We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice quite place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #9 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“nice quite place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Nice and peaceful. The star is their staff memeber Gopi. Food is excellent. Some problems with ants, but its india I guess, the tropics. Worth checking out.Its far better then any other hotel mentioned in Lonely planet.

Room Tip: get the huts by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sham420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    150
    52
    18
    22
See reviews for
54
125
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are seriously dirty and ridden with bugs including fleas and cockroaches, to name but a few and loads of dead bugs...everywhere. There are no mosquito nets. The bathroom water was BROWN! The bathroom and sink were dirty and covered in slime. The bedding was covers in bugs and the towels were soiled. It's also quite a walk from the river boat.... But that was obviously the least of our worries... Just don't stay there.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My boyfriend and I and some friends, all in our mid-30s, and one friend's parents, stayed at Mowgli this week for 5 nights. I felt compelled to write a review as I was impressed with the value we experienced for the price we paid (Rs 1000/night). The beach huts are simple, cozy and well-kept, the food was fantastic, and the service went above and beyond (the owners and staff were exceedingly helpful on several occasions). The location was very convenient for us; about a 10-minute walk from the ferry from Hampi Bazaar. Every evening, retired to the swinging hammocks in front of our rooms, watching the sun set over the rice paddies before heading back to the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria3562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Excellent property and very comfortable stay. The view from our cottages were to die for. With the fields on one side and the Tungabhadra river flowing on another.The host Mr. Srinivas and Mr. Viru were extremely helpful and accomodative. Extremely reasonable and amazing food. In short value for money. The little pink cottages are delightful - and having the outside space with the swing beds is great. Definetly will recommend it to anyone visiting Hampi.

Room Tip: Rooms/Cottages facing the river and/or paddy fields with the swing bed or cane swing are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susena696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Mowgli Guest House is a really friendly, chilled out place to stay in Hampi. The rooms are good value, the views are stunning and there is a decent restaurant attached as well. Recommended and the staff were very helpful as well. The staffs are friendly. Recommended to try pizza and food quality is really good. Have a wide range of dishes. We stayed in the river view rooms overlooking the paddy fields. An early morning walk across the paddy fields leading to the river would be a great experience. One could see Hampi monuments from the paddy fields. Rooms are reasonably priced. Suggest the management to make arrangements for an alma rah for baggage storage. Pick the ones facing the paddy fields and river view.

Room Tip: Pick the ones facing the paddy fields - best would be with a swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicarose68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Mowgli in February. We had to cross the river but we loved it. In fact the river crossing added to our holiday. The room was great, clean and with a shower. We didn't have air con which worried me when we booked, but it was quite cool in the evening so we didn't need it. We had a wonderful view at the back of our room over the paddy fields and river.

The staff were really friendly and the service was great, as was the food. It was so relaxing coming back to Mowgli after a hot and tiring day visiting the sights in Hampi.

We were approached on the train from Goa by a Tuk Tuk driver called Pash. We were a bit unsure at first but he took us to the hotel and showed us around Hampi for the rest of our stay and I would certainly recommend him. As we had to leave for the train station early in the morning on our last day we had a taxi arranged by the hotel which worked out really well.

I would certainly recommend Mowgli for anyone visiting Hampi. Just one thing you need to take a towel, a toilet roll (although you can buy them there) and toiletries.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scattyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Arrived 2 hours before Check In time, however the rooms were arranged and provided to us. We hired bikes from the hotel for the sight seeing and everything was easy. The river view rooms provided an excellent view of the fields and the river across. Two things which I did not like about this place were
1) Food was not good at all and was costly too
2) Special consideration to foreigners which might be good for others

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
0.6 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#11 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
0.2 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Property: Mowgli Guest House
Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mowgli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing