We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Mowgli Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mowgli Guest House
Ranked #9 of 44 Hampi B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I spent on Mowgli guest house at Hampi 4 nights. The place is clean and nice. Breakfast and dinner are good and the staff is very friendly. There is a hammock for each room in which you can relax . you can do laundry, rent a bike, buy fruits nearby. I love this place

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    153
    53
    18
    23
See reviews for
54
128
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Would like to say that the first impression of this place may be below average but it truly manages to offer a awesome experience and some soul searching moments.

The moment I eneterd this property I felt disappointment... while finishing the formalities at the reception I was further worried about the experience i would carry back...was further demotivated by seeing the small and not so well maintained cottage and disgruntled on seeing the bathroom !!
how i had then wished i could go to someother place, but it was a peak season coupled with a weekend and i knew it may be next to imposiible to get something else and so had no choice but to stay here for next three nights i was there in Hampi !

Maybe i started with such low expectations that after three days, i so yearned to stay there for at least a night more....

The rooms are not very well kept, they are basic...but offer some of the nest views. We had paddy fields right across and a river flowing just next to it. The sunset and sunrise are both visible from here and they cast lovely reflections of light on the calm waters of the paddy fields.
After a tiring day exploring the ruins of hampi, one can just relax on the big family 'jhoola' and gaze at the stars in the peaceful nights only interrupted by the sounds of the night birds and insects !

The food is another thing which deserves a thumbs up...from freshly made ginger-honey-tea to infront-of-your-eyes-wood-fired-pizzas to various other gourmet cusines on the menu to the ones specially created for you as per your request, the food was just awesome and we ate like how !! the view of the river next to this low lying sitting arrangement is another feature worth mentioning.

I loved the experience Hampi had to offer and this place probably just added to it in its own way.

Some cleanliness and little more professional approach may help !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekRast0gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The room was very dirty and full of ants and bugs. The food was mostly OK but sometimes it was terrible. The young Nepali boys who work there are very nice but the manager is disgusting.

We booked an air-conditioned room but the power was rarely on so we barely used it, literally had it for 10 mins - not their fault, its isolated so the power goes out regularly but we were'nt happy to pay for air-con when we couldn't use it. We tried to speak to the manger several times but he was never there so we could only speak to the staff. When we checked out we spoke to him about it but he said we should have spoke to him about it before not his staff!!?! Eventually he gave a discount on the room but did it in a very angry aggressive way.

When we paid we asked to see a break down of what we were paying for as we'd charged a lot of the food to our room. He got angry and said that we should trust him. My husband tried to explain that it wasn't an issue of trust but he just became more rude. He said he would charge us 3% of the value for a receipt! He then said we couldn't pay by machine now and we would have to go to the ATM 40 mins away. After some arguing he let us pay by machine. The jokes on him because we later worked out that he must have undercharged us a we'd charged more food to the room than he charged us for.

We travelled for two months in India, budget accommodation mostly and this was one of the worst place we've stayed. Avoid avoid avoid!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the other hotels on the same strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowen_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inchanga, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A really awesome place, Quiet and tranquil! The restaurant is very good and the rooms clean. We really enjoyed our time here. The staff were friendly and helpful. We spent 6 days here and enjoyed every minute of it. The inconsistent electricity and numerous insects may put off some but coming from South Africa, we are fairly accustomed to it.

Room Tip: We chose the upper floor room in the concrete block building, the room under the tree. It had awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillylama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

we are just back from Karnataka where Hampi has been the highlight of it all. we stayed at the Mowgli guest house - across the Tungabhadra river - in Virupapur Gaddi. the place is one of the most friendly nice comfortable place we stayed while traveling.
the family who runs the guest house is really nice and Srinivas does everything he can to make you feel good - which he fully succeed. Many thanks to him and to the hard working staff for the kind assistance and warm hospitality. which was absolutely gorgeous so we would definitely recommend requesting a room overlooking the rice paddies.

Room Tip: Rooms/Cottages facing the river and/or paddy fields with the swing bed or cane swing are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miller503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

What an amazing place! A quite, fantastic, unforgettable guesthouse! I spent 4 days at the Mowgli Guesthouse and I still remember the wonderful atmosphere; the nice bungalows with the amazing views of the sunset/sunrise; the nice and kind staff; the good food and the enjoyable rest room/restaurant where you could lie down/sit for a mean, a drink or just to read a book and you could just think: is it a dream? No… fortunately it is real!!

Room Tip: The view, the beauty of nature around, the kindness of people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph321806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The worst place I have ever stayed. I was only there for one night and that was bad enough. Staff were beyond rude and unhelpful. Room was disgusting. Blood stains on sink AND towels. Bugs everywhere(which I was fine with but waking up with the on your face was a bit much).

The food was their only saving grace. Don't stay here. Stay down the road.

Room Tip: don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.8 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#14 of 44 in Hampi
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 44 in Hampi
279 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 44 in Hampi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowgli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowgli Guest House

Property: Mowgli Guest House
Address: Hampiriver Road | Virupapura Gaddi, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Mowgli Guest House Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing