Though we had only 1 nite stay, but we wanted to stay more after seeing the rooms and the way it was kept clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkv1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

i stayed at Meghavan from 15/12/2010 to 17/12/2010 and this was the worst experience of my life. Food (Vegetarian,as i am vegetarian)s not good . There is no communication between there marketing department and hotel staff,my accommodation was booked very a week before but at hotel no one knows about that, i got there poor room and staff is not helping.
The stay was a nightmare to us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShashwatSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Very cool place ans excellent views and rooms are so clean and friendly enviroment.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shivimdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dharamsala
0.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#16 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 36 in Dalhousie
1,784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 79 in Dharamsala
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meghavan Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meghavan Holiday Resort

Address: Bhagsunag, Near McLeodganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range: £32 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meghavan Holiday Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Meghavan Holiday Resort Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing