We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Dharamsala
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had one of the best holiday trip this time, the hotel is very nice with good rooms. on one side of the hotel is a road and on the other side a beautiful river flowing. I would definitely recommend the place. the only thing they need to take care is the room service. the food is good , restaurant is good. would love visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneesh440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I visited this place along with my family in March and we stayed there for 3 nights. The hotel is very nice and the rooms and beautiful. On one side of the hotel you have a peaceful road and on the other side you have a river flowing. We took two rooms, one facing the road and other facing the river. Overall experience was very good and we would definitely recommend the place. The only thing to take care is that they are a bit slow in their room service. We highlighted the same to the person incharge of room service and he did acknowledge it. The solution was that we used to order our food atleast 20 min before we wanted to eat and when the food was ready, this staff will call us and we went to the restaurant to have it..that worked out pretty fine :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikasdhawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had family vacation with kids (6 year old twins) & stayed for 4 nights. Property is good & well maintained. It's very cynic location on the banks of a river & also has a good activity center. However the service is poor, especially the policy of not changing linen & towels etc. daily. Food is also OK & not much variety / options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chintan_n_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Perhaps one the best holidays. It was so peaceful, clean & comfortable rooms, impeccable service and very good food. My timeshare eligibility was two 1BR units accommodating 8 adults. Since the hotel has only double rooms, they gave me 4 dbl rooms instead, to our delight. We were a large group, my elderly parents, my son, husband, my 1yr old niece, my brother, sis-in-law and her mother. Everyone need was taken care of. It was truly wonderful. The room are either with a view of the Dhauladhar mountains or the little mountain river. This place is close to Norbulingka insitute, a little out of main Dharamsala town. You need to have your own transport to move around. Also missing is a gym and swimming pool, but they have a Spa. A perfect setting for just chilling out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

There were 04 of us, My Mother & me... and My Cousin & his Wife, in 02 Dbl Rooms for a four nite vacation, in the Middle-of-July 2013.

The location of the Hotel is beautiful, with a 360degree view of the mountains wrapped around on three sides and a gurgling mountain brook flowing on the other side.
You could spend hours sitting on the balcony of the room... or gazing out through the French-Windows..

It is serene and makes for beautiful walks in and around Norbulingka.... and a climb down to the brook. You have direct access to it from the hotel itself…enjoy sitting around soaking in the surroundings. If you have the time and inclination, go to the terrace and watch the sunset – it’s lovely.

We were there in the midst of the monsoons & the clouds would come floating down into the valley.... an awesome feeling to be surrounded by that mist.
The Staff is very friendly & approachable...and quick to help.

But the F&B SERVICE Department really needs to pull up their socks.... not so much the food quality...but the variety.... not so much the eagerness of the service staff... But the time taken for the food to come onto your table!
The food at the restaurant takes forever to be made. The first day when we checked in, we were ravenous but were made to wait for an hour for lunch!
However, all the food is freshly made.
From thereon, we would order our meals about 45mins in advance, and go to the restaurant at the stipulated time....so we didn't have to wait.

We really enjoyed our stay here. The place is clean & comfortable, good service, tea coffee makers in the room, etc...although basic 3-star standards but well maintained

We quite enjoyed our stay here. Especially enjoyed the location, which made for serene, picturesque and peaceful walks around Norbulingka.

ASK for the Rooms at the Back of the Hotel that face the Mountain-River!

Room Tip: ASK for the Rooms at the Back of the Hotel that face the Mountain-River! The perennial gurgling sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kushal-Chatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I travelled to Dharamshala and Dalhousie in the month of March 2014. We arrived Gaggal airport and drove to our first stop, The Sterling Sanctuary near Norbulingka.

The Sterling Sanctuary – Well, first the pros, beautiful views from the hotel. The snowcapped mountains on one side and the perennial brook flowing on the other side. You can see the snowcapped mountains from your bed itself. And I enjoyed waking up to that view in the morning. Location is lovely too. It is serene and makes for beautiful walks in and around Norbulingka.

If you’re a nature lover, like I am, then you can climb down to the brook. You have direct access to it from the hotel itself…enjoy sitting around soaking in the surroundings. If you have the time and inclination, go to the terrace and watch the sunset – it’s lovely.

In the evenings, you can pass your time at the recreation center, they have a TT table, caroms table, karaoke, video games for the kids and a baddi court too.

The Cons, the food at the restaurant takes forever to be made. The first day when we checked in, we were ravenous but were made to wait for an hour for lunch! On the bright side, lunch was freshly made just for us. So, my advice is, do what we did for dinner. We placed our order well in advance. Played a couple of games of table tennis at their recreation centre, worked up an appetite and then enjoyed our dinner.

The hotel itself is more like a high end 2 star or maybe 3 star property. We enjoyed our stay here. clean, comfortable, good service, tea coffee makers in the room, hot shower (but only at specific times in the day – the timings suited us fine, so we had no problems. Of course, if you want to have a shower at 10.30 in the night…you might have to put in a request at the reception).

We quite enjoyed our stay here. Especially enjoyed the location, which made for serene, picturesque and peaceful walks around Norbulingka.

Room Tip: We got a room on the 4th floor, adjacent to the terrace. The terrace is a lovely place to relax and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KapsKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A small property for Sterling standards. It needs improvement in the F&B Departments. The advantage in staying in this place is that you can get to visit by walk the Norbulingka Institute of Tibetian Arts and Culture, which I found is a peaceful heaven in Dharmasala.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dharamsala hotels
5.3 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
427 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
704 reviews
5.2 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Inclover
Hotel Inclover
#10 of 79 in Dharamsala
156 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#20 of 79 in Dharamsala
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 79 in Dharamsala
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dharamshala - The Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dharamshala - The Sanctuary

Address: Near Norbulingka Sidhpur-Khanyara Road,Mohli | Near Norbulingka Sidhpur-Khanyara Road, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Dharamsala
Price Range: £36 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dharamshala - The Sanctuary 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dharamshala is a breathtaking snow clad locale with pine slopes, verdant terrain, gurgling streams, deciduous forests and monasteries. Located within all this natural beauty lies Dharamshala – The Sanctuary, a Sterling Holidays resort, revealing the real, untouched beauty of Mother Nature. The Sanctuary is a full-service resort with modern comforts and majestic views of gurgling, perennial brooks and the Dhauladhar range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dharamshala - The Sanctuary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dharamshala - The Sanctuary Dharamsala, India, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing