We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best guest house / hotel i have visited in my life”
Review of Rocky Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 44 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best guest house / hotel i have visited in my life”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed at Rocky Guest House for 4 nights in Sep. 2013. Before coming to hampi I reserved 1 non ac bedroom, Guide and bike through phone. When I spoke to Rocky, I understood his politeness. I reached in hospet around 7.30 AM. He arranged one auto to pick up to hampi. I spend 4 days in hampi and its milestone in my life because without any straggle, I visited almost all the main places.
This time I should say to thank you the guide he arranged (Kumar) because usually the guide will spend max. 5 to 7 hours with tourist but him spends more than 8 hours per day show the places. One thing I was happy about the guide if I asked any details about the place if guide don’t knows he will say I don’t know he never gives any wrong information.
2nd day’s one incident I should share with you. When I start taking the photos, my camera battery charge completed. Somehow I completed that day. In night, I told these things to rocky, and he tried to arrange one battery for me. Unfortunate I didn't get any battery. At last, I asked one camera in the rent shop they told I need deposit 5000 rs as security and 1000 for rent. . At last he gave his own camera without asking any deposit and rent. If I didn’t get this camera I can’t complete the trip.
I told to be rocky I wanted the book which explains about the hampi history. Within 30 mins he brought around 10 books, and he told from this, I could select anyone. I wondered. For satisfy the customer he did that much.
Whatever bad commended come about Rocky, I do not believe that one. If you're running any organization for saying bad thing people come more only few people speak correct thing. Before accept any comment think twice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KrishnaPrasadK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    87
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
118
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bad Kreuznach
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at Rockys for 4 nights in Nov. 2013. Nice clean place with good beds and hot showers, breakfast is included in the price. Rocky is a friendly guy that can arrange for station pick ups and rickshaw tours of the Hampi sights. All in all a gooid choice for Hampi. Can definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenandLinda69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege,Belgique
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The owner is very helpful. Take a room on the first floor. The restaurant is good. And you have many other restaurants around. Talking to poeple is very easy in this place. One of the place to be in Hampi. The owner recommended me a taxi for 100 Ruppees to Hospet. Normal price is 200 Ruppees.

Room Tip: First floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascalrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Rocky is incredibly helpful, quick to respond to emails and arranges everything with utmost convenience and at a fair price. We stayed in the upstairs room with AC, which was a cool and calm experience in the November heat. Food and service is great, we couldn't get enough of the dosas and fresh lime soda! Rocky arranged scooters for us at a moment's notice and for a reasonable rate, saving us time and expense. Highly recommended to anyone for a relaxed and comfortable stay in Hampi! Thank you very much Rocky!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkov
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rocky Guesthouse is ordinary budget hotel as for India but it's one of the best place in Hampi. Rocky is extremely friendly and helpfull guy. It was real pleasure to meet him.
I recommend this hotel for everybody.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kozamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanka, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend and I wish it would have been a couple more! Rocky was one of the nicest guys we met in India in weeks, very friendly and helpful. We also loved the meals his father prepared downstairs, in fact we had all our meals there during out stay, it just was fantastic! Definately recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perlakiszab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I went by the reviews in the trip advisor and selected this place. It lived up to our expectations. Initially we planned to stay for 1 night but extended for another 2 nights. We also saw other guest houses but then they were not as good. Rocky is friendly person and he also got a safe place to park our car as we did not want to park it in the public parking lot. Some positive things: Sprint mattress, Indian friendly toilets (yes, they have health faucets), 24/7 hot water as they are connected to instant geysers and airy rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chethak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 44 in Hampi
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 44 in Hampi
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 44 in Hampi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Guesthouse

Property: Rocky Guesthouse
Address: Janatha Plot, Hampi 08394, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, my name is Rocky and i look after the Rocky guesthouse, Hampi which is situated next to Hampi bazar and a 50mtr away from tungabhadra river. We got a well furnished and clean rooms that are situated in the 1st floor, with a nice temple view from the roof top and also the river view. It's good place to do yoga in the roof terrace with a beautiful sunrise. Also you can use a free wifi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing