We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top notch stay in hampi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rocky Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“top notch stay in hampi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Very impressive booked the place over net because of the rating on trip advisor.Certainly was not disappointed.Rooms are clean comfortable bed.Well located.Rocky himself is a diamond if you need to book train or bus trips.Any questions or problems are dealt with quickly.They have power back up for the inevitable power cuts.Good wifi signal.
Only -ve's the food not great but many places o eat within 100 yds of hotel.Also wifi turned off at night
The price was good for the quality of the place.Would stay again if in Hampi.If in Hampi stay here

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tedward1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    85
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
116
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Rocky's guest house was a great place to stay. The room that i was in was clean with mozzi net, bathroom, comfy bed and a big window. Couldn't ask for anything more with the price that we were paying. The food was very yummy. We ate at some other places but in the end we just kept coming back to Rocky's. The price we found was cheaper then anywhere else and we were always served with a smile. Free wifi was also a included and rocky was fantastic with helping us book train tickets and various other travel plans.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our room at Rocky's was clean and comfortable with lots of natural light and was very decently priced. The food at his restaurant was also delicious, cooked by the chef/waiter Suri who was very kind and always ready to serve us with a smile. Rocky himself was a lovely and helpful host who made us feel very at home. Would definitely stay there again given the opportunity!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sulok90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We picked this guesthouse based in LP as well as trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Room was nice, as was bathroom and both clean. Cracking view from the rooftop. Decent wifi. Most importantly, very good battery backup, for when, inevitably, the nightly powercut comes. In our case due to a storm it lasted all night, but the battery backup meant lights and plugs still worked.

Rocky wasn't there when we arrived in the morning and hence kitchen wasn't open so we breakfasted opposite at Gopi, which was very good. But we ate at Rocky's both evenings and the food was excellent and reasonably priced - prepared by rocky himself.

Location is good, short walk to bus station, temple and ghat, but then with the size of Hampi I dont think anywhere can have a bad location.

Rocky was lovely guy and very helpful. He also has a travel centre and booked our sleeper bus onwards to Goa for us at a reasonable price.

Would highly recommend!

Stayed may 2013, as a couple.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed a day at Rocky's.

Good: Rakesh (owner) was prompt with booking request, sent a staff to direct us from the outskirts of Hampi (as access to hotel is bit confusing & we were driving), room generally clean except old stains on bedsheet.

Cons: food quality below average, small eating area (we ate there once & decided to have the remaining meals at Gopi's which is right opposite)

Tried to convey this concern to Rakesh dying check out but he appeared indifferent & smiled!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Iesekarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Not only did Rocky book a bus to and from Hampi for me over the phone before I arrived (paying for it all and adding it to my room bill) he even thought to send a rickshaw to collect me from the bus as it arrived too early for public transport to be running. So considerate and helpful, thank you! Also a great location inside the hippie vibe Bazaar with the major temple just around the corner and lots of cafes to chill in (come out of Rocky's, turn left and walk into Prince's Restaurant for a delicious thali or pizza while lounging on floor cushions.)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Rocky made our Hampi stay extremely enjoyable, with clean, basic rooms, cool AC, and fast WiFi. The food was great and cheap (try one of the juices). I booked our room via email the day before arriving on night bus from Goa, and surprisingly a rickshaw was waiting for us at the Hampi bus station. Rocky suggested a two-day itinerary (hiring a rickshaw for Day 1, renting bicycles on Day 2). All in all, Rocky is a great innkeeper who knows how to please.

Room Tip: During our stay Hampi experienced frequent power outages. Batteries backup the lights, power outlet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txvago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#3 of 6 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.1 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#11 of 43 in Hampi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Guesthouse

Property: Rocky Guesthouse
Address: Janatha Plot, Hampi 08394, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, my name is Rocky and i look after the Rocky guesthouse, Hampi which is situated next to Hampi bazar and a 50mtr away from tungabhadra river. We got a well furnished and clean rooms that are situated in the 1st floor, with a nice temple view from the roof top and also the river view. It's good place to do yoga in the roof terrace with a beautiful sunrise. Also you can use a free wifi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing