We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Experience of Our Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Closerie Saint Martin
Ranked #1 of 4 Ligre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
EARLYSVILLE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best B&B Experience of Our Trip!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

When my husband and I arrived at La Closerie we were greeted by Katharina and Marcel and their lovely dog in their courtyard garden. They not only offered us cold drinks, but sat and chatted as if they had nothing else to do. It was the start to a perfect stay with perfectly charming hosts. Either we were fortunate to have wonderful fellow guests that night or Katharina and Marcel simply attract interesting and friendly travelers. We stayed in many B&Bs while in France this time, but we agreed that this was the best one in so many ways...from our spacious, spotless, beautifully and thoughtfully decorated room, to the delightful aperitif served to guests in their stone wine cellar, to a wonderfully delicious dinner and lively conversation with other guests, and the sumptuous breakfast fare the following day. (The Sunday morning we were there included a special homemade Swiss bread.) These innkeepers naturally know how to make guests feel special and cared for, but they are relaxed and seem to enjoy what they do as well. I wish we had stayed longer there instead of moving on to another B&B that couldn't hold a candle to La Closerie. Don't hesitate for one second about choosing this B&B!

Room Tip: Quiet, spacious room overlooking rooftop and up one flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
152
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We've just returned from the Loire valley having spent 7 wonderful days at La Closerie Saint Martin. The accommodation is excellent,food absolutely delicious and the warmth of welcome by Marcel & Katherina is fantastic not forgetting Fado the dog who is just lovely. It is a very relaxed place to stay nothing is too much trouble and the pre-dinner drinks are a unique experience and a great start to the evening. We also had wonderful company with our fellow guests and everyone joined in and integrated due in no short measure to Marcel & Katherinas efficiency.The whole experience from the booking process to our actual stay was absolutely superb - in fact many hotels would struggle to surpass La Closerie!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned to the States from eleven days in France & we ended our trip with three perfect nights at the wonderful La Closerie Saint Martin. From our initial correspondences booking our stay (including booking our dinner reservations for us in Chinon), to our arriving night dinner with our hosts (fantastique!), to their expert guidance on what to visit (&, more importantly, what to avoid!), to the care package of food they packed for us since we had to depart at 6:00 a.m. to catch our flight home, Katharina & Marcel Hirt are the most lovely hosts you could hope for if you're choosing to visit this area of the Loire Valley! It was a truly exceptional visit - how could you not enjoy a pre-dinner aperitif in their 13th Century wine cellar! We had stayed in lovely hotels in Paris and Beaune (Cote d'Or) earlier in our trip through France, but staying with Katharina & Marcel at La Closerie Saint Martin was the perfect way to conclude our French vacation! Tres bien!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loafer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sainte-Hermine, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a great stay with Marcel and Katharina at La Closerie. Such a relaxed environment and the hosts do an excellent job in ensuring all the guests integrate at dinner. The pre dinner drinks are truely special (can only be experienced in person) and are a great prequel to the dinner served. The rooms are large and well equipped and we would recommend a stay to anyone. Plenty to do in the surrounding area and highly recommend a visit to Chateau Rivau. We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Just amazing! I have visited multiple 5 and 6 star hotels all over the world, but never experienced anything near the level of worldclass hospitality you get in this place. A basic, but very well kept room, VERY good wine for a reasonable price, the dinner was wonderfull and an extremely nice couple that manages this hotel. Most relaxing vacation ever! Thank you katy and marcel

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank don1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We (couple with teenage daughter and grandmother) stayed at this beautiful B&B in July 2013 for 3 nights. Katharina and Marcel were welcoming and gracious hosts. We enjoyed delicious meals, wine and conversation in this idyllic setting. We had 2 rooms that were spacious, clean and very comfortable. A great location for exploring the Loire valley and Chinon. I recommend La Closerie highly. SC

Room Tip: I think you would be happy in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2janeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed just for one night on our way back to Kent from the Dordogne. We would love to have stayed longer. The room was beautifully clean and the hosts could not have been more helpful. The breakfast round the kitchen table gave an opportunity to chat with other guests of various nationalities - all part of a wonderful stay. Would recommend without hesitation.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wbuchan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ligre
3.5 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
486 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
2.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Clos de la Garde
Le Clos de la Garde
#1 of 1 in Anche
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Domaine du Heron
Domaine du Heron
#1 of 1 in Riviere
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Au Prince Grenouille
Au Prince Grenouille
#2 of 4 in Ligre
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Closerie Saint Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Closerie Saint Martin

Property: La Closerie Saint Martin
Address: 6 rue du Prieure | Les Roches Saint-Paul, 37500 Ligre, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Ligre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Bed&Breakfast near Chinon in the Loire Valley. Our house, the outbuidlings of a former Priory is situated in a classified hamlet in the middle of the Chinon vineyards. All the rooms have en-suite and are uniquely furnished. We also offer dinner upon prior reservation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Closerie Saint Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing