We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buffet Lunch was disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bundelkhand Riverside
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Buffet Lunch was disappointing.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had some time to kill before we had to catch a train to Agra, so our guide brought us here for lunch...we did not stay here overnight; therefore this review is for dining only. The dining area was average and the food was okay. The tablecloths were dirty and I wasn't quite sure if the napkins/glasses were clean either. The service was not the greatest , as it seemed to take quite some time for them to deliver our drinks. There was not menu but only a buffet to eat from and Indian fare was the mainstay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    132
    84
    36
    23
See reviews for
76
161
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A little investment would go a long way to making this a great place to stay.

This hotel has a lot to offer – wonderful grounds, an inviting pool, access to the Betwa River, as well as a manager and staff that we found helpful, accommodating and very service-oriented. Rooms are large, with porticos looking out to the river. Bathrooms are spacious as well. The food was well prepared, though in off-season there was no breakfast buffet; the servers and chef were happy to modify anything to order and the fresh dahi/yogurt with fruit was extraordinary.

However, the facility has aged, with the result that we encountered a variety of problems - AirCon that doesn’t cool the large room (in part due to open vents to the outside), fans and lights that didn’t work, odd plugs and patchy wiring to work around the electric, and oddly lack of cold water in the system. The staff tried to help in all of this, but some things can’t readily be fixed. Bedding and towels were clean, though the heavy quilts beneath were stained and towels seemed somewhat worn.

The place is out of the way, a plus for some due to quietness, but not so easy to get to town/monuments without driver and car. The hotel can arrange transport of course.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was clearly once boutique, unique, beautiful with pool and riverside views but it has suffered and is not being maintained. The pool was not in use and boats advertised on their website were not available. The mealtime buffets were not being offered. Staff were friendly and keen to help but good service cannot make up for the condition hotel. It's sad it was clearly once beautifully decorated and the evening live music is really quite magical.

Room Tip: Check the ac works before you take the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelwallach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanpur, India
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

After reading such rave reviews in tripadvisor, had some expectations for this place but after seeing the condition of rooms and washroom, we were quite dejected.. The pool was also in shambles.. There is no tv in the room as mentioned in the travel website and no phone no cold water.. The Ac has been fixed in one corner of the room.. So overall it is lacking in all major aspects and can really improve a lot to live upto the expectations of even an average traveller

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vipul556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orchha hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I visited this hotel with friends in January 2014, just after celebration new year at Khajuraho. This place is about an hour from the Jhansi railway station, situated in the beautiful and peaceful city of Orchha. The highlight of the city is the Orchha river and its magnificent historic monuments, which epitomize the reign of Bundela dynasty.

The hotel is beautifully located on the banks of the Orchha river, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. However, tuk tuk can be arranged by the hotel to reach the main market area. After that, everything else can be easily covered on foot as Orchha is a very small town.

Most of the room have a balcony facing the river, which is just a two minute walk away. You can enjoy this private riverside of the hotel, which is very peaceful and relaxing. The hotel property is also a treat to the eye. They have a terrace lined with beautiful trees and flowers on either side, where you can stroll around or just sit and get a bird's eye view of the Orchha river and the entire city. Or else, you can just dip your legs in the clean and pristine Orccha river and drown in the natural beauty around you.

The food is simply amazing and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have ever had. There are a variety of cuisines and everything we tried was delicious. In the night, they arranged a bonfire and some local folk dance which was entertaining. You can also enjoy the star studded sky from the balcony, as the riverside gets totally dark in the night with absolutely no lights

Now why I gave only three stars to this hotel after such an impressive review above is because I just hated the ambiance of the room and bathroom. The rooms are in a dilapidated condition with worn out bed sheets and mattresses. It almost renders a gloomy and dull look to the room. We chose to stay out most of the times and only cam back to sleep. The toilet as well as the linens were totally dirty as well. The hotel staff was not courteous at all. They have a culture of social tipping where all the tips are collected in a common kitty and equally distributed. Therefore, no incentives for the staff to smile and make the guest feel comfortable

I may only go back to this place if the conditions are improved

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the middle section that face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priya140986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Definitively has seen better days but it is situated very nice on the banks of a river. The rooms are spacious but not the cleanest ones. However the view from the rooms are really nice, it's just a few meters to the river. Very calm ! Good kitchen, and a really nice garden.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Deepdivepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
566 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We did not stay here, but had lunch in the restaurant. The food was average, except for the cauliflower dish and the ice cream, which were very good. The resort is on a river, and the surroundings were quiet and you have the feeling you can really get away from it all here. The facility and landscape of the property were all a bit on the worn out side. It was very pleasant to go down by the river.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orchha
1.3 mi away
Amar Mahal Orchha
Amar Mahal Orchha
#2 of 9 in Orchha
645 reviews
0.9 mi away
Raj Mahal The Palace
Raj Mahal The Palace
#3 of 9 in Orchha
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchha Palace and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
JenJon Faagun Haveli Orchha
7.0 mi away
Jhansi Hotel
Jhansi Hotel
#1 of 14 in Jhansi
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sunrise
Hotel Sunrise
#8 of 9 in Orchha
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundelkhand Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundelkhand Riverside

Property: Bundelkhand Riverside
Address: TikamgarhDist, Orchha 472246, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Tikamgarh District > Orchha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Orchha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bundelkhand Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bundelkhand Riverside is built on 50 acres of land on the banks of the River Betwa in Orchha and the old house, which still exists, was used as a hunting lodge cum guest house. The present retreat is an addition to the old construction that dates back to 1895. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bundelkhand Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundelkhand Riverside Orchha
Bundelkhand Riverside Hotel Orchha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing