We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and great staff”
Review of Gopi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gopi Guest House
Ranked #5 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Central and great staff”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Hampi is being cleared up, and demolition of homes have happened, the bazaar is being restored to its original state, sadly for the local residents who have to move out and are only given a small piece of land as compensation. Gopi is very central, very comfortable and extremely friendly. The staff are kind and helpful especially VEERU, thank you. Room a little dark, in the new block, but we did ask for a quiet room and it was. Food in the roof restaurant in our opinion was excellent and breakfast, which was included in our rate kept us going for the day. Glad we were this side of the river. Recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnandkim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review,i hope you were happy about our service but one thing i want to tell we everyday learn something different from our guests and we try to provide our best service to new guests by learning from our old guests,so everyday is new to us we learn something new.I hope we will try to provide best service then you were before and make their stay happy in hampi.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    111
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
39
88
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at Gopi Guest house for 3 nights over Christmas. Its in a great location, but Hampi town could be relocated soon by UNESCO so go soon as the little township amongst temples is very interesting with quaint market stalls and fantastic cafes. Helpful, polite and friendly staff. You and your luggage may be collected from carpark. Fabulous breakfast included, choose Indian or continental with yummy home made muesli and yogurt, eggs, toast and tea/coffee. Their cafe has lovely views from rooftop with all veg food with so much choice from Mexican, Japanese, Nepalese, Italian, etc. Indian food is delicious and Almond Lassi. Wifi free at cafe. Rooms are basic as you would expect for about $10-$12 per night B&B, clean with firm comfortable beds, fan, secured with padlock and have bathroom with hot water. Perfect for crashing in at night and afternoon naps as the surroundings of this town are so incredible you are out of the room visiting sites and eating. Hampi and Gopi worth a visit of at least 2 nights, we could have stayed longer to see more of the sites, perhaps 4 nights would be perfect. Bottled water available on streets or at cafes at 30r for 2lt.

Room Tip: No need for AC in December
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Depumpkin,
Thank you for your review and we are very happy to hear such good things about Gopi. We noticed you mentioned the sleep quality and cleanliness in the rating, we will try our best to improve this to make Gopi a better place. We hope to see you in our hotel again and next time we hope the experience will be excellent. Thank you. Regards, Gopi Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

After spending a few days in the "hippie" side of the river, decided spend a few on the Bazaar side. The Bazaar area feels a little dead now and most people have an uncertain and despondent look on their faces because of the upcoming demolitions. People reading this review months from now would probably find Gopi relocated elsewhere and I sure hope that's not the case.

Despite the troubles with the authorities, the people at Gopi were very friendly and welcoming. I had a look at the rooms in the old block and although, they were (kinda) cheap at 500 Rs., the ones facing the road were just poor value. I settled for a room in the new block which spacious and clean enough. I found the restaurant to be a tired rehash of the usual backpacker cafe menus you get everywhere from Manali to Goa and the food is typically bland.

The wi-fi never worked when I was there with the manager assuring me every day that it would. I was told initially that if internet doesn't work at Gopi, it wouldn't work anywhere in the bazaar. A lazy afternoon spent at the Rocky Guest House restaurant right opposite busted that myth as wifi was working very well there.

Nevertheless, the room was decent enough but they just wouldn't offer me a deal despite the fact that I was traveling solo and paying more than the double occupancy rates some of my neighbours were paying. If you're going there, especially if you're an Indian and traveling solo, bargain hard.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new block are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveholics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are sorry that the internet did not work during your stay. We have resolved the problem by replacing the router. We are also sorry to hear you were disappointed in the price of the hotel room. We always try and accommodate each guest and their wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here in Dec 13, the staff are great and were able to pre-book my room on the phone and came to pick me up in a rickshaw. One of those rare places in India where you don't feel scammed or ripped off at all. The hotel is well situated in Hampi bazaar and close to the main temple there. There are 3 categories of room, I had the cheapest in the old block which was basic and fan only but in December this was adequate (pricier rooms in the new main building a few metres away have AC). The restaurant is really good and I had dinner there many times and its also a good social space to meet other travellers too. The only downside I can think of with this place is the wifi is really really patchy, either not working or if you are in the old block then non-existent when I was there...However Hampi is not known for great Internet facilities in general anyway. They also have a good travel agency ran by one of the group of brothers that run the place. Fully recommended by me.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawaz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Gopi has very extremly friendly and helpful employees.they picked me up and droped me off. so nicely. I enjoyed my stay very much. The room was clean and usual simple as in India usually. Dont expect too much from the shower but at least warm water. bring u own toilet paper. But u will stay all the time outside. Its located in the heart of hampi next to the main temple with a breath keeping view. I loved it so much and food is cheap and amazing good -also very flexible with wishes ( u didnt find so often in India). THANKS GOPI i hope u can stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimue23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My stay at Gopi was really lovely, I enjoyed the staff they were super friendly and more than willing to help and answer any questions. The restaurant which I ate most of my meals was consistently good, the food was very tasty. I also was able to attend yoga practice on the rooftop each morning which was a great start to the day. The room was clean, nice and comfortable. I really recommend Gopis' because it was very welcoming, good central location and overall a good experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Cheerfully decorated room with good air-conditioning. Friendly, helpful but not pushy staff. Kirwan helped us to confirm our Railway tickets (we were waiting list!) & we ate with good food in the terrace/restaurant. Good for all meals in the day & great for relaxing out of the direct sun - wi fi friendly - wide menu.

Room Tip: We were in the "new block" on the same level as the restaurant, excellent position & n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTChrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#4 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#3 of 43 in Hampi
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gopi Guest House

Property: Gopi Guest House
Address: Hampi Village Centre, Near Virupaksha Temple, Hampi 583239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gopi Guesthouse is a family run business since 1993 in the center of Hampi Village near Virupaksha Temple. Accommodations include 6 en suite rooms with AC in the new block and 8 en suite rooms in old block without AC. There is a rooftop restaurant, in the old block, with excellent views of the Virupaksha Temple and a warm ambiance in the evening. The restaurant serves well prepared food including Indian, Italian, Continental, Israeli, and Tibetan entrees. Our services include: Laundry service (charge), Room service, Travel Office (bus, train, air), Internet and WiFi (charge), Yoga mats provided (for practice on new block with river view), Taxi or auto day tours, Scooter and bicycle rentals, Walking tours with guide from sunrise to sunset, Plantation picnics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gopi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing