We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pretty Property”
Review of Amar Mahal Orchha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amar Mahal Orchha
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Amar Mahal is a beautifully designed single floor property with a portico with outdoor sitting areas surrounding the rooms and a flower garden in the center. The rooms are very large with a sitting area and large bath. The pool area is huge, peaceful area with comfortable lounges and umbrellas making for a delightful rest from touring. The staff is very friendly and wants to be sure you are having a very good time. The restaurant staff is very pleasant and the food is excellent with many choices. This hotel could be a luxury property with a bit of updating and some added amenities. But I liked it very much and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

When you think of a small city like Orchha, you don't expect much by way of 'luxury'. In fact, judging by the size of the city, you can't really be blamed for such a judgement. That is, until I stayed at Amar Mahal. The hotel is beautiful, and the rooms were done up so well and tastefully, that I hardly felt like I was in a city without its own railway station. The only drawback was the food, which was alright, but could be improved to match the standards of the decor and even the service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoumyaDasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The heritage-style hotel is situated a 5-10 minute stroll from the village centre and main tourist sights and possesses a nice garden with excellent vistas. The rooms are all at ground level and placed around a large courtyard or the swimming pool. The restaurant provides a buffet breakfast and buffet/a la carte options for the evening; food quality was acceptable.

Given the location and building style, I feel that the hotel could easily become a deluxe establishment (albeit some upgrading of the room decor and bathrooms would be necessary as is frequently the case in India). I assume, however, that the owners are content for it to remain price competitive thereby attracting mid-range tour groups rather than up-market travellers. This in no way detracted from my stay and I was happy to have only to bear the lower costs associated with this approach.

One word of warning. I checked with reception prior to arrival whether credit card payment was possible and was advised that this was the case, subject to a suitable internet connection being available. Needless to say, such connection was unavailable as I checked out so I was obliged to pay with cash.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabascoleathergrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I have been traveling the world for many years now but I have never been to a hotel with a more impudent staff. When we arrived at the hotel our room had been given to couple of a bigger group of travelers who apparently meant more money for the hotel. This was regrettable but maybe understandable from a business point of view. However the way the staff "dealt" with the problem was unacceptable!

We were told that we should go to another hotel (no "sorry" or anything) around the corner that apparently belonged to friends of the staff even though there were other "good" hotels in Orcha available. The other hotel was really old and run down (bucket in the bathroom, dirty floors, empty pool, bad breakfast etc.) and cost less than half the price of the Amar Mahal. Instead of giving us the room on a complimentary basis (which we did not take for granted) the staff of the Amar Mahal even refused to refund us the difference of the price between the two hotels! Their only offer was that we could have dinner at their hotel (which was quite a lousy buffet) but they saw themselves unable to return our money. After a long time of negotiating we could finally convince them to return at least some of our money that was then given to us rather reluctantly.

Therefore our suggestion: If you need a reliable hotel with just a little bit of courtesy stay away from this one!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tittoml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Once you decided to go to places like to orchha for full relaxing,chilling out, having some afternoon beer type stuff, then this is the best place. Since orchha is an historical place so hotel is designed with heritage look. rooms are spacious, bathrooms are good, though u might feel tat luxury piece missing but u can feel lie a king there. Food is very basis and average but staff is really good. One suggestion, management should make wifi free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saurabh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is on a walking distance from all the important places of this beautiful small village. The structure is elegant, with nice rooms (bathroom need to be renewed but this is a constant in India), beautiful garden, stunning view from the terrace and swimming pool which should be cleaned more often. Restaurant is ok

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed 4 nights in this Hotel. It was a bit of travel from Delhi. Took an express train to Jhansi (5 hours) and then 1 hour by car. It is situated by the bank of river Betwa. The hotel is designed with a heavy influence of Mogul Architecture with number of blocks and court yards. Even the furniture are with ancient looking. The rooms are good in quality, very spacious and looks very elegant. I have no complaints to make about the room quality, surrounding and the architectural beauty. But the internet connection was very poor and left me without any connections during my whole stay. So it might not a good place for remote connections. The food was average and I was bored with same buffet menu for 4 days. The rooms are situated in clusters with small common court yards like in many Mogul buildings.

This place is surrounded with many historical locations including Orchha Palace. All these places are in walking distance. Orchha is not a big town but you have all what you need in the market. I felt walking around in the night is not safe. Early morning walk to Betwa river would be a good experience.

Room Tip: Don't select a room by the pool side. It become very noisy. I prefer rooms by the small Gym. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangaLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
1.6 mi away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
0 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#5 of 9 in Orchha
166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bundelkhand Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Faagun Haveli Orchha
Faagun Haveli Orchha
#4 of 9 in Orchha
16 reviews
7.6 mi away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
103 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#8 of 9 in Orchha
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Mahal Orchha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Mahal Orchha

Address: By Pass Road | District Tikamgarh, Orchha 472246, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range: £46 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amar Mahal Orchha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amar Mahal is situated at a stone throw away from the banks of River Betwa, about 18 kms from Jhansi railway station. Amar Mahal, Orchha is located in a calm and serene zero polluted area, completely away from the hustle –bustle of the city. The strategic location of Amar Mahal ensures a panoramic view of the monuments, surrounding hills and wildlife sanctuary. Enjoy the breathtaking view of sunset and sunrise from the lawns and the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amar Mahal Orchha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amar Mahal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing