We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Relais du Lyon d'Or
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I couldn't disagree more with the comments that the owners were not welcoming! We had an extensive email exchange with them from the UK and they could not have been more accomodating to us and our children. The food was very good and the family room clean and comfortable. An easy drive from Calais so we actually arrived in time for an aperitif in the lovely courtyard and they also cooked a plain pasta supper on arrival for our children. Would definitely recommend either as a stop off en route or as a base for a holiday as the region looked to be very attractive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEB243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    32
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
65
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed for 7 nights in this hotel. We had a bike arrangement with a Dutch travelorganisation. Beautiful, charming hotel. Nice location. We enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and we absolutely don't recognice some of the earlier reviews! The owners (Diana and Dominique) are both very hard working and nice people. Diana is also a great cook.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TonCorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way south. It's a great location for a good days drive from the ports. Sitting in the village square with a cold beer and then eating the excellent dinner cooked by Dianna, we knew we'd booked the correct place.

If you don't like it....well you're a bit stupid I guess and should consider a travel-lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KnightGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had a really pleasant 2 night stay here. The food was excellent and the children were made to feel very welcome. Diana was very helpful with tips on where to go in the locality. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DukeBarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were only here for 1 night but I can't fault what we got. Lovely room, perfect for our requirements. Great restaurant - food was excellent and a good wine list. Everything was lovely. The town itself was truly magnificent. We really enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Apart from breakfast, which I too thought was rather overpriced at 13 Euro (though overpriced breakfasts are not unknown in French hotels), this was a charming small hotel, the owner helpful, the food good, the room smart and very attractively furnished. The village is certainly very beautiful, and if I would not take six cases of the local wine home with me, I enjoyed sipping it out in the courtyard. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxonianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

This is a very beautiful hotel in a really wonderful town. Angles is well worth a visit.
We stayed two nights in a suite that was capacious but not particularly attractively furnished. The building itself is a superb old coaching inn set around a courtyard where there are tables to sit out. Plenty of off-road parking. Well signposted.
The owner/manager had a slightly odd manner that could prove a bit off-putting. A kind of Gallic John Cleese. But I think he was a decent sort underneath the slightly crabby exterior. The American girl who works there was charming and very helpful too (see below).
Good restaurant in a lovely dining room, nicely furnished. Good meal too, but not cheap and at about 30 euros for a reasonable bottle of local wine, plus about 85-135 euros for the room and you are looking at an expensive night. Breakfast is extra too. The second day we bought a couple of croissants in the boulangerie and had it with a coffee in the cafe. Breakfasts in French hotels are rarely worth 2 euros, let alone the 8, 10 or even 14 that we paid on our trip.
The second night we ate where we had lunched, in the pizza/kebab place opposite the castle. I think it was called Le Grillon (or something similar). Really terrific food - particularly the apple pie cooked in the pizza oven.
On the way back home we found ourselves staying nearby and made our way to Le Grillon which was closed (why? - in high season) so then we found our way to the Lyon d'Or only to discover the restaurant there was closed too. The owner told us that they had not one booking that night. It may be about time that French restaurateurs cottoned onto to the fact that a couple don't want to pay 80 or 100 euros for a meal. The American lady recommended a restaurant in nearby village of St. Pierre. She was kind enough to ring it too and make a reservation for us. I forget the name, but it was just perfect. On the main square with a menu at 15 euros. Best meal we had in two weeks.

Overall I would recommend the Lyon d'Or. It is a special place in a wonderful town. Characterful and individual. A few quirks and not cheap - but where is these days?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DockBrief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angles sur l'Anglin
6.3 mi away
Relais De La Mothe
Relais De La Mothe
#1 of 1 in Yzeures-sur-Creuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
7.1 mi away
Les Loges du Parc
Les Loges du Parc
#1 of 8 in La Roche-Posay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
#5 of 8 in La Roche-Posay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
24.3 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#7 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
7.0 mi away
Le Clos Paille
Le Clos Paille
#2 of 8 in La Roche-Posay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Lyon d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Lyon d'Or

Property: Le Relais du Lyon d'Or
Address: 4 rue d Enfer, 86260 Angles sur l'Anglin, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Angles sur l'Anglin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Angles sur l'Anglin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Lyon d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming small hotel in one of France's 'Plus Beaux Villages', Angles sur l'Anglin, welcomes you for a relaxing stay-a book and a botttle of wine or an adventure in a region worth discovering. Contact us for the possibilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Relais du Lyon d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Lyon D'Or France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing