We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Didn't expected Bed bugs there"”
Review of Rocky Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocky Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Didn't expected Bed bugs there"”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We reserved a double bed room through phone and everything was fine until we reached the place. We got a room at upstairs which was ok but the bathroom was half cleaned which was smelling so badly..we told to the guy and he cleaned it. Our first night was crazy we found two bed bugs under the pillow and there were more in the mosquito net. We complained about that and we showed the bed bugs to the guy and he started say it's not his fault. He was not at all nice to us..we checked out and moved to gopi's which is cheaper and cleaner mostly no bed bugs...!! I don't recommended this place!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mavan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rakesh singh m, Manager at Rocky Guesthouse, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
hi,i am very sorry to hear that,we are very much surprised about your review to Rocky Guesthouse.we never had any complaints about cleanliness and also about the bed bugs before.the staff doesn't remember when you visited our Guesthouse.we would like to investigate what was wrong on that date and can you also please send me the date you arrived at the hotel.because we never had a review like that before and it is your first review on trip advisor,we send a report to the trip advisor for further investigation.i hope you will enjoy the further trip to india and we will wait for your response.regards Rocky,Rocky Guesthouse,Hampi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    87
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
118
48
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Besides the stay or the room or anything else, which isn't exactly extra-ordinary but definitely takes care of all the basic necessities and cleanliness and yes, free WIFI too, what I would mention is the lunch time, more likely the smell of the food. As you walk pass Rocky Guesthouse, there definitely will be a moment were you will drool because the smell is so good and so refreshing and so Indian. One must go there and order Indian food. Insane!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjeffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Rocky made the stay. Such a pleasant, peaceful fellow. Helped me with all onward travel and made meaningful conversation.

The food made by his family is great. The tikka masala was definitely the best I've had in India.

The guesthouse is the cleanest in town. It's only 5 rooms and well known as the best. Book ahead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Rocky, the owner, is great: friendly, helpful with advice and making arrangements, checking in to see how things are going. The driver and particularly the guide he provided for our sightseeing excursions to all the ruins were great and reasonably price and the guide was incredibly knowledgeable. The rooms here are very basic--just a bed and a desk--but it's very clean and the mattress is a genuine inner spring mattress, as opposed to the usual thin, hard futon type of mattress you often find in India. The bathrooms are very basic, but also clean and have hot and cold running water with the wash basin located outside the main bathroom, which is a nice feature. The air con works fine and the free wifi is a real plus. Only ate breakfast in the restaurant, but it was excellent: omelettes and crepes were great and even the coffee was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dc_babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Food better than average in Hampi, but that doesn't mean more expensive, Internet actually works (one of the few places that have a working connection), very helpful, arrange trips, tickets. No profiteering, always with a smile.. An asset to Hampi and we have tried many others, trust me. Warmly recommended!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Łukasz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I moved here after a sleepless night at some other place where the bugs were crawling over me. I was so relieved to have a clean, cool room with wifi. You can also eat here and sit and meet people. What I will definitely recommend is the lemon ginger lassi. It is great and I was not able to find it anywhere else this good during my 2 months in India. The price was a bit much, especially considering it was low season, but then again, it is Hampi, so it was still a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beshaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at Rocky's Guesthouse with our two little girls August 7-9 and had a great visit. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean - we chose non A/C and were perfectly comfortable with overhead fan and mosquito nets. The food was very good as well - we all enjoyed it. Rocky was very nice and gave us lots of helpful advice re: touring around the Hampi ruins. We would absolutely recommend this guesthouse. Beautiful view from rooftop as well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Guesthouse

Property: Rocky Guesthouse
Address: Janatha Plot, Hampi 08394, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, my name is Rocky and i look after the Rocky guesthouse, Hampi which is situated next to Hampi bazar and a 50mtr away from tungabhadra river. We got a well furnished and clean rooms that are situated in the 1st floor, with a nice temple view from the roof top and also the river view. It's good place to do yoga in the roof terrace with a beautiful sunrise. Also you can use a free wifi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rocky Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing