We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people, great food.”
Review of Hotel Akash

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akash
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Very nice people, great food.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Myself and two others stayed here for a week. The staff was very accommodating, and made us delicious homemade food at all times of the day. Their food was my favorite in Pushkar, and very reasonably priced. The communal area/restaurant spot were super nice to hang out in. This is located in a quiet corner of Pushkar too, so sleep was pretty peaceful.
Pavan set us up with a few things to do around Pushkar, without setting us up on a rip-off tour or something. He was just constantly nice and helpful.
As far as the complaints that it's a budget hotel... well yeah, it's a budget hotel in India. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms, and had no issues. The bed was big, soft enough. The attached bathroom wasn't great, but we also had access to a nicer one upstairs. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9Kali9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
21
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

hostel is run by the very friendly family and located just next to the main street by the lake, not far from the Brahma's Temple. Rooms are neat and cosy, rooftop restaurant with good selection of meals and delicious. all at the resonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pia_qcner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Akash hotel and I have to say it was a fantastic find! Pavan was really welcoming and has really good English which always helps.. He was ready to help us with all his local knowledge and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is An old Havali and has been in Pavan's family for years. We payed 400 rps for a private room with shower. The rooms are basic (as havali's are) and clean, hot show etc... It has a fantastic roof terrace where we enjoyed a chai in the morning sun. The rooftop restaurant is cosy and quiet with nice decor, hammock for chilling out..

The hotel is in a great location just off the main tourist drag of Pushkar. The bus from Jaipur dropped us 2minutes walk away which was really handy and everything is well within easy reach.

Overall I would definitely stay at the Akash again and hope to do so in the future.

Thank you Pavan!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Hotel Akash was a great value stay. The restaurant and communal area was really nicely decorated and created a hostel feel which was nice for chilling out with others in the evenings. Room was very small, with a double bed only just fitting in, but being all that we needed it was absolutely fine. Shared bathroom facilities were clean and hot water was available! Staff were super friendly and went out of their way to help us organise transport. Really great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend hotel Akash. The rooms are very basic but are clean and have everything you need. Plus the attached restaurant is great and the staff are ready to help you with anything.
It is in an excellent location and is a great place for budget travelers.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This place was not dismal, but really not worth the money we paid.

Cons:
1. We paid extra for the attached bathroom, and did not get anything for it. We have been in India for 3 weeks, have stayed in many budget places. This place was not worth the money. There was NO SINK, just faucets, so when you washed your hands after the toilet, the water went down onto your feet. The faucets leaked, so the floor was permanently wet, hence moldy. Hard to be in the room with my asthma and allergies. The showerhead, for which we paid so much, did not actually work. I showered using the hot water tap, and scalded myself trying to rinse my hair against the mold-covered wall.
2. No sheets
3. No towels
4. To get hot water involved walking upstairs to flip a switch that was inside the shower of the shared bathroom, wait 20 min, then use the hot water (not the end of the world by any means, but defeated the purpose of the private bath because we could not take a shower while someone was taking one in the shared shower)
5. We had booked online, where only the rooms with attached baths were listed. When we arrived, we asked for a room for some friends for the next night, and were told that there were rooms without attached baths, for about 500 rupees. When our friends found another place, we then asked if we could have that room for the next night. We were told that it was not available. Now, I fully understand if they have to keep their bookings as is. We booked for one kind of room, and if we have to stay in that room, I get it. However, that was not the reason given. Instead, it was "That room is not available". He had just told us, about 2 minutes prior, in the same conversation, without any new information being given to him, that it WAS available. Not cool
6. REALLY spotty wifi.
7. No AC

Pros:
1. Wifi included in price
2. Basically quiet hotel
3. Rooftop restaurant, like most of the hotels in Pushkar
4. Pleasant staff
5. Working fan for cooling off

Try somewhere else first or take a room with shared bath

Room Tip: Get room with shared bath No really "quiet" room Look for mold in room first if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeKoala2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The friendliest staff gave us a room when the unsuspected few days of rain during the Mela 2010 rendered our rooftop tents useless. It's a perfect location with respects to the fairground as well as the centre of Pushkar. The rooftop is a great spot to hang out, read, or enjoy the effects of the bhang balls.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pushkar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Prem Villas
Hotel Prem Villas
#3 of 42 in Pushkar
539 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Everest
Hotel Everest
#1 of 80 in Pushkar
972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Backpacker Panda Chand Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zostel Pushkar
Zostel Pushkar
#1 of 93 in Pushkar
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Madpackers, Pushkar
The Madpackers, Pushkar
#4 of 93 in Pushkar
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ananta Spa & Resorts
Ananta Spa & Resorts
#4 of 42 in Pushkar
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akash

Property: Hotel Akash
Address: Near Brahma Temple | Badi Basti, Pushkar 305022, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Ajmer District > Pushkar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Pushkar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our place is a small hostel with a lovely chill-out café/restaurant on the roof top. Our holy neem tree in the middle invites you to enjoy the shanti atmosphere of Pushkar. It only takes 2 min. by walk to the famous Brahma-Temple which is unique in the world and the center of Pushkar is very close. The holy Pushkar Lake can be reached in 5 min by walk as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Akash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing