We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Property, not maitained properly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dharamsala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Dhauladhar - HPTDC
Ranked #28 of 146 Dharamsala B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old Property, not maitained properly”
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This is an HPTDC hotel and you should not expect a nice treatment here. My first shock came during check in when even after having a confirmed booking i was told that the same was cancelled as they had a Regional Cricket Team visiting and hence all the rooms have been allotted to them. I had some connections in the Print Media and after making few calls, i was given a room in the hotel. The rooms are quite big and spacious. The Washrooms are so bigger than certain rooms in a budget hotel. However the cleaniness leaves a lot to be desired. the Curtains, Towels, washroom....everything was full of dust and bugs. We asked the hotel attendent thrice for cleaner towels but the best he could manage were still unusable for us.
The Rooms are so big that Normal Room heater are not effective in them. The Restaurent had good ambience. the food quality was fine. The location of this hotel is a plus as this is located right int he heart of Dharamshala. You have a spendid view of the Dhauladhar range from the hotel.
There are few options available in Dharamshala, however i feel if possible this hotel should be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alokbishnoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    29
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I have booked this hotel in feb 2010 as last leg of our trip to Vaishno devi & Himachal, keeping in mind its proximity to the bus stop where we had our bus back to delhi.

We have visited a few hotels in our 2 weeks long trip, but probably this was the most relaxing. The rooms are spacious with matching interiors from bedsheets to curtains to carpets. Rooms have an attached balcony that open to let you see one of the most beautiful sunsets.
Its open air restraunt is the best place to have morning breakfast or evening tea....! The food & service of the staff is icing on the cake. They will try their best to make you feel comfortable.
The location of hotel in the heart of the city only makes is more desirable as you can spend the evenings in doing some window shopping from the nearby Himachal tourism shops or visit the himachal museum or you can take a bus from the nearby main Dharamshala busstop to Mcleod ganj which is just an hour away.

Overall a very pleasant experience that left me in no doubt in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank varun_cloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I stayed at Hotel Dhauladhar with my wife last year. Overall experience was good. Place has warm rooms & soothing aesthetics. It also offers great view of the Dhauladhar mountain range & lovely Kangra valley.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishPuri11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttar Pradesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We had Planned our holidays almost a Fortnight in advance. It was our first visit to Dhauladhar Circuit
(Dharamsala - Palampur - Dalhousie - Khajjiar - Chamba) in HP.
Based upon the feedback of One of my friends who had stayed at the Dhauladhar I searched for the details of hotel on Internet. Upon finding satisfactory details, I opted to Book my Room in advance, which is quite simple( you have to visit HPTDC Official website).Upon arriving at Dharamsala, we found the hotel to be centrally located, having one end opening at the main mall road and the other showing you the panoramic view of Dhauladhar Range. The rooms are Good enough, Clean, with Power Back up and all the facilities a decent hotel should have. The Restaurant is probably one of the Best in Dharamshala and serves excellent food. The Food /Room Rents are reasonably priced. Overall it's a Value for Money.

  • Liked — Location, Food, Rooms
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MASTKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#8 of 77 in Dharamsala
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pong View Hotel
Pong View Hotel
#28 of 77 in Dharamsala
117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#6 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Centre Point
Hotel Centre Point
#22 of 77 in Dharamsala
51 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel
Mount View Hotel
#34 of 77 in Dharamsala
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhauladhar - HPTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhauladhar - HPTDC

Property: The Dhauladhar - HPTDC
Address: Kotwali Bazar, Dharamsala 176215, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Dharamsala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
The Dhauladhar - HPTDC Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing