We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing accommodation”
Review of Thilak Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thilak Home Stay
Ranked #4 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Basic room, with double bed, no other furniture, and no window. No outdoor sitting space. Not good value for 2500 Rs. Although the family live on the premises, it felt more like a B and B than a homestay. Very nice breakfast is served in the cafe across the street, which was also very good for other meals.

Room Tip: Front rooms have windows onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

I had an amazing time at Thilak guesthouse.. Kishor made sure that I had a comfortable stay and was always ready to help.. the rooftop restaurant had some of the most delicious food I had in Hampi... Admittedly, the room that I had was not the best (poor ventilation I think) but Kishor's hospitality made up for it.. It is reasonably priced and good value for money place..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beatgeneration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had a wonderful time in Hampi, made even more pleasant by staying at Thilak..!
Kish's great local knowledge and entrepreneurial expertise made everything possible.
When my partner had a bad scooter accident, Kish (owner/manager) looked after us completely. He re-arranged bookings so we could still stay after leaving the hospital, sent a car to pick us up, helped with onward arrangements, and generally took charge of our well-being till my partner was well enough to leave.
We are eternally grateful and indebted to him, and other friends of mine have stayed with him after hearing our story of his kindness.
I couldn't recommend Thilak highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in one of the two front rooms with air con and a window facing the street and it was great. The homestay's rooftop Chillout restaurant across the street was great as well, good food and excellent value for money, including complimentary breakfast. Any needs we had, Kish the manager/owner helped us out, whether it was an extra pillow or organising a tour, he is the Hampi go-to guy, and a delightful fellow. Computers with internet were free for guests to use in his office. We stayed 3 nights, 4 days, which is a minimum for checking out most of what the area has to offer.

Room Tip: We preferred the front rooms with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Because of the laudative comments sent










































































































Because of the laudative comments written by supposedly well seasoned travellers, I had booked for a room with AC from Goa.
I was met by the rickshaw at the station, as said ( which is a service provided by all guest houses in India).The location is right in the middle of Hampi village, like so many other homestays and guest houses.No problem for finding a place !

On arrival, i could not believe my eyes to see that my room( and others) was windowless.No balcony, no terrace and no window.What a cheek to charge an extortionate 2000Rps for a windowless room, even if it is clean !Ludicrous and unbelievable !

It is real easy to find super accommodation in Hampi at very reasonable prices.Within five minutes, I had found a a lovely bright room with a private terrace tem meters away for 750 Rps, with fan (in November, AC is not necessary).
One morning, from my terrace, could hear the row made by a couple of tourists who were as shocked as i had been for the same reason,shouting that those windowless rooms were a rip off They fled, the way I had done.

What is beyond my understanding is the raving of fellow travellers about that place !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pastelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThilakHomeStay, Manager at Thilak Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Thilak Home Stay : Hampi!!!

Can you tell me when did you stayed in my place. We know Our AC room has with lots of facilities which we provide breakfast and transport and tours. In our register book shows that you have never booked a room in our place. please don't write a fake review.

Please don't be FAKE Traveler!

I wish you all the best!

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place was amazing to stay at, the location is great, the rooms are super clean and spacious. The staff are really friendly and can get you good deals on tours through Kish, the owners son. Even in peak season the prices were good. Best place in Hampi.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lachybeatnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Have been traveling all around India over the past 3 months and have to say this is one of the nicest and cleanest places I have stayed in and it was certainly good value for money! Kish the manager is an absolute gem aswell. Any questions I had he managed to answer and nothing was ever to much trouble for him. The restaurant over the road called Chill Out did some excellent breakfasts to. I stayed here for 4 days which was perfect but would love to go back. If you are after a friendly, clean reasonably priced room then Thilak Home Stay is the place to go!
Thank you so much.
Smily

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloud917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampi
3.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.3 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
217 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shivavilas Palace, HAMPI (An ITC WelcomHeritage Hotel)
0.0 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
272 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kishkinda Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thilak Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thilak Home Stay

Address: Main Bazaar | River Road, Hampi, Hampi 583239, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: £18 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thilak Home Stay is built in the middle of Hampi Bazaar. It is a house where you can find A/C and non A/C rooms, each one with individual bathroom, hot shower and mosquito net. Electricity is available 24 hours and WiFi is free. From the roof of the house you have beautiful views of Hampi's landscape and Virupaksha temple, and you can feel free to practice yoga, meditation or to relax watching a wonderful sunset. Chill out roof restaurant is in front of the guesthouse where you can relax and meet people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thilak Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing