We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation - with A/C”
Review of Gopi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gopi Guest House
Ranked #5 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very pleasant staff manage this little hotel in the heart of the bazaar - close to the main sites and the river.
Great roof top restaurant which serves good food and is a great place to hang around for a few hours during he heat of he afternoon.

Hampi is going through major changes as the Indian archeological survey is removing high rise(three storey) buildings and those that encroach on the ruins. This means the bazaar has shrunk making it less crowded, but in peak season it could be hard to get somewhere to stay.

Whist appreciating the need to protect this world heritage site! Te Indian authorities need to understand tat the car of Hampi is he close relationship between the past and e urgent living immunity. If it becomes a 'dead site' it will be only a fraction of the value of te visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed at the Gopi Guest House for 2 nights (the new wing). The most important thing to note when making a decision to stay in Hampi city is that all the options are very basic, no frills options. There is no major development allowed within the city (much like Tajganj in Agra) and one needs to compromise on creature comforts if one wants to enjoy Hampi city by night.

Knowing this, I was prepared for staying in a basic room. The only thing I came looking for was a clean room. Luckily we got that at Gopi guest house. The other saving grace was the presence of an a/c, the importance of which cannot be understated. The food in the rooftop restaurant was very decent and worth repeating. The folk were also able to get our car into the city for us to park right outside the building, which helps, since you can stuck badly in the mayhem of the bus stand.

On a aside, one should be prepared for systematic power outages every evening at Hampi if staying in the city. The commercial establishments should not be held responsible for this.

All in all, one of the more decent options to stay within Hampi City.

Room Tip: New wing, new wing, new wing....with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We visited Hampi in November 2012. Good accommodation. Very courteous and friendly staff. Special mention is a must regarding the food, it's awesome. You don't need to go anywhere else... I would definitely recommend it to stay. Don't miss the roof top restaurant with the temple view.

Room Tip: Get a room In the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SasiP_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We got to Hampi after an endless train ride, so quite naturally we wanted to check in at Gopi asap (I had booked & paid for the room in advance). We were asked to wait a bit - turns our 'a bit' means an hour (FYI, it was around 5pm). Once we were finally taken to our "deluxe" room, it turned out to be filthy, dodgy and with leakage in the bathroom.
We refused to stay there (and believe me, I really am not a picky tourist - all I need is a clean bathroom and clean sheets).
As always, we had to haggle a bit, we then went to look around for another hotel (even if it meant losing the money I had paid online).
Thankfully, the owner arranged for us to stay in a hotel on the opposite side of the road, which was WAY better.

I would give Gopi a terrible/poor grade for that disgustingly dirty room they wanted to put us in, but I do appreciate that the staff came around and sent us to another hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZosMos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Super nice guesthouse in Hampi! I stayed in the 'old block' for 11 nights in a basic room which was very clean, light, big and comfortable with warm shower also. Perfect. The family that runs the guesthouse (and also the attached restaurant by the way), is super nice and hospitable. Always there to help you out or give any advice if you need it. Yeah, I really enjoyed my stay and can highly recommend this place to anyone. Also the rooftop restaurant with a nice view over the temple is so good, I had almost every breakfast, lunch and dinner during my stay there!

Room Tip: There are 2 blocks, the old block which provides basic rooms (I think they are very good and suitabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindahirzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed at Gopi for 3 weeks in Feb. , it's a good family run business , clean rooms , fan , hot water & mossie net , & as a bonus in India , quiet . Also a restaurant on the roof with good views all round . I'll definitely revisit when the time comes .

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank d r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The food is first class and the staff are very friendly. After a problem elsewhere we were made very welcome and our faith in human nature was restored. The food is excellent as is the service. Wi Fi is a big bonus here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
217 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
227 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
0.3 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#8 of 43 in Hampi
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gopi Guest House

Address: Hampi Village Centre, Near Virupaksha Temple, Hampi 583239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: £20 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gopi Guesthouse is a family run business since 1993 in the center of Hampi Village near Virupaksha Temple. Accommodations include 6 en suite rooms with AC in the new block and 8 en suite rooms in old block without AC. There is a rooftop restaurant, in the old block, with excellent views of the Virupaksha Temple and a warm ambiance in the evening. The restaurant serves well prepared food including Indian, Italian, Continental, Israeli, and Tibetan entrees. Our services include: Laundry service (charge), Room service, Travel Office (bus, train, air), Internet and WiFi (charge), Yoga mats provided (for practice on new block with river view), Taxi or auto day tours, Scooter and bicycle rentals, Walking tours with guide from sunrise to sunset, Plantation picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing