We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really liked this place!”
Review of The Orchha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchha Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I really enjoyed staying here and don't have any faults! Clean rooms, air conditioning that worked well, wifi in the foyer. In a great location as you were able to walk everywhere. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

All the rooms are all on the ground floor and some rooms look out on the swimming pool. In rooms facing the pool, there may be occasional daytime noise, and in order to have some privacy, it may be necessary keep the curtains closed all the time.
Air blowing from the a/c tended to blow directly down onto the bed, which we found annoying.
The only really unpleasant thing was that there is no hot water in the evenings. The hot water is turned on at 6 a.m. for 4 or 5 hours.
The restaurant buffet serves good food although it is not the best Indian cuisine. The resort accepts tour groups, so we managed to have dinner when the groups were not there.
If the Google map indicates that the resort’s location is east of town near the palaces, this is not correct. The correct location is: south of the village on the river, next to the Chatris. There are no views of the river. Orchha is small and it is easy to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed Here for the One night , Orchha Resort Pool is good , View from the Resort is excellent .
Nearest Resort from the Betwa River , Staff of the resort is not good , there service is very Poor .
While selecting the Accommodation go for the Rooms ,Rooms are the Better Options then Tent .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kushal_987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a tour, so I can't comment on the prices. Plus we stayed in the tents which, if I'm not mistaken, are cheaper than the regular hotel rooms.

The tents were comfortable, although it took a long time to get cool-ish (it was up around 40-45 degrees outside). The toilet/shower facilities in the tents are basic but, like the room itself, clean and tidy. I was still in the final stages of Delhi-Belly, and this was a great place to rest and recover.

I had lunch and breakfasts in the restaurant; the food was fine.

The hotel is set right near a ruined temple complex, and an easy walk to the Ram temple.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Hastwokitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

After 5 hectic days in 3 Indian cities, a horrendous 5 hour train journey followed by a bumpy, cramped taxi ride and an explosive rumbling growing in my bowels I was ready to jump in the river and end everything.

Luckily we were booked into the Orchha Resort which presented me an opportunity to unwind in picturesque surroundings in a very clean and well kept hotel. We were presented with the Maharaja suite which was very spacious and luxurious and had the best bed of the entire tour. I spent a whole day recovering in it and could not recommend a better bed in north India.

The restaurant was OK, the waiters were quite surly and seemed to make up how much tax was applied to each meal on a person by person basis, even the accountants couldn't work out how they reached their conclusions. Food was average, Beer was expensive. Free wifi and great art work in the lobby (Pictures the story of Lord Ram).

Location was nice, outside the town with a nice riverside walk to the temples. People were very friendly in general. Our stay was a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the Indian cities and came at the right time. A very decent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fat_aj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Orchha is a place which pulls you out of urban mess and helps you to live a simple life with historical places , clean river, a small market around you.

Once inside the resort, the look and feel of being in well maintained place in the rural backdrop created it s own charm. The food quality and related service can be further improved though.

However the hotel needs to seriously work on the quality of beds as one just sinks in badly. Good part for rooms was that AC was quite effective

Ram raja temple has its own religious significance which cannot be ignored by any visitor.

The light and sound show in the evening helps in understanding the entire history of Orchha and is quite well scripted.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amit28_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The tents were out of commission due to a wedding celebration, so we stayed in the hotel. It was clean and beautifully decorated, with a lot of nice painting and marblework. It was an easy walk to everywhere in the beautiful town and the forts, and was in general a clean, comfortable, lovely place to relax. However the restaurant buffet is overpriced and the staff never had change despite constantly fishing for tips.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orchha hotels
0.1 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
1.4 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#7 of 9 in Orchha
19 reviews
2.6 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#5 of 9 in Orchha
170 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#8 of 9 in Orchha
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchha Resort

Address: Kanchanghat | Distt. Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range: £27 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Orchha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchha Hotel Orchha
The Hotel Orchha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing