We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money, Perfect Location”
Review of Gopi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gopi Guest House
Ranked #3 of 45 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A decent place to stay while on a trip to Hampi. I traveled with my friend and it was perfect stay for both of us. Its location is right at the sight seeing places. There is a restaurant at the terrace for all your food needs.
The place is small yet enough. You can get a moped on rent in the next shop which is perfect for going around seeing places.
Highly Recommended for solo or friends traveling together.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARPSBPAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

A group of friends and I stayed at Gopi for the weekend. We arrived very early in the morning (6am) but were nonetheless met with a friendly welcome and one of our three rooms was ready notwithstanding check-in time is not until 10am. The breakfast that is included in the cost was substantial and nice, and the rooms were clean and comfortable (albeit basic). The location of the guesthouse is good, being in the heart of the bazaar so close to restaurants, shops and places to hire bikes. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review. and Gopi guest House staff is still learning by Tourist day by day. and we are trying hard to keep our guests Happy and comfortable in our place by our service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stay in Gopi guest house new block in a good room non ac for 1800Rs with breakfast. It is clean and good for relax after the visit of Hampi. There are a veranda where you can eat and relaxing. Wifi is ok, and the staff is friendly. This guest house in the center of hampi, and you can see the life of the common people from your veranda.The restorant is good and you can eat no spicey!!!

Room Tip: choose the room of the new block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orsogrosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Gopi guesthouse was great. Firstly they arranged a pick up for us from Hospet station, early in the morning. We settled in and were offered a site seeing tour of the more scattered sites which needed to be seen on a single day's ticket. This was awesome and ended with a wonderful sunset experience high on a hill overlooking the Hampi boulders. The food, smoothies and room at Gopi were good. Day two was a bicycle tour, very worthwhile with a good guide based at the main temple in the village. Kiran arranged our final transfer back to Hospet for a very early train and we paid him in advance. Unfortunately at 5:30 in the morning the Tuk-Tuk driver said Kiran had made a mistake and demanded an extra 300 Rupees. We were not happy nor in a position to argue, so we paid up.
We later wrote to Kiran to tell him this had happened and he was not happy. Beyond our expectations, not only did Kiran thank us for this information, but he arranged with a contact we had made in his restaurant,to restore the said 300 rupees, as she was going to pass through our next destination. She posted our money under our door a few days later. We were amazed and very, very touched that Kiran had gone to so much trouble. In conclusion therefore.....Gopi Guesthouse comes highly recommended and we only wish we had allowed more that two whole days there. Hampi deserves at least four days, for the wonderful sites and unique landscape.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Gopi guest house isn't for everybody. It's for the no frills traveller, who wants a cleanish place to stay without much fuss.
Most of their guests appear to be foreigners, and the staff are well prepared.
Great location, in the centre of hampi town. I visited with two foreign friends and we were comfortable in a basic room in the old block.
A lot of reviews here state that the staff is very helpful. I agree wholeheartedly. The management is a team of brothers who are thoroughly well informed , courteous, and and made our stay there very pleasant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Devika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review,everyday we learning something new from guests and we try to provide best service and make them happy stay in hampi.I hope when you come again to hampi and we will try to provide best service as you were here before and make your stay happy in our hotel.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Personally, the northern part of Hampi (north of the river) felt more comfortable; next time I would stay at the Shanti. Overall, my impressions about Hampi are very mixed; I really don't like that the feeling that everybody cheats on you....

Positive:
* Rooms were ok (at least clean: New building with AC)
* Rooftop terasse
* Pick off and drop off was very punctual

Neutral:
* Food did not hurt
* Food is not very tasty; I had far better Indian cuisine (Palak Paneer, Mutter Paneer) so far anywhere else

Negative:
* No "welcome" information: just here is your room. Initially the AC as well as warm water was not working and no explanation given. I needed to ask twice(!) for each!
* Rooms are overpriced (had new building with AC for 2000RS) at least for my feeling
* Only pick up (I came from Hospet) is included, drop off not (costs 500RS) and was demanded at drop off location without any prior information(!)
* Tour guide from the restaurant: on our arrival one of the owners asked us, if I would be interested in a tour through the ruins by Riksha for 1200RS. Anyhow, after the first temple(!) he introduced a new guide (very annoying one) and was gone.

Room Tip: Check for another place. If not get one in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gopiguesthouse, Manager at Gopi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for your review,we are very happy to some hear about some negative and positive review about our hotel,but you said on review about not welcoming sorry for that because we do always welcome guests and we treat them as our family members when they stay in our hotel.

second thing you told about a/c and hot water and also you said about you have to ask for everything twice i am extreemly sorry for this in my service this is first time happen and but one thing i will tell you in all the hotels some time there will be problem about the hot water,a/c.beds etc until you say we didn't knew about the problems of hot water and a/c now everything is fixed and solved.

And third thing you told about the price 2000rs including breakfast and a/c i hope thats very good price we offered you because its very busy time in hampi and its high season but
come during april to septmember we give the same room for 1200rs,anyway sorry for everything i hope when you come back to our hotel we will try to provide best service and make you fell like your home.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

With a beautiful roof top and a great atmosphere, Gopi is the place to stay in the old town side of Hampi. Great food and friendly staff with comfortable rooms. If you ask when you are there you can arrange to visit the Banana Plantation situated 20 minutes away, owned by the Gopi family. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shivavilas Palace, HAMPI (An ITC WelcomHeritage Hotel)
6.3 mi away
Hotel Malligi
Hotel Malligi
#1 of 7 in Hospet
974 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Hampi
Hyatt Place Hampi
#1 of 9 in Bellary
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gopi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gopi Guest House

Address: Hampi Village Centre, Near Virupaksha Temple, Hampi 583239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: £246 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gopi Guesthouse is a family run business since 1993 in the center of Hampi Village near Virupaksha Temple. Accommodations include 6 en suite rooms with AC in the new block and 8 en suite rooms in old block without AC. There is a rooftop restaurant, in the old block, with excellent views of the Virupaksha Temple and a warm ambiance in the evening. The restaurant serves well prepared food including Indian, Italian, Continental, Israeli, and Tibetan entrees. Our services include: Laundry service (charge), Room service, Travel Office (bus, train, air), Internet and WiFi (charge), Yoga mats provided (for practice on new block with river view), Taxi or auto day tours, Scooter and bicycle rentals, Walking tours with guide from sunrise to sunset, Plantation picnics ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing