We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow Wow Wow!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
WellnessHotel Schoenruh
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Seefeld in Tirol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

What a FANTASTIC hotel!!
I have been to Austria many times, usually in 4 star hotels, but the Schönruh beats them all hands down.
We stayed on a 1 week package with Inghams in 1 single room and 1 twin (in the twin we paid extra for a balcony). The rooms were next to each other in the "new" part of the hotel and were superb. The single room was by far the largest I have ever had - about 20ft long, with 4 windows, patio door and small balcony. It also had a 3/4 size double bed, large wardrobe, flat screen telly, DVD player, fridge, sofa and a smart bathroom. Oh and bathrobe and pool towel in a little wicker basket!
The twin room was equally large with sofa, large bathroom and separate toilet; plus the extras the single room had.
The only (minor) gripes about the rooms - neither had toiletries (apart from liquid soap) - nor a hook in the bathroom to hang your bathrobe from. The twin room also had a semi-clear partition between the bathroom and the bedroom - meaning you could see what anyone was doing in there! Ok for a couple; maybe not ideal for 2 friends sharing a room.
The facilities of the hotel were excellent - large bar/lounge downstairs with lots of seats; dining room on the first floor. Also downstairs was a fitness room (didn't use, but looked smart) and the spa/pool area. This consisted of a separate "sauna land" and the main pool area. This had a large sized pool, whirlpool and steam room (where costumes were allowed - the main sauna area was au naturelle! - handy to have these separate if you were concerned about you or your kids bumping into naked Austrian/Germans!!)). There were plenty of loungers, and stairs up to the outside pool -small, but great to swim with a view of the mountains!
Back to the dining room. The food at breakfast and dinner was superb! Breakfast was a massive array of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, jam, bread, cold meats, cheeses plus hot bacon/sausages plus eggs cooked individually to order.
Dinner consisted of starter, soup, salad buffet, main, dessert, cheese board; with 3 choices of starter and soup, plus 4 choices of main - usually 2 meat and 1 fish, and always 1 vegetarian. Plus there were "special" menus during our week - Saturday was the gala dinner which had an extra fish course, and another night was the "degustation" menu which had an extra sorbet course. Plus 1 night the starter was replaced by a starter buffet, and another night it was a dessert buffet. The quality was magnificent, and the quantity ample. It varied slightly - some nights the starter was much bigger than others, and any main course with rice was always more filling than with potato. Sample dishes included suckling pig, traditional dumplings, a variety of styles of beef, trout and duck. The cold soups were an interesting experience - cold berry soup being a giant bowl of.....cold berries!
The waiting staff were exceedingly attentive - every one of them greeted you as you walked in. All spoke very good English. Indeed all the hotel staff from the maid and the "odd job man" to the manager made you feel really welcome.
Overall the clientèle were largely middle aged to elderly German speaking but there were a few families and younger couples. English people were a minority, but I'm never fussed by that.
Location is about 5 mins walk (pretty much flat) from the rail/bus station and 7 mins to the pedestrian streets in the village centre. I enjoy the tranquillity of being slightly out of the centre rather than being slap bang in the middle of things - hence choosing the Schönruh over the sister hotel Kaltschmid which is right in the centre.
Seefeld itself is a lovely little village/town with excellent walking potential for all abilities and good transport links by bus and train. It is only 20 mins from the German border - Mittenwald is a pretty town to visit just over the border with a stunning gorge walk nearby. Garmisch-Partenkirchen is about 45 mins by train; with Innsbruck to visit in the other direction.
I would heartily recommend both Seefeld itself and the Schönruh.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2009

Everything about this hotel was great - the room (upgraded when we arrived without our request), the food, the service. The only downside was that there were very few other English-speaking guests. Spa treatments were excellent and very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinSheltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Stayed March 2008 and March 2007. Upgraded to a fabulous suite in 2007 and stayed in a room with a lounge area in 2008 so can not comment on basic rooms. Good food, plenty of choice at breakfast - dinner ordered at breakfast but not a problem as this appears to be the norm at Austrian hotels. Staff very pleasant and helpful especially Christoph the manager . Was unwell one evening and didn't fancy my meal but was asked if there was anything else I wanted such as an omelette. Pool and sauna area is good especially the outdoor pool - found the steam room very relaxing after skiing - first time I have not felt my muscles stiffen up overnight. Hotel is alittle way out of the village in a quiet area but there is entertainment at the hotel most nights. The hotel is more suited to the older holidaymaker. Free lunch buffet is welcome. Would have returned in 2009 but fancied a different skiing venue. Will probably return in summer next time as there is plenty of good walking and the train gives access to Garmisch and Mittenwold as well as Innsbruck.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireDownhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Stayed at the Schoenruh for skiing in the last week of February 2008.
The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the Rosshutte and the Seefelderjoch Mountain. Skiers can leave their equipment in a room in the hotel near reception or pay 20 euros, per week, at a shop at the base of the mountain. The latter is worth it if you plan to ski the same mountain during your stay. The Gschwandtkopf area is a good half hour walk from the hotel on the other side of the village.

The pretty village itself is about 10 minutes walk

Residents of the Schoenruh are generally well catered for with a basic buffet breakfast and a 4-5 course evening meal. Guests are expected to decide their evening meal at breakfast time, which may not suite everyone. Although the portions are small, they do vary from night to night and the number of courses and the quality of food makes up for it.

Should anyone wish to take lunch at the hotel, they can help themselves to soup, salad and cake anytime between 1-4 pm at no extra charge.

The fitness room has no free weights but has sufficient cardio equipment should you need the exercise. Seefeld is fitness mad, with a multitude of winter activities nearby.

The indoor pool is good for a small hotel.

There is plenty of public space inside of the hotel to relax and have a drink, chat or read a book. For those of you from non-smoking countries, there are still no such rules here in the Schoenruh.

The bedrooms cater for your basic needs and are large enough.

The guests tend to be mainly aged Austrian/German.

If you wanted to come to Seefeld and have decided to ski on the Seefelderjoch Mountain, then I would recommend the Schoenruh. If you wanted to ski the Gschwandtkopf, or wanted to be a little closer to the nightlife, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_Cowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We spent Christmas at the Schoenruh and had a wonderful stay. Our room was in the newer part and was beautifully equipped and comfortable - only minor criticism was that the curtains were so thick it got stuffy at night even in freezing conditions with the window open!
Food was lovely with a great selection and friendly staff. The pool and spa area are great for relaxing after skiing and the outdoor pool is not to be missed.
The hotel is a short walk from the centre of Seefeld with easy access to skiing (cross-country and downhill) and walking trails. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alicatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2007

Have just returned from a 2 week stay in the Schonruh Hotel in Seefeld. It was a fantastic holiday, due in no small part to the excellence of the hotel. Food was top class - quality, variety and presentation. On no occasion was a menu repeated over the two weeks. The starter and dessert buffets were stunning. Forget the diets! What was really appreciated, especially on returning from a long walk, was the food available in the bar area from 1pm to 4 pm; soup, a variety of breads, salads and cakes at no extra cost. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area was a dream and never overcrowded. However, the basic rooms are a bit cramped so if you can afford it go for one of the better rooms which are beautiful and much more spacious.
Seefeld is very pretty with spectacular scenery and wonderful walking. One proviso; avoid the second week in August when the town is over run with Italians. The decibel level rises considerably and it no longer feels like an Austrian village!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

We have stayed at the Schonruh twice and also at one other hotel in Seefeld. The first time we stayed the room was small and basic but otherwise acceptable. The second time we were given a free upgrade and saw how much better the newer part of the hotel is. The spa facilities are great and after a days skiing they are something to look forward to. The outdoor pool is rarely busy and floating around in the icy air with a view of the mountains is great way to relax. In my opinion the restaurant and food are very good with excellent service and the staff work very hard to please. The general ambience of the hotel is relaxing. There is nothing I would say that is negative but would point out that many of the residents are elderly affluent Germans and other continentals. The Brits are well outnumbered (which may be a good thing for some). I go to Austria for the skiing and the majority of residents at the Schonruh do not. It didn’t make a difference to me and my non skiing wife was able to enjoy the gym and pool when I was off on the mountain. Seefeld generally is a typical Tyrloean village and full of atmosphere and only a relatively short transfer from Innsbruck. (Big plus!) I have met many people who return every year and have done so myself three years running. I will go skiing elsewhere 2008 only for a change of skiing and hope for lots of snow. I recommend the hotel to couples whom want a bit of sophistication with their skiing holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WestSussexPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seefeld in Tirol hotels
0.7 mi away
Natur & Spa Hotel Laerchenhof
Natur & Spa Hotel Laerchenhof
#19 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenpark Resort
Alpenpark Resort
#20 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stefanie
Stefanie
#43 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel St. Peter De Luxe
Hotel St. Peter De Luxe
#27 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
Krumers Post Hotel & Spa
#9 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Das Hotel Eden
Das Hotel Eden
#12 of 58 in Seefeld in Tirol
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WellnessHotel Schoenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WellnessHotel Schoenruh

Address: Reitherspitzstrasse 356, Seefeld in Tirol 6100, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Seefeld in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#12 Family Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#15 Luxury Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
#18 Spa Hotel in Seefeld in Tirol
Price Range: £121 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WellnessHotel Schoenruh 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your WellnessHotel Schoenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellnesshotel Schoenruh Seefeld
Wellnesshotel Schoenruh Hotel Seefeld

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing