We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, affordable, best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #9 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Inchanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, affordable, best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A really awesome place, Quiet and tranquil! The restaurant is very good and the rooms clean. We really enjoyed our time here. The staff were friendly and helpful. We spent 6 days here and enjoyed every minute of it. The inconsistent electricity and numerous insects may put off some but coming from South Africa, we are fairly accustomed to it.

Room Tip: We chose the upper floor room in the concrete block building, the room under the tree. It had awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    151
    53
    18
    23
See reviews for
54
127
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

we are just back from Karnataka where Hampi has been the highlight of it all. we stayed at the Mowgli guest house - across the Tungabhadra river - in Virupapur Gaddi. the place is one of the most friendly nice comfortable place we stayed while traveling.
the family who runs the guest house is really nice and Srinivas does everything he can to make you feel good - which he fully succeed. Many thanks to him and to the hard working staff for the kind assistance and warm hospitality. which was absolutely gorgeous so we would definitely recommend requesting a room overlooking the rice paddies.

Room Tip: Rooms/Cottages facing the river and/or paddy fields with the swing bed or cane swing are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miller503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

What an amazing place! A quite, fantastic, unforgettable guesthouse! I spent 4 days at the Mowgli Guesthouse and I still remember the wonderful atmosphere; the nice bungalows with the amazing views of the sunset/sunrise; the nice and kind staff; the good food and the enjoyable rest room/restaurant where you could lie down/sit for a mean, a drink or just to read a book and you could just think: is it a dream? No… fortunately it is real!!

Room Tip: The view, the beauty of nature around, the kindness of people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph321806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The worst place I have ever stayed. I was only there for one night and that was bad enough. Staff were beyond rude and unhelpful. Room was disgusting. Blood stains on sink AND towels. Bugs everywhere(which I was fine with but waking up with the on your face was a bit much).

The food was their only saving grace. Don't stay here. Stay down the road.

Room Tip: don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Huts: Cute organized and clean. Attached to them a clean toilet with a good shower. in front of every hut there is a bed swing and a mattress to relax and read.
Atmosphere: Hampi is a relaxing place and Mowgli adds to this atmosphere. Surrounded by mango trees and plants with cute café viewing the horizon with comfy floor sitting and low tables to serve you good food. A unique place to stay at. In low season I paid 400 rupees per hut (double room).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZKZ15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights. Nice and peaceful. The star is their staff memeber Gopi. Food is excellent. Some problems with ants, but its india I guess, the tropics. Worth checking out.Its far better then any other hotel mentioned in Lonely planet.

Room Tip: get the huts by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sham420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms are seriously dirty and ridden with bugs including fleas and cockroaches, to name but a few and loads of dead bugs...everywhere. There are no mosquito nets. The bathroom water was BROWN! The bathroom and sink were dirty and covered in slime. The bedding was covers in bugs and the towels were soiled. It's also quite a walk from the river boat.... But that was obviously the least of our worries... Just don't stay there.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.8 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#10 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
0.5 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Property: Mowgli Guest House
Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing