We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Dalai Lama Temple Complex
Book In Advance
More Info
US$112.00*
and up
Dharamshala Tibetan Heritage and Nature Day Tour
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in Dharamsala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
709 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I felt the presence and calm as soon as we entered the space. There are always monks around to answer any questions and be sure to check out the history museum on the way in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshishGuptasfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    350
    114
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very Peaceful & Pleasant Place”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

it is a very Peaceful & Pleasant Place
it has a Very nice architecture. Very big idol of Buddha & nice clean place.
we enjoyed a soul refreshing experience there

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dkvyas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peace”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

very very good place to visit It is very peacefuul place .It is also know as Mcleodagane i t is temporary home of Dalailama

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vinayt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location is perfect for meditation. The backdrop of dhauladhar and stay of his holiness - Dalai Lama. you cannot ask more.

It does not allow camera which I didn't understand. I think it should because people spread the greatness of this place on social media :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Road_Traveller_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

You cannot take your camera and mobile phone inside. Do make it a point to sit inside the prayer room while the monks are chanting. Its very peaceful. The complex is spacious and you can spend some peaceful time around. I was all serious while they chanted and sat there for long. In the interval the monks took Thumps Up cans and the can was opened with oozing sound. That was when I couldnt help but smile. It was so silent. I could hear that sound alone as if it was a live Thumbs Up ad. :D And on the offering slab, I could see packets of chocopie. I know... the wrong observations. But I just found these so unique. Couldnt help noticing. Interesting and cool.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aparajita12i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalai Lama Temple Complex also viewed

McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
Dharamsala, Kangra District
 
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala
 

Been to Dalai Lama Temple Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing