We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Closerie Saint Martin
Ranked #1 of 4 Ligre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faultless retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We first stayed with Marcel & Katherina last year and had such a wonderful stay that we returned this year, twice in fact on our way to and from the Dordogne. We were given a really warm welcome,and nothing was too much trouble. Indeed, on our return this year we felt as though we were returning to 'family'.
The property is beautifully appointed. All areas - inside and out - are immaculately kept and spotlessly clean. Mealtimes are a joy, four delicious home cooked courses with local produce, some of which is home-grown . Local wine is offered in abundance. Marcel & Katherina join their guests for dinner, which is always an interesting experience as there are guests from so many different countries and cultures with whom to share experiences.
We have stayed in 5-star hotels which do not offer what La Closerie offers.
We consider ourselves SO lucky to have found this perfect retreat.

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 different rooms and each was of an excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donwen270146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
146
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at La Closerie in late August. We wish it could have been more. Marcel and Katharina are the warmest and most gracious hosts you will meet. You'll quickly feel as though you've known them for years as they both go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Their guideance and suggestions in planning your days activities are most welcome as they are very knowledgabe in the area's attractions.. Our room was large, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The enclosed courtyard was meant to be enjoyed throughout the day and especially at dinner. Be sure and stay for dinner, you will not be disappointed with a four course meal with wine and a tour through their wine cellar. Breakfast was a daily treat and a chance to enjoy their homemade jams and fruit from the courtyard and garden. La Closerie is very close to the medieval town of Chinon with it's famous castle and centrally located for day trips to the many surrounding chateau. While driving away my wife and I realized we hadn't stayed at a Bed and Breakfast, but rather at the home of new found friends. We're already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our 5th visit to La Closerie Saint Martin and as always is our little piece of perfection in a busy life. Apart from the fact that Kathi and Marcel are among the nicest people you could hope to meet, La Closerie is just the perfect place to rest and recuperate. The rooms are all immaculate and very tastefully furnished each with their own individual style. Dinner is a whole evening event with 4 delicious courses all home cooked and prepared from local produce, local wine and cooked by Marcel and Kathi. Dinner is taken with Kathi and Marcel along with other guests who are having dinner and is always interesting and enjoyable with guests from a variety of countries.

Both Kathi and Marcel are very knowledgable about the local area and all the various attractions and always happy to offer advice and help about places to visit.

La Closerie Saint Martin truly deserves a full star rating.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the cheapest room here and the most expensive. Both are very lovely. We just like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We are used to travel to Spain by car every summer. Some 5 years ago we discovered on the internet the existence of this wonderful place. It is just about one day travelling from our home. Travelling is always tiring. But knowing that your room will be ready at the Closerie helps a lot in the hectic of crossing Paris. Once arrived, one can look forward to the hospitality of Kathy and Marcel and the country silence all around. This is an excellent stopover on a long trip (2200 km), where one can join the table de hôte, talk to other people, enjoy other perspectives on life and in the meanwhile eat a wonderful meal, cooked by the owners. Local wine is delicious and abundant.The 10 or so times (once for a few days) that we have stayed at the Closerie, have never been disappointing. During my work life I had to stay often at large, unpersonal, world chain hotels. This is the precisely the opposite: small, local, warm and personal. If this is what you value, the Closerie is exactly the right place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Before you finish reading this review stop right now and book your room you won't regret it! Marcel and Katharina are the perfect hosts and they have the most wonderful b&b. Breakfast is delightful with their wonderful homemade jams and the rooms are large comfortable and very French in decoration. Be sure to stay for diner as Marcel's cooking is excellent (think modern French cuisine) and they both make for excellent company. All in all it gets 5/5 don't miss out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziq83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

After visiting the Closerie in the spring of 2010, I always said I wanted to come back. Partly because the area is lovely and I wanted to see it in the summer and partly because the hosts, Marcel & Katharina, are so wonderful.
I finally got back to France this July (2013) and made a special trip to this area just to see them again! And it did not disappoint.
I was by myself and I feel that the Closerie is the perfect place for a single traveler. Every evening (except Thursdays) you are given the option of having dinner at the Closerie with all the other guests - you always meet interesting people! And the dinners are incredible and such wonderful value. Plus in the summer, it's all alfresco. It's perfection as the golden sun sets, and the white stone of the courtyard glows - it's a very magical spot.
I stayed in 'Le Prieur' and love love loved this room. It was spacious, CLEAN (all their rooms are spotless) and had lovely windows that opened over the courtyard and quiet main street of the village. I loved my views of the rooftops of Ligre and laying in bed with the warm summer breeze drifting in. The only problem with this room (and the Closerie) is I never want to leave!
Breakfast is outside in the summer and (like dinner) lovely and tasty. They make wonderful homemade jams and a granola that I have been craving since 2010!
The location is also wonderful. It's quiet and a short drive to Chinon. There are many chateau & wine caves nearby. Marcel & Kathi are happy to help you find your way and make suggestions.
All in all, I will always be coming back to Chinon & the Closerie to not only see the area but the people I now consider friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haveshoeswilltravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was our second visit to La Closerie and we cannot wait to return. Katharina and Marcel are perfect hosts who discretely ensure that all their guests enjoy their time with them. "Our" room had every comfort we needed and we slept well after the activities of the day The scent from the jasmine growing on the wall in the courtyard drifted through our window in the evenings - rather special. Sharing the dining table, enjoying excellent meals with our hosts and the other guests in the courtyard makes for a perfect evening. During our stay we met people from eight other nationalities and enjoyed good humour and interesting conversations with them. La Closerie is a very well run chambres d'hote, a perfect base to explore this lovely area of France.

Room Tip: Look on the website for details of all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wassanaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligre
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Clos de la Garde
Le Clos de la Garde
#1 of 1 in Anche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Au Prince Grenouille
Au Prince Grenouille
#2 of 4 in Ligre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Closerie Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie Saint Martin

Property: La Closerie Saint Martin
Address: 6 rue du Prieure | Les Roches Saint-Paul, 37500 Ligre, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ligre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed&Breakfast near Chinon in the Loire Valley. Our house, the outbuidlings of a former Priory is situated in a classified hamlet in the middle of the Chinon vineyards. All the rooms have en-suite and are uniquely furnished. We also offer dinner upon prior reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Closerie Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing