We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best”
Review of Rocky Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 44 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Lovely guesthouse. Rocky is awesome! He was incredibly helpful smoothing the road every step of the way when we were in Hampi. I love that guy. Terrific staff, good location, good food. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgpryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    87
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
118
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Guesthouses in India are full of surprises... So it was a great relief to arrive at Rocky's guesthouse. The room was clean and nicely decorated – I especially liked the bright yellow wall with the mirrow behind the bed. There was a nice balcony and a rooftop with an amazing view. Rocky was super friendly and helpful. There had been a misunderstanding with our booking, so we would have to move to another guesthouse for the second night, but luckily he managed to work it around so that we could stay in the same room for our whole stay! He even helped us get tickets for our next train even though it was fully booked. Thanks for making or stay in Hampi so easy and enjoyable, Rocky.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inajohansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Staying here was great, rocky and his family were very helpful and sorted a bunch of tickets for us. The room was immaculate and had a mosquito net. Lovely rooftop restaurant except maybe the slightly harassing TUC TUC driver that came to find us a couple of times( and charges a lot) it was really good to be collected from bus for free though.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank celi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we stayed at rockys for 2 nights .we arrived at 7 am after traveling 9 hours on a sleeper bus,could not get into room until 9.45 so rocky let us sleep at the back for 3 hours .we had non air con the first night then moved into air con the next.every thing was spotless .Rocky arranged a guide and rik shaw for us .we had a great time ,we are a couple getting on in age and the staff helped us up and down the stairs.the roof top resturant was great and food very good .so glad we went to hampi and to rockys.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at Rocky for four nights during our visit to Hampi.We had an AC Room and it was clean and spacious with comfy beds and all the basics one needs.The Rooftop Restaurant was a nice space to chill and enjoy the views while having breakfast and dinner.Food was very tasty.Rocky is a friendly,helpful person,always stopping for a chat.He also helped us book a train for our further travels.His extra services include Travel bookings and Money Exchange.Will stay here again if ever visiting Hampi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanAbsynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at Rocky's and had a great time. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed comfortable. The rooftop restaurant is a lovely place to admire the view while enjoying a tasty meal. Rocky takes the time to get to know his guests and will help book onward travel arrangements. I had always wanted to visit Hampi and was not disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank louisageary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We only stayed a night, due to previous plans, but wished we had stayed longer. The hotel is located in the heart of bazaar. The room was simple but comfortable and with breakfast included it was well worth the price.
Rocky is great host and is very knowledgable with travel bookings and other arrangements. This is helped by the fact that his English is excellent and manner very friendly. Go there!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheF0rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 44 in Hampi
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 44 in Hampi
279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 44 in Hampi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Guesthouse

Property: Rocky Guesthouse
Address: Janatha Plot, Hampi 08394, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, my name is Rocky and i look after the Rocky guesthouse, Hampi which is situated next to Hampi bazar and a 50mtr away from tungabhadra river. We got a well furnished and clean rooms that are situated in the 1st floor, with a nice temple view from the roof top and also the river view. It's good place to do yoga in the roof terrace with a beautiful sunrise. Also you can use a free wifi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing