We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful, relaxed experience”
Review of Shanthi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shanthi Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 43 Hampi B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“peaceful, relaxed experience”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The best part first: This is an extremely peaceful place. Everything adds up to it: the thatched cottages, the serene paddy fields, the bird calls you wake up to in the morning, the restaurant with relaxed on-the-floor sitting, the quick service and helpful manager Mr. Thakur. And the best place to enjoy all this serenity is from the swing bed in front of the cottage - as another commentator has mentioned - its all quite divine.

The rooms are basic; though I must say my room was pretty clean; the beds were two single cots drawn up together and the mattress was on the harder side.
I did have hot water in my cottage, the fan was working well and the mosquito net was effective.
There are a lot of guesthouses in the 300 meters or so stretch from the river to Shanthi, and most of them were more economically priced; though Shanthi itself does not cost a whole lot.

The restaurant was a kind of hit and miss on the food front: thin crust pizza was good, but definitely avoid the momos and pakodas. An Israeli tourist staying there told me that the Shakshouka was decent, but definitely unlike anything he had back home. The Indian Tandoor items were better; most of all the restaurant is a good place to just relax some more, have a long chat session with friends or just catch up with some reading. Alcohol is available (Its not available in guesthouses on the Hampi side)

If you are staying here, you should be aware that the last ferry crossing over to the Hampi side of the river is at 6 pm; so if you are going to catch a late night train or bus from Hospet, keep this in mind.

You can rent motorbikes from the guesthouses itself, if it is bicycles that you want then there's a shop just in front of the guest house. If you want better food, walk back towards the river - you'll find The Laughing Buddha, I found all of what I ordered very well done, and in addition you have a great view of the river and the Virupaksha temple to accompany your meal.

Room Tip: Definitely chose the paddy field facing rooms. Rooms in the 3* series are better placed, eg 34, 35...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    118
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
28
91
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I spent 5 nights here and it was just divine. The cottages are very basic (I had a very good tariff so no complaints there at all), a little run down (beds a little hard but you get used to it) but sitting on your swinging daybed overlooking the rice paddies, river and landscape of boulder's watching the amazing sunset is just beautiful. It was so peaceful and relaxing I could easily have stayed another week. The staff are great and the menu extensive and the food very good.

Room Tip: Cottage 13 had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenim0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Place is very nice to relax and hang around. The rooms are run down, some of the cottages are smelly, mattress was like a wooden bord. You get better rooms in a guesthouse in hampi for same price. The food was very disapointing, one of the worst thalis I had in India.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Franky_Bing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel really suprises you for its price. The cottages look very nice and their dining area is a great place to chill out. The guest house is right next to the paddy fields and river and the owner (dont remember his name) is very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddavisgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Shanthi guesthouse surprised us in many ways. It is not really a resort, but more of a farm house kind of set up. It is probably the best of the lot in Sanapur (across the river from Hampi). The hotel staff was very courteous, and helpful. Service was prompt. Food quality excellent. Manager Thakur is detail oriented, resourceful and a man of values.

Room Tip: Choose the river facing room, for a good time in hammock, for reading pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soumitrasghosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Reviews for Shanthi were all over the place when I was making reservations so initially, I decided against staying here. As luck would have it, I joined a travel group which ended up staying here. I am happy to say that I had an enjoyable stay. The rooms are basic, nothing fancy. But the layout of the land is so nice and peaceful that you tend not to complain. I did have hot water available in my bathroom. I must have been lucky. The bedding could have been better (softer sheets please?) but many thanks for mosquito nets and a proper fan. The swings outside every cottage were delightful and the dining area with low seating and views of paddy fields was an absolute delight. We were a big group of people but our meals were always on time and very tasty.

Beware though - Hardly any cellphone reception in these parts so you'll have to rely on the guesthouse facilities to make calls or get online.

Another note of caution - the road leading to the guesthouse (from the river bank) is quite bad. On a sunny day, you can walk the distance but brace yourself for a bumpy auto ride if you choose not to walk :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikramts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Shanthi Guesthouse is one of the best places I've stayed. Maybe because it came as a surprise. It is set on a huge piece of land bordering rice fields. It's calm, peaceful, non-intrusive. You can spend hours staring out into the rice fields and enjoying the light breeze. The accommodation is in the form of individual huts. The insides are quite basic, but the best part is the swing in front of every hut. You can sit on the swing and enjoy the breeze for as long as you want.

The service is prompt. The food is good. The cook basically knows everything - Indian, Chinese, Italian, Israeli, etc etc. They serve very quickly.

The way to getting there by road is through a forest area. It's pretty but time consuming. If you want to get there quick, you should go from Hospet to Hampi and cross the river. Keep in mind that the last boat to cross the river is at 6pm.

Overall it was an excellent stay! It's not fancy at all. In fact, it's very back to the basics - with all amenities and all kinds of food, of course.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santanu_Bhattacharya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampi hotels
3.6 mi away
Heritage Resort Hampi
2.9 mi away
Clarks Inn Hampi
Clarks Inn Hampi
#2 of 6 in Hampi
159 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gowri Resort
Gowri Resort
#3 of 43 in Hampi
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mowgli Guest House
Mowgli Guest House
#9 of 43 in Hampi
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rocky Guesthouse
Rocky Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Hampi
264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gopi Guest House
Gopi Guest House
#5 of 43 in Hampi
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanthi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanthi Guesthouse

Property: Shanthi Guesthouse
Address: Cross the River from Hampi | Sanapur, Hampi 583234, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bellary District > Hampi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Hampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shanthi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanthi Guesthouse Hotel Hampi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing