We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home
Ranked #17 of 42 Hampi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Overall was a great place to stay. Irregular power supply in Hampi was annoying but nothing to do with the guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davejonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    48
    21
    13
    4
See reviews for
17
44
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had a cosy AC room,this place was one of the nicest in the whole Bazar area.I checked before ca.10guesthouses.Friendly family,really good location for good price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
121 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Most of the buildings in Hampi Bazaar are being destroyed so there aren't many guest houses to choose from. Most of the ones mentioned in the LP are gone. This one was good. The room was clean - no bugs. The whole room was a bit too dark. More lighting would be nice. The TV in the room does not work. It only gets one channel - the satellite advertisement channel. The power cuts out all the time, but I would still choose the AC room over no AC as the heat gets oppressive. Had laundry done there but it didn't feel very clean as it's not machined washed. Overall, it was a decent place to stay and probably one of the best ones in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vancity8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estados Unidos
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Yes -- the electricity goes off far more frequently than you'd like (which stops the TV, fan, lights, and AC (if you opted for AC))....but that's a problem EVERYwhere in Hampi Bazaar. But I got a nice, big, corner-located (with cross-ventilation) non-AC room for a reasonable price....and (when the ceiling fan was working (i.e., when there was electricity)) it was cool enough. Most importantly, I liked the owner. She was friendly and helpful...and although I checked-out at 10:00am (and left my bag to pick up much later (because I was taking the "night bus" from Hospet to Mysore)), when I returned in the late afternoon she offered to let me take a shower (no additional charge) in order to wash off the day's dust and sweat, before I began my bus-trek. Finally, I should mention that "the whole street" (where this Lakshmi Tourist Home is located) seemed happy that I was staying at a hotel "on their street"....even if I wasn't staying at their particular guest house. [Really; one of the guesthouse owners told me that.]

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgentineTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a tough one.
Our room had no view or ventilation, neither the air-con nor the tv worked and there was no soap, drinking mugs/cups/glasses or toilet paper let alone fridge or tea/coffee making facilities and whilst the room was clean the construction/decor was very, very basic. So what’s the problem – a one green dot rating, right? Well, not really because on that basis probably every place in Hampi would have a one-dot rating and clearly most other Hampi reviewers don’t use that scale, for one or more reasons in my estimation. Most of the accommodation and cafes in Hampi seemed very similar e.g. virtually every cafe (there are no ‘restaurants’ with the possible exception of Mango Tree which is out of town) had similar menus offering offering veg. curries, veg. Chinese, veg. Italian etc. with the one non-veg option being canned tuna and I gathered the same standard applied to the accommodation. – i.e. there probably isn’t much difference in reality – just different perceptions. And this is where I probably differ from my Hampi reviewer peers who it seems are mostly backpackers whereas my TA public profile clearly indicates otherwise.

So, should senior westerners used to reasonably high standards even bother with Hampi? And in my opinion, the answer to that question is definitely “yes”. The ruins and the large area that they cover are quite amazing but if you work at it as we did (guided tour in a/c car on day 1 and self-guided tour by tuk tuk on day 2) then unless you have a particular interest in ancient civilisations etc., two days is plenty of time.

Footnote: A relative of the manager who runs another establishment came around to sort out our problems and with a short time the tv and a/c were working and soap, toilet paper, glasses and bin provided.
Why a ‘3’ rating? Even though it might be better than average for Hampi, I can’t in all honesty give a place of this standard more than a ‘3’ rating even though it might qualify for a ‘5’ in Backpackerstan.
There are only two cafes that we could recommend and those are Vicky’s for veg. Italian and Mango Tree for Indian.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We went to Hampi on the Republic Day long weekend and had a very enjoyable stay at Laxmi Heritage. My husband had made the booking over phone 3-4 days before our travel to Hampi and they called us a day prior to our arrival to reconfirm and to provide directions - this is indeed very commendable as most places don't even reserve a room despite confirming the same over phone.

This place is also quite well-known and we didn't have any issues finding it. One helpful gentleman took us all the way from the main temple street to the guesthouse! We were welcomed by the lady who owns this. She cannot speak very good English, however we had no problem conversing with her since we knew Kannada. She provided us fresh towels and a nice cold bottle of mineral water (much needed). The room itself is very clean and the sheets are spotlessly white. The comforter and other sheets smelt fresh and clean with no sign of stale odour - having said this, there was a sheet which had an evident cigarette burn hole in it.

The room also has a TV with a cable connection and an air-conditioner. There's sufficient electricity back-up as there are lots of power-cuts at night. They've also arranged for a fancy mosquito net (which we never got around to using as the room remained closed most evenings) over the bed along with mosquito repellants. This is extremely essential in Hampi as it has a lot of mosquitoes (I was left with red angry welts over my legs and back). The bathroom is big enough and was also very clean. One needs to arrange for soap and other items since the bathroom is bare except for a bucket and a mug.

One can't really expect a 5-star type arrangement, just to be clear - however, the family running this place is very responsive and friendly. The room rent is also quite reasonable (we paid Rs. 1500/- per night). Please note that the guesthouse doesn't serve food and hot beverages, although they provide water and cold drinks.

The main plus point of this guesthouse is its central location. All the important places for sightseeing are at walking distance. Also, there is a small local eating joint run by 2 women that serves fresh South Indian breakfast (idlis, bhajjis and gundpangla/phaddu) everyday. There are tons of other restaurants also in and around which make this place ideal for stay. We also found a small shop and a PCO right opposite the guesthouse, which sells sun block, soaps, toilet paper, toothpastes, water, cold drinks and other sundries. The PCO is indeed important as apart from BSNL, there's no network coverage in Hampi (in most locations).

The only drawback that we noticed in this place was hot water. Even though they promised hot water, we had major issues while showering/bathing in the morning. Mostly the water in the taps was cold. We came to know that the place uses solar water heaters and the problem with this is that there's no hot water in the morning as it takes a few hours of Sun to heat the water. That's why, there's plenty of hot water for use in the afternoon (as the water gets heated in the morning).

So, all in all, this is a very good option for staying in Hampi and we recommend it - especially to Indian travelers (families/couples/group).

Room Tip: Pick a room on the ground floor as the staircase leading up to the 1st floor is a bit narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This lovely little guesthouse is located in the bazaar area. We decided to stay on this side of the river, as it is so much easier to get around and also to catch the sunrises and sunsets. Plus it's really the only option if you are catching an early morning trains leaving Hospet.

Lakshmi Heritage is family run and they have lovely clean rooms and ensuite bathrooms. I think they have 4 rooms downstairs, but we opted for one of the 3 rooms upstairs. Which, whilst being slightly more expensive, seemed a bit more luxurious. We opted for a double A/C room with fan. It was just what we wanted after our overnight train from Bangalore and we spent four really good nights here.

The room was spacious and was lined in timber, with a colossal mirror at the head of the bed. The washbasin was separate to the bathroom, which again large and was also timber lined. We also had good storage with loads of space to unpack our clothes. From the outside verandah, we had an oblique view of the river. One pointer was that it contained 3 separate banks of light switches, some of which we never fathomed what they did! We just tried everyone to turn on and off the lights. Oh, and we had an LCD TV, but never tried it.

The lady who runs the place and keeps it spotless was extremely gracious and explained we could help ourselves to water and soft drinks from the downstairs table and fridge. It is run on an honesty system and you write in the book what you have taken and you are charged (correctly - we kept check) upon departure. It is the same price if not slightly cheaper than the shops.

It is located down a cul-de-sac, so is therefore quieter, but is in easy reach of all the nearby restaurants. For instance only 1 minute to the Gopi. Any rickshaw driver will know it and drop you off there.

The main sights are also really nearby and most evenings we climbed Hemakuta Hill to watch the sunset.

So all in all, a smashing guesthouse and well recommended

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are better and have a view (of sorts) from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infoaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
6.2 mi away
Hotel Priyadarshini
Hotel Priyadarshini
#5 of 8 in Hospet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 42 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 42 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#1 of 42 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Padma Guest House
Padma Guest House
#34 of 42 in Hampi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home

Property: Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home
Address: Janata Plot, Hampi 583 239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is near virupaksha temple, The decor, equipment, and cleanliness of the apartments is second to none. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff is first class. This will always be our number one in Hampi for quality and the value it provides. LAKSHMI HERITAGE TOURIST HOME Hotel is located in Hampi, 300 m from local bus stand of Hampi. It offers a restaurant, free parking and rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Air-conditioned guest rooms have TV with cable channels and en suite bathroom with toiletries and hot shower facilities. Select rooms have a balcony. The staff at the tour desk can assist with travel arrangements and car rental services. Laundry services are offered. The on site restaurant serves a selection of local dishes. LAKSHMI HERITAGE TOURIST HOME 15 km from Hospet. Vidayanagara Airport is 38 km away.Hampi is a village in northern karnataka state, India. It is located within the ruins of Vijayanagara, the former capital of the Vijayanagara Empire. Predating the city of Vijayanagara, it continues to be an important religious centre, housing the Virupaksha Temple, as well as several other monuments belonging to the old city. The ruins are a UNESCO World Heritage Site, listed as the Group of Monuments at Hampi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing