We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Shannu's Ranch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shannu's Ranch Inn
Ranked #23 of 86 Pushkar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ranch inn
a place to enjoy in India .
shannu's ranch inn is a place we highly recommend . this place is so quite between the mountain and walking distance from the market area.
the environment in the Ranch inn is amazing . home made fresh Indian food cannot forget the ta st . rooms are so cozy and comfortable very nice lighting .
big garden to do yoga . early morning tea in the garden with fresh air .guys please do go and experience the ranch inn .very nice .......no pollution romantic dinner under the stars ........must stay .....Marc and his family is always ready to help .......they also organise .......camel safari ,Bonfire, camp in the desert very nice and at a reasonable rate.
allot of constraction is going on to develop this place ...very soon this place going to be the best hotel in pushkar...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stive l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having found Shannus Ranch in the Lonely Planet knowing how much my girlfriend would appreciate the opportunity to do some horse riding, we were not disappointed.

Marc, our French-Canadian host, gave us a warm welcome, recommending some nearby restaurants for our evening arrival. Our rustic room was simply furnished, albeit cosy, with a basic bathroom.

Despite my horse riding ability and experience being non-existent, Marc was happy for us to take the horses out with his friendly stableman.

We enjoyed a home-cooked dinner with Marc on our second evening, whilst listening to stories of his time in Indian, washed down with a cold apple juice!

One of our most interesting experiences in India, we would highly recommend Shannus ranch, even for non-horse riders!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Pushkar. The rooms have an cottage/old barn atmosphere which is refreshing after 2 weeks of staying in hotels. The ranch is small but homely, with 5 horses and approx 15 dogs and some cows (DONT GO IF YOURE NOT AN ANIMAL LOVER!). Marc and his family are welcoming and friendly, but not so much when we had trouble with our amenities and needed assistance. The shower/bathroom in our suite was the only downfall of our room, with an untiled floor and a dodgy shower that leaked and rarely produced hot water. We had dinner around the bonfire on one of our nights which was enjoyable, however the cost was Rs.275 for only a moderate amount of average food
The dogs and horses were very noisy but overall good stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizak777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here one night because we wanted to do some horse riding. Unfortunately, it's not really worth it if you aren't an experienced rider. We hardly got any instructions and had to ask for someone to go with us after we were told we were expected to go alone. Some nice views of the mountains and rural life on the ride though. Both the horse riding and the room were quite expensive too, although the rooms are beautiful but the hotel is not in a great location. Don't stay here if you don't like animals, the place is almost like a petting zoo. After one night (we were planning on two originally) we moved to Navratan Palace close to the Brahma temple which was cheaper and and overall a better place to stay in Pushkar.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Joost V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Inexpensive rustic cottage-style accommodation which was more comfortable than expected. Enjoyable outdoor home-cooked dinner is offered by Marc and his wife after which you can sit and have friendly chat by a small bonfire. Be prepared to hear the occasional barking dog during the night and the early-morning chanting from the nearby temple... after all, this is India!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My partner was very sceptical about my choice of accommodation at Shannu's ranch in Pushkar. However on arrival, Marc made us feel very welcome and we felt very relaxed. A very pleasant feeling after the hustle and bustle of Jaipur. We immediately felt at home relaxing with welcome drinks in the yard and Marc invited us to share in the evening meals outside with himself other guests. Despite Pushkar being an alcohol free zone, Marc was happy to share beer with us too. He was very friendly and gave us plenty of information about everything.
The hut was comfortable enough but we did have some issues with water in the bathroom at times. Bathroom could have been cleaner but at the end of the day you are staying on a ranch (I wouldn't call it a hotel) and it only costs 700 rupees a night. No towels were provided but were given out on request.
We did hear some noise in the night. There was a lot of drumming/music for a relatvely short time at dawn (4.30am) but this is fairly common in India (to welcome the dawn!) Also dogs barking etc. However we did get 2 nights' good sleep so no complaints.
I was a bit concerned to have Marc's alsatian dogs running up and barking at us when we arrived back on 2nd evening, but they were harmless. These dogs had been tied up during the day. As an animal lover I had been a bit concerned about this, but they all seemed very happy sleeping under the trees by day and were well looked after as were the lovely horses.
I'd have liked to have seen the horses taken out but made do with admiring them from a distance.
All in all, a welcome alternative to hotels, with more of a relaxed atmosphere staying on a ranch. Ideal for the kind of traveller that Pushkar attracts but not if you want all mod cons. Would have been nice to hang out there for a few days. I would definitely stay there again and perhaps arrange horse riding next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

At Shannus Inn, you can almost feel that you are part of the lovely family that owned this charming b&b. The place is quiet and very pleasant and downtow is not too far! We had the familly room and it was perfectly clean and spacious, with some cute geckos! We are french canadien too, and it was a pleasure to meet with Jean-Marc who live there for more than 20 years. We stayed 2 nights, have great talk with the him, he was really friendly and had many stories to tell! And the food... It was the best food we have on our travel, just amazing! And the breakfest pancake with homemade marmalade was delicious! We recommend this place to anyone who prefer a more authentic and personal experience! Thank you to all the family!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fliflie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pushkar hotels
0.8 mi away
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
Gulaab Niwaas Palace
#10 of 47 in Pushkar
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn Seventh Heaven
Inn Seventh Heaven
#4 of 86 in Pushkar
998 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#1 of 86 in Pushkar
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kanhaia Haveli
Hotel Kanhaia Haveli
#2 of 86 in Pushkar
1,490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ananta Spa & Resorts
Ananta Spa & Resorts
#3 of 47 in Pushkar
1,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Country Side Resort
The Country Side Resort
#1 of 47 in Pushkar
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannu's Ranch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannu's Ranch Inn

Address: Panch Kund Road, Pushkar 305022, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Pushkar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Pushkar
Price Range: £16 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shannu's Ranch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing