We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true taste of Hampi”
Review of Gopi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gopi Guest House
Ranked #3 of 45 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My partner and I spent 6 days in Hampi on our 2-month India trip. Hands down, Hampi was our favourite place! The service was outstanding. Veeru, who is one of the Guest House Managers, always checked up on us to ensure we were comfortable and content. Veeru also arranged for an autorickshaw (a wonderful guy named Madha) to pick us up from the Hospet train station, to bring us to Gopi Guest House. We recommend you do the same, to avoid any problems. Kiran, the other Guest House Manager, is full of life and was very generous to his guests. He's very enthusiastic and offered us a tonne of information about things to do and see in Hampi and surrounding area.

The food was extraordinary and the ambiance of their rooftop restaurant, even better. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this guest house, not least because it was very relaxing, but because the guests, food, service, and ambiance, all make for a terrific Hampi experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_ShahKochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Hi Tim,
Thank you so much for your review, its really inspiring us to concentrate on our guest house. n, once again thank you. we are looking forward to see you again, and to treat you more comfortable, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

this place was flooded with people because of which i decided to wall into the roof top restaurant that they had.. the people where very friendly, and from the second tome they see you, they share a sense of family with you.

the food was okay. the hyderabadi biryani tasted nothng like it. I'm guessing they prepare food accordimg to the taste of foreigners, which is quite sad because every foreigner i met was so confident about handling the Indian spice because they ate here..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Owner at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are sorry about the Hydrabadi Biriyani, which was not prepared according to the traditional recipe. Our cooks are from Nepal and still improving their Hydrabadi Biriyani skills. We would love to see you back sometime to give it another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was part of photography trip organised by Chennai Trekking Club. we where about 19 of us o13th Sept 2013 to 16th of sept.13 ....neat but basic rooms ,excellent food and services.....and they arrange u bicycles to go around hampi

Room Tip: take the higher room closer to restaurant and enjoy the breeze that flows across
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashoknpulliyerengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Owner at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear sir,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you back some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Gopi guest house has quite basic rooms - we stayed in the ground floor of the new block. As with most places we stayed in southern india, the bedding felt and smelt quite damp - but this may be due to the rainy season. The mosquito net was unusable but there wasn't a big problem with mosquitoes when we stayed in July. Friendly service throughout, and they were helpful for booking onward travel, tuktuks etc.. The restaurant was good and fairly priced. The room rate was OK but on hindsight we should have bargained more as the rate seemed flexible. The best thing about Gopi is the location - very central in Hampi bazaar. Overall, would recommend, but most places in Hampi are very similar so would scout around to see who is offering the cheapest price. Either way, the food is worth checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe-p-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

This review is actually for the restaurant, but I couldn't find a separate listing.

We were staying opposite at Rocky Guesthouse, but our first morning the kitchen wasn't open, so we at at Gopi and were very impressed. Nice breakfast food of pancakes and muesli etc at reasonable prices.
Also good wifi.

So good we came back the next day when our own kitchen was open again.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Very pleasant staff manage this little hotel in the heart of the bazaar - close to the main sites and the river.
Great roof top restaurant which serves good food and is a great place to hang around for a few hours during he heat of he afternoon.

Hampi is going through major changes as the Indian archeological survey is removing high rise(three storey) buildings and those that encroach on the ruins. This means the bazaar has shrunk making it less crowded, but in peak season it could be hard to get somewhere to stay.

Whist appreciating the need to protect this world heritage site! Te Indian authorities need to understand tat the car of Hampi is he close relationship between the past and e urgent living immunity. If it becomes a 'dead site' it will be only a fraction of the value of te visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed at the Gopi Guest House for 2 nights (the new wing). The most important thing to note when making a decision to stay in Hampi city is that all the options are very basic, no frills options. There is no major development allowed within the city (much like Tajganj in Agra) and one needs to compromise on creature comforts if one wants to enjoy Hampi city by night.

Knowing this, I was prepared for staying in a basic room. The only thing I came looking for was a clean room. Luckily we got that at Gopi guest house. The other saving grace was the presence of an a/c, the importance of which cannot be understated. The food in the rooftop restaurant was very decent and worth repeating. The folk were also able to get our car into the city for us to park right outside the building, which helps, since you can stuck badly in the mayhem of the bus stand.

On a aside, one should be prepared for systematic power outages every evening at Hampi if staying in the city. The commercial establishments should not be held responsible for this.

All in all, one of the more decent options to stay within Hampi City.

Room Tip: New wing, new wing, new wing....with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shivavilas Palace, HAMPI (An ITC WelcomHeritage Hotel)
6.3 mi away
Hotel Malligi
Hotel Malligi
#1 of 7 in Hospet
973 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gopi Guest House

Address: Hampi Village Centre, Near Virupaksha Temple, Hampi 583239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: £246 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gopi Guesthouse is a family run business since 1993 in the center of Hampi Village near Virupaksha Temple. Accommodations include 6 en suite rooms with AC in the new block and 8 en suite rooms in old block without AC. There is a rooftop restaurant, in the old block, with excellent views of the Virupaksha Temple and a warm ambiance in the evening. The restaurant serves well prepared food including Indian, Italian, Continental, Israeli, and Tibetan entrees. Our services include: Laundry service (charge), Room service, Travel Office (bus, train, air), Internet and WiFi (charge), Yoga mats provided (for practice on new block with river view), Taxi or auto day tours, Scooter and bicycle rentals, Walking tours with guide from sunrise to sunset, Plantation picnics ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing