We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““ Great Value, Stunning Views, Good Food””
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #9 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Sidney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
““ Great Value, Stunning Views, Good Food””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent property and very comfortable stay. The view from our cottages were to die for. With the fields on one side and the Tungabhadra river flowing on another.The host Mr. Srinivas and Mr. Viru were extremely helpful and accomodative. Extremely reasonable and amazing food. In short value for money. The little pink cottages are delightful - and having the outside space with the swing beds is great. Definetly will recommend it to anyone visiting Hampi.

Room Tip: Rooms/Cottages facing the river and/or paddy fields with the swing bed or cane swing are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susena696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    151
    53
    18
    23
See reviews for
54
127
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Mowgli Guest House is a really friendly, chilled out place to stay in Hampi. The rooms are good value, the views are stunning and there is a decent restaurant attached as well. Recommended and the staff were very helpful as well. The staffs are friendly. Recommended to try pizza and food quality is really good. Have a wide range of dishes. We stayed in the river view rooms overlooking the paddy fields. An early morning walk across the paddy fields leading to the river would be a great experience. One could see Hampi monuments from the paddy fields. Rooms are reasonably priced. Suggest the management to make arrangements for an alma rah for baggage storage. Pick the ones facing the paddy fields and river view.

Room Tip: Pick the ones facing the paddy fields - best would be with a swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicarose68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Mowgli in February. We had to cross the river but we loved it. In fact the river crossing added to our holiday. The room was great, clean and with a shower. We didn't have air con which worried me when we booked, but it was quite cool in the evening so we didn't need it. We had a wonderful view at the back of our room over the paddy fields and river.

The staff were really friendly and the service was great, as was the food. It was so relaxing coming back to Mowgli after a hot and tiring day visiting the sights in Hampi.

We were approached on the train from Goa by a Tuk Tuk driver called Pash. We were a bit unsure at first but he took us to the hotel and showed us around Hampi for the rest of our stay and I would certainly recommend him. As we had to leave for the train station early in the morning on our last day we had a taxi arranged by the hotel which worked out really well.

I would certainly recommend Mowgli for anyone visiting Hampi. Just one thing you need to take a towel, a toilet roll (although you can buy them there) and toiletries.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scattyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Arrived 2 hours before Check In time, however the rooms were arranged and provided to us. We hired bikes from the hotel for the sight seeing and everything was easy. The river view rooms provided an excellent view of the fields and the river across. Two things which I did not like about this place were
1) Food was not good at all and was costly too
2) Special consideration to foreigners which might be good for others

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 10 days here and loved almost every minute. We had the river view rooms, as opposed to the pretty little huts, and it was lovely. The views are amazing and I spent hours sitting in the swing seat, not needing or wanting to do anything. The staff here are all friendly and helpful, the food is great and the atmosphere chilled and relaxed. but the room itself was perfect. especially the oven baked pizzas. It is a great place to relax with lovely river views and swimming a stones throw away. It also has a fantastic range of facilities from a motorbike hire, with internet with wifi and laundry service available. All in all a great place to meet new people.Thanks to all the Mowgli's staff for their top class service. As soon as you arrived at he reception, you receive a warm welcome. The bungalows in front of the rice fields give you a great sight view. The best place to relax and enjoy Hampi's visit.

Room Tip: Go for rooms facing paddy fields for nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boon34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The place has a nice sitting area with a good view of paddy fields and river. But then, most of the guest houses there have the same. This place is extremely understaffed and whatever staff is there is extremely rude. No one comes and asks you for order and even when you call them, they tend to visibly ignore you. Food there was really pathetic. It was under cooked and when we tried to tell this to the staff, they did nothing about it. All this is such a contrast because anywhere else you go in Hampi, people are extremely helpful and cordial. It can be a nice place with better staff and management.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chan2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The location is excellent, looking over the rice fields to the river and if you want peace and quiet choose a 1st floor room not a hut. However the restaurant leaves much to be desired, the place is covered in flies and I got very sick after eating here. (vomiting all night). The manager is sullen and unhelpful and although we had paid for food and drinks ordered as we had them, they tried as we were leaving to stick another 450 IR on the bill for food we hadnt had. The waiters could do with a course in how to serve customers as in general they werent very interested in providing a service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.8 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
0.5 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Property: Mowgli Guest House
Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing