We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Family Hotel”
Review of Hotel Karwendelhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Karwendelhof
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Quirky Family Hotel”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here for one week with my husband in the first week of September.We found the staff to be friendly and welcoming,and the three waitresses in the restaurant were particularly friendly and accommodating.Although on an all inclusive package,we had a menu on our table each day,with a choice of 3 main courses.This was a lovely change from the usual buffet style AI in most other hotels in which we have stayed.It was also a nice touch to be allocated a specific table for the week.The beer and red wine under the AI were perfectly acceptable.The supply of a packed lunch was useful on the days we went walking.I had upgraded to superior room with south facing balcony-the view was lovely.The room was spacious,although the decor felt a bit tired,and the bathroom could do with an upgrade,especially the shower screen ,which didn't fit properly!The new sauna area is very pleasant,although was a bit disappointed not to have a jacuzzi.the public areas are comfortable ,a typical rustic Austrian feelTthe hotel is ideally situated,and no noise from the train station ,and only a little from the casino around 2 in the morning-a very minor niggle.All in all ,a very enjoyable stay,where one felt like a guest,and not just a number.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d.currie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    44
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
34
72
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Karwendelhof has been refurbished beautifully since many of the photos even on their own website and marketing were taken - the basement jacuzzi area has now been replaced by a really well designed relaxation spa with steam room, saunas, infra red cabin and more! The dining room has also been given a fresher look with new carpet and seating. Ignore the Casinohotel moniker, the casino is next door and you really don't see or hear it at all unless you want to visit separately.
We stayed in room 411 on the top floor overlooking the Dorfplatz bandstand and park area with fabulous mountain views from our 2 balconies. It was a huge comfortable room and they've got the mix of original and modern features just right. The bathroom was absolutely spotless with separate bath and shower cubicle and plenty of good quality wash products which was a lovely surprise.
But what makes this hotel so special is the downstairs open plan reception and bar area, with the feel of a mountain hunting lodge. Think wooden floors and ceiling, hanging lamps and cosy nooks with squidgy sofas and luxurious rugs. Stunning!
We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were impressed by the quality of the beautifully prepared meals and the hugely welcoming staff. They looked after me very well with great vegetarian options every night, including at the 5 course gala dinner night on the Tuesday. I still found it a novelty by the end of our stay to go and pull myself a glass of beer or pour myself a glass of wine whenever I wanted one too!
Thoroughly recommended for an authentic relaxing stay in a great location right opposite the train and bus station in Seefeld.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room (we stayed in 411 which is really large with 2 balconies and a huge modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmSpridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in June 2013, find it difficult to find fault, staff were very helpful in all departments, food was excellent and varied and served promptly and the staff seemed to find nothing too much trouble.
The only slight drawback may be if you room is at the front of the hotel as this faces onto the railway station, though we stayed in room 104 which was at the front (though to be fair the furthest away from the station) and had our windows open all the time (temperatures during our stay were in the mid 80's) and had no problem at all

Room Tip: Probably the rooms at the back may be better for families with less noise, though we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bevan Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Receptionist was not helping, quite rude, we didn’t receive all services/benefits... Location was perfect, exactly in Seefeld Center, 2 min with car to the Alpine Ski Slopes, 5 min walking to the "cross-country Slopes".
Advise: for 25 Euro you get 1 day to Krumers Post SPA. Beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room(bath) with double fester!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edw4rds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Second tier hotel charging first tier prices. Hotel decor a little tired and a refresh would not go amiss. Attention to detail missing, although giving the appearance of being a family run caring business. No music or entertainment heard or seen througout our stay. We had no flowers in our balcony suite window boxes, which other balconoies had, which was mentioned to receptionist staff and nothing done. Poor quality bathroom towels. No flannels. Extra charge required for bath robes. Poor quality bathroom toiletries. No air conditioning. No fans provided in the hot weather we experienced. Lift does not cover all floors of the hotel and we had to walk extra flights of stairs. No mini bar or fridge in room. Who has glass doors on their bathroom doors.
Staff very good. Food not bad and the kitchen obviously made the effort however, the standard did not reflect the price we were paying.
Good central location to town, though drawbacks of outside noise at the end of the night parties. Parking very good.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Husband and I stayed here for a wonderful week in June. There was only one other couple staying from the UK - maybe, as a previous reviewer said, the name Casino Hotel puts people off, but the casino is in separate building and has little impact on the hotel.

Location: Great. A minute from the train station - although one can hear the trains the noise is not intrusive. The back of the hotel looks over the park and bandstand, and the front over one of the main streets. It was good to be able just to walk out of the hotel and immediately be in an area for a post dinner stroll in the evening. The Rossehutte cable car is about a ten minute walk away, the chair lift on the Gschwandtkopf about ten - fifteen minutes in the other direction.

Room and public areas: We had upgraded to a 'posh' room which was super - a good sized balcony overlooking the park, an large room with seating area and enormous bed with a lovely foam mattress, loads of storage, a kettle, and a large bathroom with separate shower and good quality fittings. The corridors and other public areas are decorated in a strange mix of traditional and contemporary which works beautifully. The dining room (a table is allocated for the duration of your stay) is bright but gets quite warm. The lounge areas are comfortable. There are a few tables outside overlooking the park.

Food: we were unsure of what to expect as we have never stayed in an all inclusive hotel in Austria before, and were therefore relieved that there was little difference between this and other Austrian hotels. The breakfast buffet was good with a range of cereals, yogurts, fruit, cooked meats and cheese along with bacon and scrambled eggs. One selects dinner at breakfast time. Starters and soup are served to the table, a help yourself salad buffet which was very good, mains served to table and then help yourself puds and ice cream. The vegetarian options were excellant - some of the best I've had in Austria. The only night there wasn't a vege option was on 'Gala Dinner' night (where there is a fixed menu) but I mentioned this to the waitress at breakfast and a vege alternative was provided. The waiting staff served drinks at the start of the meal and topped up if they could, otherwise one helped oneself from the drink station. The house red and white was good, and beer and soft drinks were also available. Lunch is served 1.30-2.30 in the lounge and bar area - soup, rolls and salad. This was fine apart from on rainy days when a large group of guests descended like locusts and the staff had trouble renewing supplies to keep pace!

Staff: very helpful and friendly. The receptionists were lovely, and happy to give any information you needed. The waiting staff were friendly and generally efficient. Housekeeping staff did a good job.

Nowhere of course is perfect. The main issues that could have been better were that, in common with a great number of Austrian hotels, there was no air conditioning in the room and no ceiling fan, making the room very warm at night. Again, like most hotels, the same duvets are used winter and summer. Although it must be great to snuggle under 15 togs of feathers in winter on a hot June night it is not so good!

Overall a fantastic hotel in a great location. I would love to return and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nildesperanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have stayed at the Karwendelhof every year as a family for over ten years, we would not stay anywhere else. All the rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with wonderful views. Antique chests and cupboards decorate the public areas with flowers and paintings. Tea and cakes at 3pm every day, welcome party once a week. Wonderful food with huge choice morning and evening. The staff are friendly and efficient and provide 100% customer care. Directly opposite the station where all the ski buses stop to take you to the ski areas. Fabulous location, not all of us ski so we explore the beautiful town of Seefeld - something for everyone. Log fire in lounge area with many different places to sit - wi fi free in this area too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seefeld in Tirol
0.1 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#7 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#5 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bergland
Hotel Bergland
#15 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
#25 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
307 reviews
20.9 mi away
AQUA DOME Hotel
AQUA DOME Hotel
#3 of 9 in Langenfeld
821 reviews
12.4 mi away
Bon Alpina
Bon Alpina
#22 of 75 in Innsbruck
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karwendelhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karwendelhof

Property: Hotel Karwendelhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 124 | 6100 Seefeld in Tirol, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Karwendelhof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What can a holiday have in common with painting? Well, while a painter selects the most beautiful shades from any palette, trasnfers them artistically onto canvas and creates a colourful work of art, for that initial motivation it helps to have a tranquil to secape from all the stress of every day life. The hotel "Karwendelhof" is such a place. Over the years it served the Tyrolean artist Fritz Wilberger as both a retreat and a source of inspiration: you can even admire his works in Karwendelhof. Why not to follow his lead: leave the mundane behind and enjoy the stimulating atmosphere of Karwendelhof. Here you'll find new energy, you can work on your physique, refresh your inner spirit and revitalise your soul. Sincerely yours Family Albrecht & Karwendelhof-team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Karwendelhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing