We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 20-year-old dream finally realized!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Burg Bernstein
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bernstein
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I cannot say enough about the hospitality and atmosphere of Burg Bernstein! The food is exceptional and the service even more so. Your hosts will see to it that everything you need is taken care of!

Don't come looking for a 5-star hotel. This is a castle, people, complete with the odd creepy crawly. If you're looking for "chic" and "trendy" this place is not for you. But if you want a quiet retreat in an authentic castle with breath taking views, this is for you! The swimming pool was an unexpected bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

I visited Burg Bernstein with my family during their visit to Burgenland and our visit was truly a unique and fantastic experience! The castle itself is very well maintained and very clean. The furniture is all original to the castle and is of beautiful quality. Once we arrived we were greeted by a charming young man who showed us around the grounds and the castle itself. After our tour we had delicious homemade cake and coffee. The staff is incredibly friendly and all speak English quite well. As for the location, the views are spectacular and the castle is close to many vineyards many of which people can visit. We definitely did this during our stay. Would highly recommend to those out looking for a unique and historical experience. Will definitely come again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Schloss is located in a breath-taking area.

It took my breath away because it was very cold, a few degrees above freezing, in late May.

Had to buy a sweater.

I was not thrilled by the idea of staying in a castle, me, a little commoner. But why not?

I gave it a try.

So, we were given a suite on the 2nd floor.

Huge rooms, small semi-modern bathroom.

Don't forget to bring your own toiletries ( there were 2 half-empty tiny bottles of shampoo, no conditioner, no body cream). Only the soap (l'Occitane) was nice, but you had to carry it from the tub/shower to the sink and back.

No Wi-Fi in the suite, but you can get it in the salon on the ground floor. At least I did.

No TV, of course.

Poor lightning made it hard to read at night.

Nice views from the windows.

I got used to the dilapidated suite, grew fond of it in a way, with the broken tiles, holes in the parquet, dust everywhere, and Maria-Theresa watching me from her frame in "my" anti-chamber. Pleasantly silly.

The breakfast was out of this world.
Loved every minute of the ritualistic meal.

We had two dinners (table d'hote) there. You don't have a choice of the menu. You eat or not what they serve you. At least, you know more or less what you are getting, you accept or not to eat there. Pretty bland.

The dinners were prepared by the castle owner whose grand-mother, she said, was an Esterhazy princess. Must be hard for her to serve food to the plebeians that we are. Just kidding. The woman was nice.

But someone must pay to keep the castle erect.

You will.

Close to $300 a night. (breakfast included)

1 dinner: $ 53 per person ; wine (2 bottles of the local wine) and mineral water for 2 nights: $120.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed over at Burg Bernstein over the Pentecost holiday in Austria with a few friends. I found the hotel to be a breath of fresh air. It truly is a unique hotel with a friendly staff. Luckily we arrived after a wedding party had just left, so we had the castle almost to ourselves. I really like that the owners have attempted preserve the castle in its original form. When you walk the grounds you will be able to see the history of the Castle in the walls. Additionally, there is no Wi-Fi or Satellite TV around the place, to give an authentic feel to it. The Dining room itself offers a wonderful atmosphere. There is no electricity in the Dining room, thus there are candles everywhere for candle-lit dinners. The Castle itself has various small beautiful gardens with fantastic views of the surrounding hills. The rooms themselves were spacious and had what looked to be the original furniture. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and look forward to going back the next time the chance arises.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Rising out of the trees above the village of Bernstein, the Burg commands stunning views across Burgenland. The grounds and its surrounds are a delight to walk through, and full of interesting nooks and crannies to explore. The owners are terrifically welcoming and accommodating, with a detailed knowledge, a sharp sense of humour, and a keen eye for the curious.

Lit by candle or open fire, evenings were wonderfully atmospheric, especially with the aid of a few ancient ghost stories. Keep an eye out for the falcons nesting high in the castle walls!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My husband and I were married at Burg Bernstein in 1997. Joining us were family and friends who also stayed at the castle and enjoyed it's unique offerings. We returned to the castle in 2007 as part of our 10th anniversary celebration and again in 2013 because we couldn't wait 5 more years until our 20th! For us the hotel is a place that transports us back in time. We are always struck by the amazing history, imagining as we walk the grounds -- the very stone steps soldiers and kings walked -- what it would have been like to live in those times. We're in awe of the history (on display in every room and hallway) and that the family today is able to maintain such an amazing structure. Alex, the owner was extremely accommodating, even picking us up this last visit from the bus drop off 20 minutes away. This last trip we were treated to seeing some of the most recent discoveries at the castle -- an arch found under smooth white plaster that was part of the original castle construction and a specially constructed bathroom used by a king hundreds of years ago. When we're there we wish we could be transported back in time to witness the history that permeates every brick and stone. And, at the same time, we imagine what the grounds will be like 700 years in the future. As for the accommodations the rooms are very comfortable, with amazing views. This year they even had internet available in the courtyard and "the tavern" (a living room of sorts). The meals: We can say nothing but great things about our meals at the castle. To start, we were asked if we had any special eating requirements, which we did not. Every meal's presentation was absolutely beautiful. For breakfast, coffee and hot cream are served in metal crafted containers. Eggs are made to order, breads, cheeses and meats are rich in flavor and artfully presented as is the fresh fruit plate. We love that dinner is served by candlelight. Yes, the food is local cuisine, which is not super "fancy" but it's authentic and very well prepared. We have no complaints and look forward to coming back on our next trip to Austria.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Located this living piece of history in the western part of Austria. Yes, and those places where it is located, deserve special attention. On the way from Vienna to Graz, near the beautiful picturesque lake Neusiedler See-spread this castle. Manages the hospitable couple Berger - Diamonds. These people are guests, not as guests, as well as longtime friends, and almost like family.
Bernstein Castle - a masterpiece of architecture bastion. The castle looks like an oval, broad, almost fortress walls, with narrow windows, a very small number of towers. The incredible beauty of the garden inside the castle. Surrounds the Castle wilderness, here are a golf course. Golf, by the way, this is another reason that attracts visitors here. Nearby is the famous golf club.
The owners of the castle was practically impossible. They kept the castle in almost original form. Here is a similar situation, the furniture, which was at the "royal treatment", so to speak. Visitors of this hotel are transferred to the chivalrous era with the first step in the castle.
High ceilings, heavy wooden chairs with high backs, a real fireplace that time, and in working condition, the furnace in porcelain tiles. That is, in fact, the castle looks like a museum, but this hotel. The fundamental rule of the family owners of the hotel Diamond - nor any sign of civilization in the form of televisions and telephones. This pleasant talk, sitting in a burning fireplace, sipping whiskey and talking about everything. This is not just for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is a real meal. By candlelight, in the great "Knight Hall" on the chair, which can be sat the Emperor Frederick of Austria third.

All the dishes in this castle-hotel, the lady prepares herself, and is preparing to present wood-fired oven. Especially among the guests is a success, its soup of spinach and a delicious chocolate mousse.
The hotel has a huge library, which has about 30,000 volumes. Among them are very rare instances, such as rarity Card 1500s. Has a special value and guestbook of this hotel. His signature is left thank Franz Josef von Habsburg, Emperor of Austria, Regina von Habsburg, Otto von Habsburg and other popular personality and politics.
Each room in the castle has its own history. In one of them lived in the desert known researcher Laszlo Diamond, a prototype of the hero of "The English Patient." In other rooms lived Hungarian Ambassador to Turkey, the Countess Esterhazy. One of the bathrooms in these rooms is dated 1922!
The special flavor, attractiveness to tourists at the castle Bernstein are local legends about ghosts. It is possible, and now you can meet with the ghost of the son of the first owner of the castle - John von Güssing. John was a tall giant with a bright red beard and hair, for which he earned the nickname "Ivan the Red". He died in 1279, but his ghost still roams the castle. Visits the Castle and the sad "white" woman Katarina Frescobaldi, who according to legend, drowned herself in the bathroom, and the vaults of the castle is sometimes announce her plaintive cries.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Irunchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Burg Bernstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Burg Bernstein

Address: Schlossweg 1, Bernstein 7434, Austria
Region: Austria > Burgenland > Bernstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bernstein
Price Range: £133 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Burg Bernstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing