We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Magic!”
Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have stayed at the Schoenegg five times in recent years. It is a family-run hotel owned by the family Shwenniger. It is a small hotel well suited to couples or older people. Do not stay here if you want rowdy apres-ski, its not that sort of hotel! The welcome from the family and staff is wonderful. The hotel is fairly modern in decor but still maintains a typical Tirolean style. The restaurant is excellent but with a limited choice of menu each night. The food is all freshly cooked, the menu is quite imaginative and food beautifully presented in a modern style. However, it always retains the character of traditional local dishes with a traditional Tirolean farmers' buffet once a week. Seefeld is popular with folk of all generations and the clientele of the Schoenegg reflects this with people of many nationalities staying to enjoy alpine skiing, cross country skiing (Langlauf), hiking and sightseeing. Age and health insurance problems now preclude me from skiing but it still attracts us for the hiking, panoramic views and typically alpine atmosphere. The Schoenegg is an excellent centre for these activities and excellent train connections to Innsbruck and Bavaria are closeby. The hotel rooms are all comfortable and well appointed. Most have been refurbished with excellent modern en suite facilities. Some rooms are small but there are bigger superior rooms available. We usually choose a junior suite which provides more space and at very little extra cost. Unfortunalelty, most of the Package Companies do not offer the higher grade rooms. We keep going back for the atmosphere and the surroundings. I wouldn't want to go anywhere else in Austria but this delightful hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room facing South or East. These have wonderfull alpine views. The rising sun r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. Monika and Martin are such amaizing hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Food was outstanding from breakfast, afternoon cakes and a huge 6 course evening meal including a starter salad buffet and to finish a tasty cheese selection. The midweek farmers buffet was just too much, not to mention the sweet buffet on our last night.
Allthough our room was not the largest we have ever stayed in, but it was south facing and had wonderful views of the mountains greeted each morning with clear blue sky. The hotel had a small reception with a comfortable lounge area, and a very nice resturant split into two sections.
We have already booked to return next year, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DorsetHolidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A typical family run Austrian hotel, and all the better for it- personal service,friendly and welcoming. Great location close to the town centre and ski school, and though the railway is close by, it is hardly noticed.
Our room was perhaps a little on the small side, but well decorated and comfortable. Lounges were large and spacious. In the basement was the sauna area.
A real mix of nationalities, but all welcomed and made to feel special, from large mixed families to more senior couples.
Food was excellent, with five courses at dinner( almost too much to eat) and great variety, including a Tyrolean Farmers buffet. Wine prices per bottle a little on the high side,24-30 euros, but the carafe was a good buy.
So, if you want an excellent quality hotel, and good value, then this is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LanarkshireKillieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We enjoyed another excellent holiday at this family owned hotel and it was a pleasure to meet Martin, Astrid and Monica again. A special mention must go to Monica who always ensures that any request is always dealt with in a very friendly and efficient manner. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys comfortable accommodation and good food in a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Pete2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent a week at this hotel last year, and had such a wonderful time that we did it again this year! The hotel is warm, clean and friendly. The rooms have lots of closet space, and hooks for wet ski clothes. There is a special tray outside your door for your boots. There are heated bars in the bathroom (in some rooms) to dry your gloves and socks. There is a room in the basement to store your skis, so you don't have to take them inside. There is a sauna/spa to soothe tired muscles; Be aware that it is a unisex area, and clothing is optional.

Breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate. Breakfast is hearty and healthy. In the morning you are given the evening's menu, so you can choose what you will eat. When it is not a full buffet, dinner is a five-course event, and never disappointed us!

Hotel Schoenegg is quite kid-friendly. Our boys (ages 6 and 7) were greeted every morning with a cup of hot chocolate. There was a play area next to the dining area where they could play while we finished our own meals. The children's menu for dinner is extensive, and the staff was always cheerfully willing to accommodate our son's picky tastes.

If you choose to stay at the hotel Schoenegg, you and your family will not be disappointed, I promise!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This family run hotel is a great place to spend time, relax and enjoy the service the family and staff provide. At no time you feel that one is staying at a hotel is always a homely atmosphere. The employees are great and always remember what are ones choices. The food was very good and the cakes in the afternoon were so amazing after a day on ski slopes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brijesh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our first Christmas away ever and the Hotel Schonegg lived up to expectations.
Our room was spacious, warm,lovely views and the large bath was very welcome after after a hard days skiing.The food was more like 4-5 star, every evening meal was well presented and tasted delicious.Martin, Astrid and the team were all exceptional hosts especially Monica and Francine.
Christmas Eve was very special, where the Family gave out presents to guest and told stories in a seasonal experience.Bar prices are very reasonable compared with other hotels we've stayed in.
If you Ski, its a bit of a walk to the Ski Bus pick up (5 in normal shoes or 10 in Ski Boots), boot room is in the cellar and caters just about right the the size of the Hotel.
This was more than a Skiing holiday and we would reccomend this Hotel for all types of visitors to Seefeld in Winter or Summer

Room Tip: 202 was a great room with a large balcony with great views to both sides of Seefeld
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.1 mi away
AktivHotel Veronika
AktivHotel Veronika
#3 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Haymon
Hotel Haymon
#4 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#5 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
Ferienhotel Kaltschmid
#24 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Seefeld
Parkhotel Seefeld
#8 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helga
Hotel Helga
#1 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Speckbacherstrasse 174, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range: £78 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soon we are there - 3 walking minutes from the pedestrian zone at a quiet and relaxing place. A friendly and hospitality service - which is obvious throughout!And an ideal starting point for a car-free holiday - for winter and summer hikers and walkers, cross country skiers, skiers, mountain bikers, nordic walkers and golfers. Everything is easy to reach on foot. WLan is available in the hotel lounge and in most of the hotel rooms.Free of charge: Halfpension, Admission to the Olympia pool, Hotel sauna and infrared cabin, daily afternoon cake (in winter daily, in summer weekly).Parking area.In summer further included: Minigolf, special guided walking tours, relaxing garden area with children playground, bikes, Reduction at the Golfakademie and Wildmoos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing