We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, comfortable and friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort View Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fort View Guest House
Ranked #15 of 19 Orchha B&B and Inns
Orchha, India
1 review
“clean, comfortable and friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

i stayed here for two days and room was really nice. clean, quite and good value. people who are running the hotel are freindly and help you at any time. i really recommend it. nice view in the evening for sunset on the fort. wifi is free and works good. hot water is there at any time and nice courtyard in the middle to stay during daytime. they have a nice garden that is kept clean every day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sansirius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I've been to Orchha two times and both times stayed in Fort View Guesthouse. I love it. The rooms are clean with a great variety according to price. A great common garden area with a spectacular view of the river and palace. It's family run and they really work hard to ensure your satisfaction. Even though I wasn't staying in an expensive room they asked me everyday if I needed anything or if everything is okay. They take pride in their work and you can really tell. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

fort view lives up to its name, although it is in the process of a make over it has good potential. the staff are friendly, hot water shower and wifi. very nice and relaxing place, sure it will be better after the construction work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had booked 3 rooms through Internet to this hotel and the 6 of us stayed 1 night in October 2013. The hotel was under renovations and it was the worst place we stayed during our trip in India. The 3 cm thick mattress is terrible and you can feel the wood underneath . My window did not close completely, so there were all kind of bugs in the room and bathroom. In One of the bathrooms, the water was running in the wall. The only positive comment is that we were provided 2 sheets and that the staff was kind. There are plenty of hotels on the main road very close to this one. So I would recommend you check for another one because our rooms were definitely not worth the 800R.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank namasteOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orchha hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

we stayed here for 1 night, the room was really dirty and disgusting, we asked for clean sheets, and they gave us other dirty sheets, the windows didn't close so at night the room was full of mosquitoes and insects.
the matrasses are as hard as wood, it's really difficult to sleep on!! it is very unconfortable!
moreover the guy at the reception tried to cheat us, we had an agreement with an autorickshaw driver (200 rs to jhansi railway station) and at the very last moment the receptionist told us that he called another rickshaw so that the price would be 300 rupees!!! we had a train just 1 hour later and he knew that we were in a hurry.. we were lucky because we found another one for 200 rupees but the receptionist really mosbeahved himself!!!
we don't recommend this guesthouse to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Nice & clean place.
Good price-quality balance.
Friendly staff.
Ask for the room with river view.

Nice & clean place.
Good price-quality balance.
Friendly staff.
Ask for the room with river view.

Nice & clean place.
Good price-quality balance.
Friendly staff.
Ask for the room with river view.

Nice & clean place.
Good price-quality balance.
Friendly staff.
Ask for the room with river view.Nice & clean place.
Good price-quality balance.
Friendly staff.
Ask for the room with river view.Nice & clean place.
Good price-quality balance.
Friendly staff.
Ask for the room with river view.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBVVVDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at night and were shown to a room at the back of the garden.

The room had a large bed and ceiling fan and a particularly large bathroom. The hotel (and Orchha itself) has a lot of insects and the room was full of them. The bath/shower was also full of flies.

Showering was a 2-person job as the pipe connecting to the shower head did not attach to the tap. We were also not able to shower when we left the hotel at 5.30am as there was no running water!

The location is excellent for walking around Orchha.

It was easy to get to the hotel from Jhansi station which is 18km away and when we left Orchha we left from the newly built Orchha station which is only 5km away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orchha hotels
0.3 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 8 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
0.6 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#5 of 8 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#6 of 8 in Orchha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#7 of 8 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchha Resort
The Orchha Resort
#1 of 8 in Orchha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort View Guest House

Property: Fort View Guest House
Address: Main Road Orchha | Main Road Orchha, Orchha 472246, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Orchha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel fort view orchha is good place in orchha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fort View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing