We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for 500 rupees”
Review of Sunny Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunny Guest House
Ranked #22 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad for 500 rupees”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A nice, relaxing place to chill out. We stayed in a hut with a straw conical roof which was a nice feature. We had a fan and mosquito net as well as a cold shower but with a perfect temperature of water given how hot it was when we stayed. The only annoying thing was the ants. They were very tiny but everywhere, including in the bed and liked to bite us from time to time, which was as fun as it sounds! But maybe that had something to do with the time of year (early April). Other than that though the place was pretty clean.

The huts are set in from the street which is nice so it's pretty quiet and there's a comfy chill out area including a pool table and a tv on which they showed movies at night. Some of the rooms also had hammocks so ideal for chilling.

As for the staff, they weren't the most attentive bunch, seeming to sit around quite a lot watching tv and fairly slow restaurant service (again this is probably due to low season and the heat! No one can be bothered!).

However one of the staff members was very helpful in ordering us a ricksha when I fell ill to take us to the doctor in the evening. Although when we had to rest it off on the last day due to the illness and went past the check out time (albeit by 7 hours) we had to pay for a full extra day. Fair enough, although a friend of ours who did the same received a half-day price at the place he stayed next door.

But overall, it could be worse for 500 rupees per night for two people.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pritum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    16
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
7
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have been to Hampi around 4 times in last 2 years and have consistently stayed and dined at Sunny. I know pretty much all of their staff which is exceedingly friendly. The cottages are basic and rates vary based on the season that you are travelling in. I have stayed in a 4-bed cottage at 400 bucks per night during my first visit. The restaurant (shesh besh) is one of the most amazing and cheapest restaurants that I have dined in. You would just love the selection of breakfasts, do try a different one every day. The views from the cottages and the restaurant are just too good, boulder hills full of peace and tranquillity. All of this simply takes away all tensions of your life.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ankitarora200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Harptree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a review for both Sunny Guest House and Mowgli Guest House.


We started in Sunny and we spent 2 nights there. It was 1000R’s for the room (it was peak season and there was a festival going on) which was overpriced as the room needed much TLC and the mozzie net was full of holes. We didn’t find the staff particularly helpful or friendly. The restaurant didn’t open for breakfast until almost 09.00 so we ate elsewhere all the time. The only redeeming feature of Sunny was that it will take bookings over the phone or by email unlike many guesthouses in Hampi that demand payment in advance.

We needed to book something before our arrival as we needed two rooms, we were arriving late and there was an annual festival on so the number of rooms available was minimal. If you’re arriving out of festival time then you really don’t need to book if you prefer not to.

We decided to check out some other guest houses including those that needed payment. Having had a number of bad experiences we never pay in advance hence checking into Sunny. After checking a few of the other guest houses listed on TA we went into Mowgli and checked out the rooms. The price was the same but it had better rooms, friendly and attentive staff and a fabulous view from the restaurant over the paddies to the boulders. It was a no brainer to change for the rest of our stay.

As for Hampi itself, I wasn't keen to visit but other half insisted.....I'm really glad she did! We stayed 4 nights in total but I could quite easily have stayed 14!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

its a good place to chill out .
we were a big group, all wanted to start early, go around Hampi and wanted to hit the bed after a light dinner.
After a day we realised its not for people like us.
in sunny u have to start late(coz there is no one to attend till 8 am) laze around and is a good place for open ended trips!!
its value for money.
the only thing i did not like are the open drains..

Room Tip: corner room facing the paddy flied is a good one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sunny for two nights. I quite enjoyed my stay, but a couple things could use improvement. I will start with the good: the circular huts are sqite charming. They cost us 400 rupees per night (about 6.50 USD). The hut is relatively spacious, as is the bathroom, and outside ids a small veranda. The garden outside is well kept, and in the same area there is an internet cafe and a restaurant with comfy lounge seating. Now the bad. The mosquito net in the room was a joke. We didn't even use it the second night because there was no point, as it was filled with gaping holes. The mattress was very hard, which is common in India, but obviously makes for an uncomfortable sleep. The shower is cold, but that is also to be expected. You also need to pay for WiFi, which I think should be free if you are lodging and dining here. Wouldn't be my first choice if I return to Hampi, but it's also not a terrible choice for your stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Sunny's is a wonderful place to stay, relax and chill out. It's just across the river from Hampi bazaar but definitely worth the 1-minute boatride.

Comfortable rooms with fans, attached bathrooms, musquito nets, lots of choice in their restaurant for Indian and Western food and hot water and internet (incl WiFi) available for only 400 rps a night.

Downsides: WiFi is not free, hot water comes from a tap in the bathroom, not from the shower and board to Hampi bazaar stop @6 pm.

All together, I would definitely go here again for the comfort and the quiteness!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TingFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a memorable Hampi trip in December. Having browsed through tripadvisor, Sunny was not our first choice. After being refused rooms by Mowgli and Shanthi Guest house and being drawn in by the cottage photos online, I decided to book this guest house. We had a very comfortable stay at Sunny Guest House for 3 days. Staying in Virupapur Gadde helped us grab good dinner on all days. The main sights in Hampi are a boat ride away, we were able to rent a bike from the opposite side of the river.The food is quite good with a few global cuisine options in the menu. I had taken this place with minimal expectations and found the stay very comfortable. I would recommend this place for people who want to have a relaxed stay in good, functional but not necessarily luxurious rooms. This place proved to be great VFM.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms away from the restaurant and towards the inside if you would prefer less noise dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayzee_Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
0.3 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#11 of 43 in Hampi
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Murali Guest House Hampi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Guest House

Property: Sunny Guest House
Address: Virupapur Gadde (Hampi Island), Sanapur post, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing