We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““do not stay here!””
Review of Raju Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raju Guest House
Ranked #25 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2014

That's it, I have staying in bad places but this was the worst ever. No water in room, floor was more comfortable than the bed, the fan in the room was the blades from a jet engine and this is what it sounded like when turned on. We left after one night and forfeited our money, it was worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmand999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've been there in January with other 6 guys.I speak just about the restaurant. I don't know about guest house.
The food is literally crab on the average. All the naan. roti, chapati etc, are almost uneatable. I've seen complaining more or less everyone.
We order 7 indian plates not considering the breads.
Everything was between the ridiculous, the poisony and the barrel decent. 3 Of us has been pretty sick the day after , one the very same night. The malai kofta tastes as a starbucks frappuccino, but hot. the dal where just not there. I never have seen something like this in a touristic place. I strongly advise to avoid to eat there also if the situation is nice. Go there just to grab a beer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimiRocknroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We went to eat here one night with a view to taking 2 rooms. It was so funny to watch the owner and staff try it on with every young naive girl (and getting a degree of success, somehow!), but the food and service suffered badly because they were only thinking of the girls. We did not take the rooms..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Got in here in the afternoon and spent two hours relaxing over lunch and beverages. The food quality is nothing to write home about, but then the very fact that you could endlessly sit and stare at paddy fields being tilled while letting the world come to a standstill was - well...worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pratish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

...and I mean to be all day long. Evergreen cafe became my second home in Hampi. They have very good food and the staff is loveley. Even the "Kid" which is actually NOT a kid anymore (should ask for the age and the backround before you judge...!) makes a lot of fun and is enjoying his job.
The rooms are ok with inside toilet but you should notice that they are close to the cafe what means that it's not the most quiet place as long the cafe is open. The prices are in a normal level for the highseason.
It's a place to hangout and chill or meat nice and shanti people from all over the world and one more point to come here - WiFi is really stable and allways working well.
I love evergreen cafe and I recommend to young or middleaged backpackers or whatever who like to eat well in a smooth and nice atmosphere. Just bring some patience until the food arrives if the restaurant is full (and may ask a second time if the food doesn't come immidiatly ;-) )
come and get your own picture of it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JfBciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a rwally long train journey.

Saw dirty room with unchanged sheets, a broken door & a manky towel.

Left.

Enough said... I really hope this place is cheaper than other places on this side, if you keep walking up you'll find a range of better options.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and it was a horrible experience. The room was dirty and had several large openings with no protection, so we were also sharing with mosquitoes, wasps, lizards etc. the shower was literally not even powerful enough to get off any soap you had put on! The water was brown. The mosquito net was not worth using.

The management here are a joke. They are not interested in customer service unless they are trying to scam you or sleep with you. They could not even remember who had ordered what even if there were 2 people in the restaurant. I guess that's what happens if you leave it all to one child to do all of the work. As it happens he is the nicest person in that place so that is nothing against him. He is about thirteen we think.

We were both violently ill whilst staying - could have been from anything mind, but one of their team offered to take me 10 minutes up the road on the back of his bike to get antibiotics. I thought this was a nice gesture until he asked for RS 400 when we got back. Nice customer service! This is the same bike he will try and force you to rent for RS 200 for the whole day! Joke. This same guy was also really awful to the child if he forgot an order he would whack him round the head. Even though there are other staff just laying about.

The rooftop is an ok place if you want a beer and a board game, but if you want an enjoyable stay in Hampi, don't stay here. Just don't.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Majjy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hema Guest House
Hema Guest House
#8 of 43 in Hampi
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#2 of 43 in Hampi
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thilak Home Stay
Thilak Home Stay
#4 of 43 in Hampi
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gouthami Guest House
Gouthami Guest House
#11 of 27 in Hampi
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shanthi Guesthouse
Shanthi Guesthouse
#14 of 43 in Hampi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raju Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raju Guest House

Address: Virupapura Gaddi, Sanapura, | Munirabaad, Gangavathi Tq, Koppala Drt, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range: £17 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever Green Cafe and Guest house is situated across the river in Hampi with an idyllic view of the green fields and the famous Hampi boulders. We serve, Indian, Mexican, Chinese and Israeli food. As well as this we hire out crash pads, chalk and shoes and are a short walk to the boulders for rock climbing! This pleasant setting is an ideal hang out for both travelers and climbers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raju Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing