We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe to relax in the afternoon”
Review of Raju Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Raju Guest House
Ranked #24 of 45 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Got in here in the afternoon and spent two hours relaxing over lunch and beverages. The food quality is nothing to write home about, but then the very fact that you could endlessly sit and stare at paddy fields being tilled while letting the world come to a standstill was - well...worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pratish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

...and I mean to be all day long. Evergreen cafe became my second home in Hampi. They have very good food and the staff is loveley. Even the "Kid" which is actually NOT a kid anymore (should ask for the age and the backround before you judge...!) makes a lot of fun and is enjoying his job.
The rooms are ok with inside toilet but you should notice that they are close to the cafe what means that it's not the most quiet place as long the cafe is open. The prices are in a normal level for the highseason.
It's a place to hangout and chill or meat nice and shanti people from all over the world and one more point to come here - WiFi is really stable and allways working well.
I love evergreen cafe and I recommend to young or middleaged backpackers or whatever who like to eat well in a smooth and nice atmosphere. Just bring some patience until the food arrives if the restaurant is full (and may ask a second time if the food doesn't come immidiatly ;-) )
come and get your own picture of it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JfBciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a rwally long train journey.

Saw dirty room with unchanged sheets, a broken door & a manky towel.

Left.

Enough said... I really hope this place is cheaper than other places on this side, if you keep walking up you'll find a range of better options.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and it was a horrible experience. The room was dirty and had several large openings with no protection, so we were also sharing with mosquitoes, wasps, lizards etc. the shower was literally not even powerful enough to get off any soap you had put on! The water was brown. The mosquito net was not worth using.

The management here are a joke. They are not interested in customer service unless they are trying to scam you or sleep with you. They could not even remember who had ordered what even if there were 2 people in the restaurant. I guess that's what happens if you leave it all to one child to do all of the work. As it happens he is the nicest person in that place so that is nothing against him. He is about thirteen we think.

We were both violently ill whilst staying - could have been from anything mind, but one of their team offered to take me 10 minutes up the road on the back of his bike to get antibiotics. I thought this was a nice gesture until he asked for RS 400 when we got back. Nice customer service! This is the same bike he will try and force you to rent for RS 200 for the whole day! Joke. This same guy was also really awful to the child if he forgot an order he would whack him round the head. Even though there are other staff just laying about.

The rooftop is an ok place if you want a beer and a board game, but if you want an enjoyable stay in Hampi, don't stay here. Just don't.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Majjy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Though we did not stay at Evergreen, we came up to the rooftop cafe for a bite in the evening. The ambiance was very chilled out, service was friendly and efficient and the wi fi speed was workable. We tried the Israeli food (falafel, hummus, pita), and that was very tasty, I would recommend it. We went inside to check out the rooms and found them clean and spacious. It sure seemed like the kind of place where you could meet fellow travelers and hang out; I think they even had some board games. The fact that it is located very close to the boat point and in the midst of the market street, is another bonus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here, but certainly wish we did (couldn't get rooms). Excellent food and service at the Cafe - so much so we ended up eating here all the time! A must visit, it is the second place off the river. Raju is very friendly and conversational and always accommodating of any requests. The sort of place that would make you extend your stay!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank abhi_jester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I've stayed there for 3 night last week ! just dropped down by TripAdvisor
reviews., was reached late to Hampi almost around 7:30 and got to know
we cannot reach river after 5 pm :) but some how they managed by someway.

Over all its best place i find in hampi ( Sanapur ) as being traveler all i wants is
Good clean room & Bathroom, excellent Food with ambiance & great music..

all things shutdown after 9pm so its must need good place to hangout in ur guesthouse..
i truly enjoyed my 3 days there ! staff and management are super cool ! had very good time with all of them :)

Room Tip: almost rooms are in front face so all have good placement !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amarpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mayura Bhuvaneshwari Kamalapur
2.6 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#1 of 6 in Hampi
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#4 of 45 in Hampi
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakshmi Heritage Tourist Home
0 mi away
Uma Shankar
Uma Shankar
#16 of 45 in Hampi
18 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Garden Hampi
Golden Garden Hampi
#6 of 29 in Hampi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raju Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raju Guest House

Address: Virupapura Gaddi, Sanapura, | Munirabaad, Gangavathi Tq, Koppala Drt, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: £5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever Green Cafe and Guest house is situated across the river in Hampi with an idyllic view of the green fields and the famous Hampi boulders. We serve, Indian, Mexican, Chinese and Israeli food. As well as this we hire out crash pads, chalk and shoes and are a short walk to the boulders for rock climbing! This pleasant setting is an ideal hang out for both travelers and climbers alike. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing